We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ICK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ICK!”
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Thought this was going to be a nice hotel. NOT! Rugs were so stained and yuck looking we kept our shoes on when walking around at all. Bathroom was clean but caulking was getting black and mildewy. Room was supposed to be non-smoking. It REEKED so badly of smoke that I didn't even want to stay there but we'd been driving for over 10 hours and it was almost midnight or I would have asked for another room or left. They must have either just converted it from a smoking to non-smoking room or people staying in it smoked regardless of it's status. The bedsheets and blankets even reeked. It was hard to sleep for me because of the awful smell and thought of how icky it made me feel being in that grungy smelly room.
SO Disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    23
    29
    16
    25
See reviews for
21
32
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

This was a pretty nice hotel. The price was very reasonable. The bed was comfortable. And they had wireless internet which the hotel across the street (the comfort inn) did not have and wanted more money per night.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — lack of tv channesl
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smilelikeumeanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2009

The majority of hotels in the area were more exspensive and rated lower than this lovely hotel. I like it for the location; it is off the highway, but extremely close to downtown, shopping, and restaurants. My room was updated and clean. The staff was one of the most friendly and accomodating I've ever encountered. I also enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Liked — Rate, Location, Service and Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SpaceRaider29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Words can't express how dirty and disgusting this hotel is. We stayed in a ground floor room that backs on to the parking lot (as opposed to the pool view.)

The room had two double beds and even though we were 2 adults and two children, there were only 3 bath towels, 3 hand towels and ONE washcloth!! There were only two disposable cups and the ice bucket was missing.

The room smelled strongly like cleaning solution and there were disgusting stains on the floor and stains on the sheets.

Beyond the lack of basic cleanliness, the service is also very poor at this hotel. We ordered room service the night before we wanted it, as instructed on the guest services guide and room service menu in the room.

The breakfast did not arrive at the time we had ordered it and in fact, we had to call room service 30 minutes after it should have been there. They then sent the breakfast.

When checking out, the breakfast was billed twice and it took 3 front desk employees and finally a manager to correct the error.

To my surprise, I checked my card statement a few days later and discovered an additional charge of almost $300 that was separate to and in addition to the $130 bill for our one night's stay. Again, after very successful dealings from an inept manager, the bank canceled the erroneous charge.

Do not go to this Holiday Inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff and condition of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blbrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Traditional external corridor Holiday Inn. Nothing special but OK for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — A room where and when we needed it.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

The hotel Rooms are dark and spooky . those in the ground level has no privacy.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank sengkangboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

I'm always scared after I read this forum. Ineviteably there are a few reviews that talk of the total horror experience they had.

My experience was a good one. Our room was very well maintained, clean, etc. The room may have recently been renovated. The bathroom tub had obviously been repaired recently.

This room was booked through Priceline. Desk was courteous and helpful. No issues of security for us. In fact, I left our Thule canvass car top carrier straped to the vehicle all night. Woke up and it was still there. I'd book a room here again without concern.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — No wireless internet access.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hoopsreferee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#7 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#3 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick

Property: Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Address: 999 W Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21702-4077
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Frederick - Ft Detrick is located near restaurants, the Frederick County Fairgrounds and Frederick Community College. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms for a small fee. Amenities also include a conference room and seasonal pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Quality Inn
Holiday Inn Frederick
Frederick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing