We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looked from outside”
Review of Pension Palas

Pension Palas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Palas
Ranked #5 of 17 Palas de Rei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than it looked from outside”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A tall concrete tower on the edge of town did not give much cause for optimism as we approached. Once we had located it then we agreed that it was not really that hard to find as you travel into town along the Camino. The manageress was extremely friendly and helpful. She could not do enough for us and made no complaint at all about getting a hosepipe out so that we could wash the bikes! Fantastic. Breakfast was more than adequate, if not particularly memorable. Definitely not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    65
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
41
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed everything about our stay here. Outstanding value for money. The pension is very nice, comfortable, and clean. Great internet access. The proprietress let my daughter file a very important graduate school application from her computer. Later, when we changed our walking plans, she phoned around and made reservations for the next two nights. She also made arrangements for our packs to be picked up the next morning and delivered to the hotel we were staying the next night (including labeling the back packs). And yes, the places she reserved were very nice and cheaper than we had seen elsewhere. I can't tell you how much we appreciate all she did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

As we walked into the town of Palas de Rei we were on high alert for signage for our reserved accommodation ... alas, we could not find it!! We walked around town .. Uphill twice (when walking camino last thing you need is an unnecessary extra couple of kilometers!!). We (four of us) missed the signage so cannot be good.. there were no toiletries (even though they advertised there were .. when walking camino, toileteries are a luxury!). The building felt like a block of council flats .. We had stayed in many charming private hostels along camino much cheaper with better facilities .. You can do better in this town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pension Palas is in a fairly new building located five minutes walking from the town center. If you’re walking the St. James Way (Camino de Santiago) you don’t need to enter the town. Take a deviation to your right at “La Cabaña” complex. Pensión Palas is 500 meters from there. On the positive side, you will find a quite new and clean room with a good bathroom. A very nice and helpful lady runs the Pensión. You will also be able to have breakfast from 7 a.m. (5 extra Euros per person if I remember right). The only “negative” that I could point out is that there’re no restaurants or other facilities right around Pensión Palas, which is a bit isolated in that regard. There’s a restaurant near a gas-station 5 minutes walking (we had lunch there and it was ok). Also downtown Palas is only 5 minutes walking, but with bad weather or after a long walk it might represent a problem. We would definitely repeat the experience, though. If it had a closer restaurant, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is located off the Camino trail so was abit hard to find. It's several minutes walk to the main centre of the town.

My 3rd floor room was modern, clean, and spacious with good WIFI connection. There is a lift for tired legs. The only inconvenience was not having 24hr reception desk. I needed local travel information late that night. However, I managed to get help early in the morning during breakfast. The receptionist was very good in answering my travel questions. I told her my planned to hike 48km so she offered and helped me to reserve a hotel room in Arca Pedrouzo for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This B&B is a short walk from the town. The room was clean and good value at 32 Euro. It was very comfortable and I slept very well here. The lady in reception was very welcoming. The downside is that the building lacks a bit of character and the town is not so nice. However, I would recommend it as a clean, good value place to spend a night on the camino.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent service. This proprietor and her husband (?) were kind and super-helpful. The establishment is clean and modern by Camino standards (a welcome change) and the rooms are perfect for the rest one needs after a long day's walk. Long live Eva!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palas de Rei
0.3 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
215 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
Casa Camino Turismo Rural
#3 of 17 in Palas de Rei
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pension Restaurante Casa Camino
Pension Restaurante Casa Camino
#10 of 15 in Palas de Rei
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergue Zendoira
Albergue Zendoira
#1 of 15 in Palas de Rei
45 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Ferramenteiro
Hotel Ferramenteiro
#1 of 6 in Portomarin
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Palas

Property: Pension Palas
Address: c/Santirso s/n, 27200 Palas de Rei, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Palas de Rei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Palas de Rei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing