We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel just on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Estrella del Mar
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel just on the beach”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The nice thing about the boutique hotel is that it's small and the service can be very personal.

Pro's
- Rooms have a nice modern design
- Location across the beach is just superb. And 5 minutes walk to the old city. It could not have been better.
- Breakfast is in good even very healthy. Fresh fruit, actimel, yoghurt, dried fruits and nuts. If you want meat: there is not much.
- It is an efficient designed hotel, all is well thought off. LED's turn on automatically when you walk in the doorway.
- Service is kind by Anna and I guess her husband.
- wifi is eay to use: not complex login
- Every we asked, was catered for (extra nutella at the breakfast, tea at night)
- nice massage shower.

Con's
- Rooms are a bit small
- We were given a sea view room, but it had smell of smoke. So we had to request a different room.
- We had to take a back room (so sea view), and there is not much to enjoy.
- The personnel doesn't speak fluent English. So be ready to use your hands and broken Spanish.
- no toilet brush
- small wash basin / limited space in bath room.

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose the sea view. And choose highest floor, since you are on the boulevard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Couldn't say much bad about this hotel. Location is perfect, along the main street and just a minute walk to the beach across the road. Staff were really friendly. Room was really nice with good air con. Overall the hotel has a very modern feel to it. The breakfast is to die for - fresh bread, fruit and coffee. Just the business. The only negative thing I could say is that our bathroom had a funny smell which we discovered was coming from the sink's waste trap. If I had more Spanish I could have explained it better to the staff. Not enough to negatively review though:)

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view and allow some time beyond standard for check in (they really spend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I liked this place alot - simple, clean, good breakfast and compact - they make good use of limited space. As the title says, the big ones could learn a lot from a place like this - in a lot of areas it runs rings around the big boys.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephentaynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great little hotel! Right on the beach and beautifully designed throughout, this small hotel makes the most of it's limited space. The overall impression is one of light and cleanliness. I was a little concerned when we booked in that the two bar/restaurants immediately below our room would be noisy, but once the door on the balcony and the shutters were closed, we could hear nothing. The bed was a little hard and could have done with a soft topper on it, or at least some sort of padded mattress protector, as I could feel the edging of the mattress. Breakfast was included and was fine.

All-in-all, I would certainly recommend this hotel - but be warned: the room is very, very small, as is the bathroom. However, once you realise the there are two sliding doors to the shower, it makes getting in and out a little easier than at first thought!

Room Tip: Although the rooms at the back might be a little bigger, it's worth having a smaller room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerionT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalon, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Best hotel we have been to in Spain!

Having lived in the Costa Blanca for nearly six years we have experienced some pretty awful hotels which claimed to be 4 or even 5 star.... however the trip advisor reviews of Hotel Estrella del Mar were right on point! This is a 2-star boutique hotel and we were given a wonderfully spotless double room - with a super comfy bed, a gorgeous bathroom with a power shower I could not get my husband out of!!

There was an immaculate dining room and bar area. The staff were courteous, friendly & professional at all times.

The breakfasts were good quality, very tasty, different every day, and brought to the table by a smiling waitress.

The lack of facilities did not detract from this lovely Hotel - we did not want for anything more as the location is right opposite a beautiful beach with a coffee shop next door and good quality restaurants within 10/15 metres walk.

We would go back next week if we could! Highly recommended ++++

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocomoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Friendly hostess, served great breakfast every morning. Location excellent, seaside and near castle and located in old town.

Room Tip: Room with sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victory_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

we stayed here for two nights in october as part of a 12 day spanish holiday, of all the hotels we stayed in this was our favorite and everything there was of a very high standard. The hotel is in a perfect location with the beach across the road and the old town two minutes walk away. if you are in the area this is a great option!

Room Tip: beach view. (maybe they all have this!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyirishmanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 53 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#2 of 53 in Peniscola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Delfines
Los Delfines
#26 of 53 in Peniscola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Muva Beach
Hotel Muva Beach
#7 of 53 in Peniscola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Mar
Hotel Boutique La Mar
#6 of 53 in Peniscola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Peniscola Palace
Hotel Peniscola Palace
#5 of 53 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estrella del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella del Mar

Property: Hotel Estrella del Mar
Address: Avenida Mar 31B, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Estrella del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in peñiscola.open in 2008.bed and breakfast. Modern design.10 rooms with internet free,air condition,minibar, channel music, television lcd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Estrella del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing