We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, pet friendly and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Manchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel, pet friendly and quiet”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for one night while traveling. Close to expressway, plenty of parking, near lots of restaurants. Great rate, OK breakfast, easy to find at night. Very welcoming of well-behaved dogs. In room WiFi worked fine, but the router had the name of a different hotel. Not a problem, but a bit confusing. "Business Center" computer in lobby great for printing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacht42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    120
    55
    24
    11
See reviews for
139
64
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently made a trip to Frederick "spur of the moment" due to a family emergency. The area was pretty full. We were pleased to stay at the Country Inn & Suites. Their rooms were just over $80 per night including taxes. We thought that was very affordable.

The hotel was recently converted and advertised as "under construction". Aside from some large dumpsters out back I would never have known. Our room looked very nice and the hallways and lobby/ breakfast area was very nice. We stayed at the Main Stay a few years ago when they were being renovated and most of the carpet and trim were missing. Plus there were construction curtains covering some of the hallways. But Country Inn was very nice and I would recommend a stay even during this renovation period.

The room was a little small for us. I am sure it is a nice size. But we have 3 small children and all the accessories that go along with them. So floor space was quite a premium. We would stay again if we traveled without the kids.

Room Tip: The website reservation currently only lists "accessible rooms" as a room type. These roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARYLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Frederick for work this week. The room was wonderful, clean, king bed, flat screen tv, most important for me sheets on the top and the bottom of the blanket so you never have to touch the blanket. The smell of breakfast wafting into my room as if mom had cooked it and after I got ready I could come to the kitchen and eat. No cooking involved. I had my dog with me and she was welcomed with open arms.
Everything about my experience at this hotel was great. There are things unfinished, there is a whole section of rooms still being updated but I never heard a bit of construction. Of course, I left for work in the mornings. I would stay their again, no questions asked.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGGIESFARM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Not the usual Country Inn that I'm accustomed to. I understand that this hotel just converted on Feb 1st from a Holiday Inn Express. Stayed three nights recently, and all I'll say is just be patient with the conversion. No business centre, and the in room Wi-Fi didn't work for two full days, the breakfast wasn't what I've been used to when staying at a Country Inn. Thank God there was a Bob Evans right next door. My room was so so, not the usual Country Inn standards that I've enjoyed previously. But heh I'm a patient person and I know things take time. Hopefully by the time I revisit Frederick things will be a bit better. Stay tuned.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlessedAmI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here Feb 22 overnite and to be honest the hotel is being renovated from a Holiday Inn Express to a Country Inn and Suites but our stay was very nice. I gave it a 3 rating because of the work being done but other than that it was very nice. Nice King room, flat screen tv, micro, refridge, and popcorn, coffe pot etc. The breakfast was hot with bacon and eggs, waffles and any other breakfast items you usually get at a breakfast. I would stay again in a moment. The employees were very friendly.

Room Tip: 2nd foor was fine with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigMalPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick
Address: 5579 Spectrum Dr, Frederick, MD 21703-8350 (Formerly The Hotel Frederick)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Frederick
#7 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story interior corridor hotel featuring rooms with two double beds or one King size bed. Hotel offers free hot breakfast, High speed wireless internet access, free parking, business center. Each room has a coffee maker, iron and ironing board , refrigerator and microwave. 24 Coffee available. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frederick Hotel Frederick
Holiday Inn Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing