We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
224
19
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
19
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbajo el cejosierra espunanational parkhonesty barpeaceful placesmall villagefantastic viewssitting roomnarrow roadfive coursesflanhighest standardrisottolocal knowledgeswimming poolhis soncomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is how small hotels wins over Large hotels, the service, personal and discrete. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms include honesty bar fridge, I had a good vodka night before, in our fridge next morning.

As for breakfast on the patio see other reviews just superb, almost all homemade including the jams, enough said.

The set menu at night, well as others mention not to sure about booking set meals even 5 course meals, all I can say is half way through the meal we had booked the next night, completely different menu every night, if you stay 7 nights Lali will cook what ever you like that she had cooked that week, and we would have had a real problem choosing after only 2 nights.

Pippa helps out serving and cleaning gave us lots of info on local places, tips etc and good laugh as well. Made our trip a great start. Thanks for passing on the recipes Pippa.

The rooms are simple but superb very clean fantastic view from the Balcony, pleasant with a breeze blowing, There is a large sitting area downstairs and the honesty fridge. Large patio for meals and drinks pool is cool and spotless. When showering open the window and look down the valley in the morning.

Andreas man on a mission keeps the please clean, making jams maintaining his fresh veg and fruit plot and serving, let him choose the wine they are just delicious from small vineyards who make very good wine.
When we arrived had lovely chilled wine in our room in a bucket within minutes.

Will return for the view, accommodation, staff and the food no problem recommending.

Wanted to stay longer but could not as he was busy that weekend.

Room Tip: Top right room balcony overlooks the valley, big bath.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellymallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

booked by my husband as a surprise - what a treat.

the other reviews pretty much cover it - i have been to Spain many times & love going inland & away from the English so this was right up my street.

was a bit nervous about a "set" dinner but it was first class - as was breakfast.

great spot :)

well done guys

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were a bit concerned about choosing somewhere apparently so remote with little choice of bars restaurants etc. Well we got that wrong.

First impressions started before we arrived when i received a phone call from Pippa telling me that reception was not manned between 2 & 5 pm - not a problem we knew that - but it wasnt just to tell us the facts it was to offer to be there if we knew when we would arrive. She asked what we would like to do about dinner but was happy to wait until we arrived to discuss.

Normally we are not fans of eating in hotels, even less of fixed menus but wow - 30 euros for 5 course meal using lots of local produce - bit blowy so we couldnt dine alfresco - but no matter - dining inside was great - the service from Pippa - fantastic,friendly but discreet - the food was great and her wine recomendations were brilliant.

The rooms are great & the grounds - exactley as shown on the website - the whole place was spotless - this is a business where the owners ( & Pippa) really care about the small details.
The forcast threatened rain - we found umbrellas outside the room.
There was an honesty bar in a small lounge in our section of the hotel.
Breakfast was also great - cereals, toasted pannini style bread , home made cheesecake & orange cake,yogurts,have made preserves, Iberian ham & cheese - amazing freshly prepared juice.

The village boasted 3 other friendly bars & there are some restaurants a short drive away.

We met Andreas - the owner on our last morning and he too was thoughtful & charming. The service througout our stay was just great.

In short we loved it & recomend it to you - having discovered Bajo el Cejo we are now keen to explore other hotels that are part of the Rusticae marketing network.

There is a steep walk into the village but its a small price to pay for fantastic views,friendly service,amazing food - all in all incredible value too . Muchas,muchas gracisa me gusta mucho

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

5 stars in every aspect. Highly recommended. Very personal service that matches the impressive decor & views. only good things to say and it should be on your list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cngrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very nice, small, relaxing hotel in an amazing location. Delicious (and natural) food from the region… and EXCELENT service. We enjoyed it VERY MUCH. Absolutely recommended. Gracias, Andres & Cia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaquin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews