We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Bodegon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bodegon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although we didn't stay at the hotel ( we have a villa in Benicarlo) we used it for both lunch and dinner & what an amazing find. The food is superb, and even my fussy 10 yr old loved the paella of which she could choose from a pictured menu. ( you can request this). The service is great too. The waitress made a real effort to speak English although we really tried to conmunicate in Spanish!!, and the were really accommodating to our Dog and offered her a bowl of water.
We will definitely return here next summer to eat. Thank you Bodegon Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteBodegon, Gerente at Bodegon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Joroca,
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed at our place.
We hope to see you soon. With regards, C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Bodegon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked this Hotel via Tripadvisor as my usual Hotel was fully booked for my dates. Originally i was staying for three nights, but extended the stay to a week. Bodegon is a budget Hotel, but they really go out of their way to make you feel that you are an old friend returning. The rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean. The Restaurant offer really good homemade Spanish food with the empahasis on quality local produce. If you love Fish you wont go wrong here. The staff are really friendly and Christian and his wife make you feel welcome. I will definately make this my place of choice when next in Peniscola.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James05061957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBodegon, Gerente at Bodegon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear James,
Many thanks for your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our place. Hope to see you soon. All the best wherever you are ;-p.
C
PS: how are the japanese doing? :-)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We came across this little gem en route back to France. For us this family run establishment has all the trade marks of people who care and Christian and wife are fellow travellers so know a thing or two about service.We met Pepe Abnelo who I am sure gave the same hospitality when he ran this hotel. The rooms have rustic charm with flat screen tv but as this place is right on the beach(no road),the cocktails fab and the terrace great. staying in would not be an option.Well Done!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspector_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed in this place in 2012 and have to admit, that the service and personnel were pleasant and enjoyable. I highly recommend this place for a smart budget plan and the manager Cristian would do his best to look after your every need while on break

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBodegon, Manager at Bodegon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Hi JohN!
Many thanks for giving us such a great mark!! Sorry we didn't answer you before but we are not very much into trip advisor (we have to learn :-)))
With regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Hotel Bodegon is an oasis set amongst the high rise glitz of the Peniscola beachfront.Don't expect luxury here but what you do get is ambience,clean basic comfortable rooms,welcoming efficient staff ,great spanish food and room rates to make your credit card smile.This 3 storey hotel is spanish to its bootstraps which is rare on this coast.We used the hotel as a lay over on a road trip from Barcelona to southern spain and back.We made the right choice - you should try it

Jim /Joy Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanadusydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Within the mass of ugly concrete of the area, it is one of the few small-scale (human !) buildings, with a very friendly service. it's about 30 mn walk to the castle. The hotel overlooks the beach, no cars in front (cycling/walking only), there's a parking at the back (for daily fee).
The rooms look a bit old-fashioned and don't expect fantastic view but they are clean and functional with quite a large bathroom. Breakfast was included and correct.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocovlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Fantastic on the beach location. Located immediately on the beach this is a great location to enjoy the sand and water. Their restaurant served great meals. The staff was extremely helpful. No elevator so you do have to lug the bags. Rooms are a bit tired but then it is a beach hotel. There is a walkway all the way to the Castle in Pensicola. The entire beach area is full of sun seekers but not the rowdies. Quiet location.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
1.2 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 50 in Peniscola
1,407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
#1 of 50 in Peniscola
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Peniscola
Gran Hotel Peniscola
#15 of 50 in Peniscola
963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Peniscola Palace
Hotel Peniscola Palace
#5 of 50 in Peniscola
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodegon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodegon Hotel

Address: Avenida Papa Luna 77, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Price Range: £39 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodegon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Bodegon offers a free Wi-Fi in all areas and air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen TV and sea views. It is situated right on the beach, a 30 minute walk from Peniscola Old Town.Hotel Bodegon's rustic bar-restaurant has a large garden terrace, facing the sea. It serves homemade Mediterranean dishes, including tapas and paella made to the family's own recipe.There is also a cafe with a terrace.Rooms at the hotel have tiled floors and bright, country-style decor. Each room has a private bathroom.Papa Luna Castle is 5-minute drive or a 30-minute walk from the hotel. You can also cycle along the seafront, and bicycles can be rented from reception.The hotel is easily accessible from the AP7 Motorway, which runs along Spain's Mediterranean Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Bodegon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing