We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value and fun place to stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We happened upon the Casablanca by accident as we were driving through Peniscola. A very fortunate thing indeed....... upon enquiring we were offered a fantastic, clean and confortable room overlooking the central courtyard. We were also offered the "half board" meal option for a unbeatable rate.
The food was buffet style with lots of variety and very tasty, service was excellent and the reception staff went out of there way to be helpful. They also had a excellent book exchange selection.
The highlight for us was the fact that the majority of the other guests were "mature" Spanish nationals, they were a delight!
Despite our lack of Spanish and their lack of English we got along famously...... including egging each other on for "solo" dancing spots.
The hotel is well located just across the road from the beach with views of the breathtaking Peniscola Castle, make sure you visit!
What was intended as a place to spend the night, turned into three even though we had to revise our itinerary to do it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourEscapeBluePrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio A, Manager at Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por reflejarnos su opinión y por supuesto siempre se intenta mejorar y sus opiniones son el principal vínculo para conocer esos aspectos que no hacen del todo satisfactoria su estancia. Tomamos nota de los puntos que nos indica a mejorar en el buffet. Sobre la música sí hemos regulado mejor el sonido para que no se escuche tanto en las habitaciones y la luz también la hemos dejado hasta más tarde encendida aunque tampoco podemos hacerlo hasta muy tarde porque hay a otras personas que les puede molestar. Esperamos que a pesar de estas opiniones, ganen los buenos aspectos y el intento de mejorar cada día para escogernos en sus próximas vacaciones. Un saludo, Rocío
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    197
    67
    13
    16
See reviews for
260
182
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in mid October. There was no air-con switched on in the room - although the corridors were cooled. The daytime temp was 25C - which I would consider warm for us English - but to the predominantly spanish clientele it was obviously cool as they minced about fully clothed with hats and scarves on! After 3 days the room (which faced due south into the noonday sun) eventually cooled down to an acceptable level.

Anyway, the hotel reception & restaurant staff and were all excellent - friendly and helpful. This hotel is mainly for the spanish - we only heard english voices once on one day. Few french & northern europeans - but 95% spanish. Therefore, as you would expect, all of the evening entertainment in the bar was designed to cater for spanish tastes, and in the restaurant and at breakfast most of the fare offered was designed for the local tastes with only a small selection of "international" dishes on offer. I thought that there was a good selection of food, but if you want egg, bacon, sausages and beans every morning for brekky then don't come here!!!!
Fried eggs cooked to order were on a couple of days - but mostly it was crepes / hot cakes etc
but plenty of varied meats and cheeses plus cereals. Most of the 'specials' in the evening were various sorts of fried fish. Although there was a varied selection of dishes, apart from the soup which was always delicious, everything was cool or cold. There was one microwave (fortunately only used sparingly as there were 100+ guests eating most evenings) but we survived OK.

Having moaned a lot - we actually thought the hotel was very good value for money. The deal included free wine with the evening meal which was quite palatable and the hotel facilities were good with nightly entertainment, gym, jacuzzi and rooftop sunning areas. The hotel is about 2 miles from the castle but we had transport and there were a few bike hire places nearby. There is only limited street parking at the front of the hotel - but it has secure underground parking at a very reasonable cost (6e / day)

Finally, the entire area (not just the hotel) was plagued with flies.........not the hotel's fault and possibly the time of year. By the end of our stay a few had managed to infiltrate the restaurant.
We managed to avoid them when walking about by staying at the water's edge - but not good anywhere in Peniscola or Benicarlo. They also seemed to be immune to swatting or sprays!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our European vacation started by picking up our rental car in Barcelona. Once we had our wheels we made our way two hours south to a true Spanish resort town called Peniscola. We stayed at the Hotel Casablanca and Suites (Avenue Papa Luna 113 12598 Peniscola). It was situated across from the ocean and less than a mile from the bustling town center complete with views of its medieval castle. The Casablanca Hotel was fabulous. It had clean modern rooms, a large pool, and excellent breakfast and dinner buffets. The receptionist at the hotel also recommended a great restaurant called La Raspa where you should order their signature tapas called patatas bravas. The staff helped us find some great restaurants like La Raspa. This hotel was the best place we stayed during our entire vacation and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone else who wants a high quality Spanish resort experience.

After exploring Peniscola’s wonderful restaurants and charming castle, it was time for us to make our way to Cote d’Azur. This time we stayed in an aparthotel called the Resideal Antibes (240 Avenue Jules Grec 06600 Antibes). At an aparthotel guests are responsible for providing their own toiletries and sheets. It’s a good solution for families who want to economize or cook some of their meals in the kitchenette. We never cooked in our apartment but it suited us because of its proximity to a market, a bakery as well as all the sites we wanted to explore. We had an excellent pizza at a restaurant near the aparthotel called L’Oiseau Qui Chante. Nice has a beautiful coastline, excellent shopping, and plenty of places to eat. However, the most spectacular thing we did was take the scenic drive from Nice to Monaco. Monte Carlo can only be described as fit for a princess. We recommend splitting an entrée and ordering tiramisu at an Italian restaurant called Pulcinella. People watching outside of Monte Carlo Casino is also a must. We enjoyed it so much we visited twice.

Unfortunately, we had to leave the magnificent Cote d’Azur to drive back to Barcelona for the next part of our trip. We found a great hotel called Hotel Parale lel close to a metro and within walking distance of the famous Las Ramblas street. (Poeta Cabanyes 08004 Barcelona) Our room was modern and clean and we had great customer service. The man at the front desk pointed out where we should go and warned us that even as a local he had been pickpocketed three times. If you ever go to Barcelona heed his words. A high school guy tried to pickpocket me. He was unsuccessful but be vigilant about protecting your valuables. Besides, the “pickpocket episode” we had a great time exploring Barcelona and watching championship soccer at local spots. Our only regret was that we should have stayed longer.

We spent our final week in Amsterdam. My daughter studied abroad for a semester there so I stayed in her apartment rather than a hotel. The real estate market is highly competitive so all the locals were amazed that she lived in the sought after Amsterdam West neighborhood on Plantage Muidergracht. If you’re in that area grab a pizza for about 11 Euro from De Pizzabakkers on Plantage Kerklaan. During the week I stayed with my daughter we took our time exploring the city but everything was easier to access because we were staying within the center ring. Wake up early one day and take a bike ride to Pancakes Amsterdam on Berenstraat 38 for some signature Dutch pancakes. Other places sell them but this place had the best quality. For lunch, we followed the locals’ lead and picked up some sandwich spreads and bread from the local grocery store, Albert Heijn. Our favorite dinner place was Café De Klos on Kerkstraat 41. Ignore the all you can eat spare rib deals and come here for the best spare ribs in town. I split an order with my daughter and it was more than enough for two. If you’re in the mood for a beer stop by Mulligans Irish Music Bar on Amstel 100. You’ll get some great live music and dancing and enjoy a pint. Amsterdam has something for everyone but make sure you don’t leave for home without riding a bike for the true local experience.

Europe has so much to offer it’s impossible to see everything in three weeks. Try not to get too overwhelmed. We enjoyed the Mediterranean coast but we wished we had more time for Barcelona and Amsterdam. It was a great itinerary but we highly recommend more time for the major cities.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antequera, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, Reception staff were superb especially Elena,nothing was too much trouble for her and she always welcomed you with a beaming smile! Rooms were superb and clean everything you needed was there. Food was lovely also dining room staff. Good location with everything nearby would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twopensioners66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A very nice hotel .on the boulevard on 10 min walks from the center . very nice people . very good breakfast buffet . A very c
lean hotel with a lot of extra whirlpool sauna children
playgarden .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stumbled across Peniscola last June while driving from Barcelona to Madrid and returned in September a hotel stay. This hotel is so close to the beach, Literally a walk over the road. It's a very quiet part of the beach which suited us well and the crowds seemed further up the beach nearer the town.
This hotel isn't located right in the Center of Peniscola but it's a about 30 minute, pleasant work in. But i preferred having the quiet beach rather than fighting for a space on the busy end so this hotel suited us fine.
There is a little supermarket right next door which is ideal. The breakfasts are great in the morning and the roms were cleaned everyday and were roomy.

All in all...We liked it that much we're staying there again this summer.

Room Tip: If there is a group of 4 or more ask for connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou_Lou84Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Convenient arrangement, near to a beach. An excellent breakfast. Nearby – inexpensive restaurants. There is a small supermarket. Approaches for family rest with children. Good price/quality. It is possible to park the car free of charge.
Nearby there is an ancient castle.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vkovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
1.8 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 50 in Peniscola
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Hotel Peniscola Palace
Hotel Peniscola Palace
#5 of 50 in Peniscola
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
#1 of 50 in Peniscola
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#2 of 50 in Peniscola
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Peniscola
Gran Hotel Peniscola
#10 of 50 in Peniscola
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites

Property: Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
Address: Avenida Papa Luna 113, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Peniscola
#3 Family Hotel in Peniscola
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Peniscola
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Arena Dorada, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rh Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing