We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 Star Hotel-Holiday Inn Fredrick Hotel and Conference Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I booked this hotel through “HOTWIRE HOT RATE” at $333.21 for 3 nights. It was advertised as“restaurant on premises” and “3 star” accommodation. On Nov 14th I arrived at an empty (250 rooms w/maybe 10% occupancy) 1970-80’s era facility that sprawls at least an acre under one roof (old convention center with conference rooms, indoor pool, kids play areas, and lots of large common spaces with tables – all TOTALLY EMPTY ). I planned to have dinner at the restaurant but was told it was closed .The assigned room was on a peripheral hallway (accessed via long empty corridors and metal doors) that looked on a hall with about 40 doors to rooms. It was isolated, the carpet and halls worn, and there was a strong dog odor. The room was dingy and adjacent to a very large, empty, and poorly lit parking lot. Not a 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredInn1, Sales Coordinator at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

On behalf of the staff and management of the Holiday Inn Frederick we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. We hope that you will stay with us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

Very nice place to stay, service was very good. .Shopping and restaurants close by

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I was in the Frederick to visit Civil War Battlefields. This was an excellent hotel to stay in the Frederick area. It was close to major roads to reach these battlefields and also close to downtown. Although located in the mall area of Frederick it was very quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmm120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredInn1, Manager at Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel online! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our location and found it convenient to the many historic areas of Frederick as well as the Francis Scott Key Mall. Thanks for choosing us; we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Pamela Stoeffler
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This is an older Holiday Inn with the old Holidome atrium. It looks like it has been updates, and was very well kept and clean. Staff was friendly, and the restaurant was good. My first thought when I saw the indoor pool area with games and a putt-putt course was that it would be a good place to bring kids. When I turned on the TV, however, the first thing I heard was "would you like to add a little spice to your stay? Then go ahead and spice it up." I know it is supposed to be normal these days to mix a pornography distribution effort with family vacationing spots, but I just can't get used to it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is one of the older Holiday Inns built in the old days when they spread these things out for half a mile. The hotel is well-kept and clean. No problems of any sort. Very quiet and great bed and shower.
The only odd thing is the interior rooms on the inside of the hallway have a window that faces the center interior courtyard. I really missed the outside view, but that was minor.

Great staff and kind and courteous people.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stop_At_Red_Lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

It wasn't as bad as I expected: they have free wireless and the beds had synthetic duvets and four synthetic pillows. I didn't sleep wonderfully, but it was adequate. Fridge and microwave in the room. Analog thermostat. Free bottled water at check-in.

This is an old Holiday Inn with a Holidome: the inner courtyard of the hotel is covered and has a swimming pool, spa (with broken jets), mini-golf, and a ping-pong table. Great for amusing kids for ten minutes, but it leaves the rooms that face that courtyard with no natural light. I had one of those rooms, and I wasn't happy. The fitness center had two working treadmills and a broken elliptical. No bikes, no strength machines, and no weights.

I thought about eating in the restaurant, but thought better of it within a few seconds of walking in.

The hotel loses points for the unidentified filth on the carpet and for the unenthusiastic staff. All-in-all, not terrible, but it still feels like a 40 year old hotel. I imagine the Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Inn, and other local competition are far, far better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

They put an indoor pool in the middle of the building, so dozens of rooms surround the pool and you can hear the crowd of kids in the pool till 11PM! Yes, that's how late the pool stays open. The minute we walked into the room, it sounded like a high-school gymnasium. It absolutely amazes me that they had the nerve to build the structure knowing full well the windows on the room wouldn't be sufficient to soundproof dozens of kids having a blast in the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederick
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
898 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Frederick
Comfort Inn Frederick
#12 of 22 in Frederick
120 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#6 of 22 in Frederick
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center

Address: 5400 Holiday Dr, Md, Frederick, MD 21703-8472 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range: £65 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center! We are conveniently located at the intersection of I-270 and Route 85 at the Francis Scott Key Mall. Our central location to historic downtown Frederick, Washington DC and Baltimore makes for an easy drive to any local area attraction or businesses.We are just minutes away from local attractions including Fort Detrick, Frederick Fairgrounds, Frederick Keys, Adventure Park, Hood College and more! Are you in town for business? We are located near several companies including State Farm, Allegheny Power, Lockheed Martin, Landmark Aviation, Bechtel, BP Solar and FKI Logistix to just name a few.This Frederick Hotel offers 155 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Our rooms offer the new Simply Smart bedding collection, complimentary high speed wireless internet access and all the conveniences of home. Dine in our 5400 Market Place Restaurant where kids 12 and under eat free*. Our indoor recreation center features a pool, sauna, miniature golf, games, fitness center, business center and more! Planning an event? We have over 13,000 Sq Ft of event space. Our experience staff will help you plan your next meeting, wedding or event. We offer catering and equipment rental.The Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center is the perfect hotel for your business or leisure travels. We are also pet friendly! Make your reservation today! *Only with the purchase of an Adult Meal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Frederick Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Frederick Hotel Frederick
Frederick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing