We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for the Price - Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Historic Frederick
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Place for the Price - Comfortable”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We chose this hotel because we thought it was supposed to be close to the historic part of Frederick. While it was relatively close, it still required a car ride to get there. The hotel is a little older and had a 'used' feel but the owners did a very good job of maximizing what they had to work with. The king size bed was very comfortable and the service was very good. The hot breakfast that was included was good too. The only complaint that I had was the level of security. We had a ground floor room which was fine but the window to the parking lot was not locked - actually, it could not lock. It looked like it should have been bolted permanently to the frame but it was not. There were also items stuck in the side and back doors to keep them open and more than once, I saw people coming in - no idea if they were staff or guests. Since there wasn't a room safe, this wasn't a good feeling when we left for the day to visit Harpers Ferry.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the second floor due to the lack of security but there isn't an elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwf21052, Manager at Best Western Historic Frederick, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you were comfortable during your stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. We are also sorry for the problems you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing the problem to the attention of our maintenance staff so that it can be repaired.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    158
    80
    55
    34
See reviews for
147
143
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife, her sister and husband rented the 2 bedroom suite above the lobby Saturday night. BIG MISTAKE. The partying in the parking lot started about 10PM and lasted past 2 AM. At least 6 phone calls to the front desk didn't yield peace. We finally threatened to call the police. It stopped after 2 AM.
The hotel was comfortable and otherwise a good value with complimentary breakfast. The early night staff was friendly. The hotel should hire security to patrol the parking lot. I notified day staff about our horrible night.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room near the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwf21052, Manager at Best Western Historic Frederick, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Best Western Frederick. I was sorry to hear that we had a group of guests that were loud and out of control during your visit. I am truly troubled by your experience and have spoken to front desk department regarding the issues you have dealt with.

Although we do have wedding guests stay with us every weekend, we typically do not have an issues, as the weddings do not occur at the property. We are a family friendly hotel and we do not permit parting at the property.

I would like to thank you again for letting us know about your visit, I hope if you are in the area in the future, you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Ordinary hotel for very reasonable price, but very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good-sized, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast standard, but very good. Would recommend short term stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank isypecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwf21052, Manager at Best Western Historic Frederick, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Best Western Frederick. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we hope to see you again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Clean beds, clean hallways, good air conditioning, friendly staff, and easy to find location made this a nice place to stay. I would probably stay here again, but it had a few small glitches. When we arrived around 8:30 pm we had to wait for about 15 minutes before the desk staff showed up. There was a sign on the front desk that they would be "right back", but it took a while. Our first room had a nasty mold problem around the base of the refrigerator, but I went back to the desk and got another room that was fine, They also took a little off my bill for my trouble. Breakfast was good, with a nice variety including waffles. Really, no major complaints, but things were just not quite as top notch as some places. But all the basics were there, so I think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwf21052, Director of Sales at Best Western Historic Frederick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you, choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Historic Frederick. I want to take a moment to apologize for the glitches that you had encountered during your stay. With your feedback it helps us to continually train our staff to offer excellent customer service. We do hope that you will choose the hotel again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Comfortable, clean rooms. Good breakfast available. This hotel ticked all the boxes. Perfect place to break the trip a road trip to DC. Staff were friendly & efficient. Nothing spectacular but a great budget hotel. Interconnecting rooms make it perfect for a family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwf21052, Director of Sales at Best Western Historic Frederick, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you, for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to review the Best Western Historic Frederick. I am happy that you enjoyed our Hot Breakfast before starting your days travel. We appreciate you choosing us to stay while visiting and we hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed the facility staff were friendly and the interior and exterior of the building were well kept. In the king bed suites they made the bathrooms too small to likley accomodate the king beds. Overall, enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My daughter and I drove from Ohio to Baltimore for an O's game and after not being able to find anything in Baltimore, we found this Best Western that was on our way back in Frederick. I gave it 4 out of 5 simply because I thought the price was fine and it was a solid stay. It's not the most elegant or thrilling place, but our room was very clean, staff was nice, and the area was fine. My daughter even enjoyed the pool for a little before we checked out, which is quite small so I suppose it could get overcrowded. This is a fine place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmybama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronak P, Manager at Best Western Historic Frederick, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to write this review. We are so glad you and your daughter enjoyed your experience at Best Western Frederick. We appreciate your comments on staff and pool. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
#15 of 22 in Frederick
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 22 in Frederick
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Historic Frederick

Property: Best Western Historic Frederick
Address: 420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic Frederick)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Frederick
#5 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Historic Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming Frederick, MD hotel is conveniently located off of 4 major highways and is just minutes from the downtown Frederick area. With room types for all your traveling needs including amenities such as, Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Complimentary High Speed Internet access and Complimentary Parking make a stay at our hotel both convenient and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Historic Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Frederick Hotel Frederick
Best Western Frederick
Frederick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing