We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An acceptable base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I've just finished a 9-day stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. It's an absolutely run-of-the-mill highway motel - clean, new, perfectly acceptable in every way for visitors who just want a decent place to stay. It's in the Francis Scott Key Mall area of Frederick, but the historic downtown (where I was working) is a cab-ride away - the fare for which varied an astonishing $9-13 depending on the route the driver took through the maze of highway interchanges that disfigure this otherwise quite pretty bit of Maryland. One factor in the Fairfield Inn's favour is that the staff were uniformly exceptionally helpful - big plus, Fairfield Inn. I'd point out only two less favourable aspects. First, while the breakfast is complimentary (and recently has expanded to include cooked eggs and weird round 'sausages') it's virtually all pre-packaged and is consumed using throw-away crockery and cutlery. The place must ship vast amounts of plastic to landfill - surely introducing re-usable cutlery and washable plates and cups would be better for the environment?
Also, it was a very hot summer, so the air-conditioner in my room was a necessity, but it was so loud (turning itself off and on, gurgling and rumbling) that it affected my sleep. The best plan, I found, was to simply turn it off from midnight to morning. Oh, and speaking of wasteful, the only way to get from the lobby to the two upper floors was by a v e r y, v e r y s l o w lift (elevator) - why couldn't they have built stairs? So the Fairfield was a good base for me, and I'd recommend it if you have a no nonsense reason to stay, subject to the cautions I've made.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room and save yourself hours waiting for that lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy C, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Hi Peter. Thank you so much for your recent extended stay and for the review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick. We thrive off of feedback like yours, as it is an important aspect to customer service. One point I would like to make - the hotel actually does have two sets of stairs on either side of the building, leading the guest from side entrances (connected to the lobby) up to each guest floor. I apologize that you were not made aware of the stairways during your visit! We hope to see you return to Frederick, Maryland soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We checked in on a Saturday. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. Upon entering the room it had a very musty/stale smell. Not sure if the hotel cleaning is lacking or it is overused and needing an upgrade. Aside from the smell the air conditioner was extremely noisy. If you are a light sleeper I would definitely stay away. The breakfast was not very good and very crowded. You would be better spending a couple of bucks at a McDonalds or something similar. We did use the pool and found it to be needing an rehab or at least repainting. Overall I was very unimpressed with this hotel and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms do not seem that great and are in need of a rehab. So it is probably similar no matter what r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GBMDCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful stay here for a family wedding. Location was excellent for our needs, rooms were very clean & crisp, staff was overly helpful, breakfast was great. Only downside was the pool was not open for two of our 4 day stay ( maint. ) but we were
accommodated by the Residence Pool across the Courtyard : ) ..... Sat / Sun pool was open, but some unruly children and an ineffective Mom made relaxing in the hot tub impossible. Children should be not be allowed in the pool room after 9pm, so adults can have some ' chill ' time and conversation without undo shrieking and screaming by 10 - 14 yr olds. . After all, who is paying the bill ?
We will be staying here again on our next visit this year, enjoy !! Jeff from Long Island NY

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor just behind and left of the breakfast area - - even with a packed hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 11743saiior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel name is misleading, the rooms are the farthest from suites. Furthermore, as a business oriented individual I felt this hotel lacked mature staff and were largely inexperienced. The rooms dont have windows theres no fresh air. After one night I saved myself further disappointment and switched to a hotel across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ylasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Clean, well maintained, quiet, with great people all over the place. A decent breakfast included and convenient to the I70 and I 270. While not a great hotel just what is needed afttera lond travel day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buppa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The staff here are very friendly, accommodating and funny. The pool and hot tub were a nice addition with a gym attached. There are a few hotels next to each other here which are owned by the same company. There is also a restaurant next door in one of the hotels and close by is a shopping complex with shopping and food. I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Came here for a two day stay, I found the rooms unclean, the bathrooms and carpeting were in bad shape. Location is good because of the hotels proximity to the west view mall, but beside that this hotel is not worth the super high price they charge, it's downright wrong. Breakfast was poor as well. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MehdiM513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
877 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Frederick
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Frederick
Courtyard Frederick
#9 of 22 in Frederick
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick

Address: 5220 Westview Dr, Frederick, MD 21703-8327
Region: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Frederick
Price Range: £89 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Frederick Fairfield Inn & Suites! Located conveniently from I-270 and I-70 and just 2 miles from Historic Downtown Frederick, we are the perfect hotel destination for all of your business and leisure travel needs. At the Frederick Fairfield Inn & Suites, you can always count on a friendly welcome at an affordable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Frederick Hotel Frederick
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Frederick
Fairfield Inn Frederick
Fairfield Frederick
Frederick Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing