We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has character in a sea of no character hotels.”
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria del Mar
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Certificate of Excellence
West Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This place has character in a sea of no character hotels.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This wonderful hotel is situated in a perfect spot on a fabulous beach. We had a private balcony overlooking the beach, and it was very quiet at this time of year. This family owned hotel is unique amongst all the non-descript hotels along the Peniscola beach. An excellent breakfast was included. Out the front door is great walking in either direction, and the view of the castle is awesome.
Very clean, neat, and tidy. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    67
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
98
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel was really nice but this year they open a night-club and it's impossible to sleep !
All night you can see hundreds of drunk teenagers in front of the hotel, they make a lot of noise and it's more than difficult to feel on holiday when you can't sleep all night !
Maybe this place is cool but you can't appreciate your holiday because you're tired without sleeping normaly...
We were used to stay here but we will never come back !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in June after travelling around Spain by train. Peniscola shares a train station with the nearby town of Benicarlo and we had to travel by taxi to the hotel but there's a taxi rank outside the station so that wasn't a problem.
We had booked our room by email after discovering a recommendation for the hotel in a DK travel book for Spain and also after reading the reviews here and it was everything we'd hoped for.
Emails were responded to promptly and gave us useful advice. We requested a sea view room on an upper floor and our room - overlooking the pool - also had an excellent view of the castle, which was definitely a bonus. We struggled to find reviews of the food here so we could not decide whether to stay B&B or half-board but the staff happily agreed to let us choose when we arrived and could see a sample menu. Menus are available every afternoon and, during our stay at least they were written in English as well as Spanish. Each day there was a choice of 3 or 4 starters, main courses and desserts and food was of a very good quality. The difference in cost of staying B&B and half-board was the princely sum of 11Euros per person so we ate the evening meal throughout our stay. From about mid-June the restaurant offers a buffet instead of waiter service but the choice is still good and we never regretted our decision to stay half-board.
The breakfast selection was reasonable with the usual pastries, yoghurt, bread, cooked meats, cheeses, bacon, chorizo sausages and slices of tortilla, fresh fruit and cereal - though the cornflakes were tasteless and a bit like cardboard!
The pool and surrounding areas were well-maintained with sunbeds available most of the times we wanted to use them; on the rare occasions they were all taken we went over the road to the hotel-owned sunbeds on the beach which were available free of charge.
Our room was perhaps a little dark, with too much furniture in it so it seemed crowded although it was a decent size. It also had a mini-bar and a safe, which was free and the room was spotlessly clean - as were all of the other areas in the hotel. Each morning there were lots of cleaners working in the public areas and all around the reception desk. A good wi-fi signal was available throughout the hotel.
The staff on reception were always very helpful and because I speak a little Spanish always tried to make sure I understood them when they replied to my queries but they also understood me when I had to resort to speaking in English.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and look forward to doing so at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue_n_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENCIA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is clean and tidy and has a nice pool and gardens and just across the road from the beach. It is about a 15 minute walk to the town centre. The room is Ok with comfy armchairs and the beds are fine, but they only have twin rooms no doubles. Our room and bathroom were fine but perhaps a little dark as the balcony was off to the side and gave the only natural light. The free wifi was good and there is well stocked Minibar. The staff are friendly and the place is kept very clean. Our only complaint was the breakfast. The coffee tasted of nothing, the cooked food did not look appealing and I think this is the only hotel I have been to where stale bread was put by the toaster. Both mornings I was there I spotted an ant walking across the food. We did not have any other meals there but you find in other reviews a couple I thought were good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EXPATMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights commencing 31 October 2012. We had checked TA before booking and the reviews came up to scratch. Nice reasoanably sized room with views of the beach and easy walking distance to the old town and castle. 15 mins. Drinks in the bar were cheaper than some bars on the main strip. Shame no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and could have done with a little more hotel info in the room, but that said would definitely stay here again. Staff very pleasant. Buffet beakfast gave a good start to the day. Free car parking.
Well done

Room Tip: perhaps ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The location of this well run Hotel - with friendly, helpful staff, a fantastic Buffet Breakfast and
comfortable rooms (with balconies, bar fridge & safe .... not forgetting free WiFi) was a great
find and we would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone visiting the lovely town of Peniscola.
The availability of secure parking on site is an advantage and there is a bus stop right opposite the Hotel with cheap & regular service to the old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wakacje184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is opposite the beach along wth many others on the Papa Luna stip. We chose this one because of the interesting internal decor - dark period-style furniture, interesting items lining the corridors, wall decor depicting castles, saints, etc all set the mood for the visit to the castle. Car park is outdoor and adjacent to hotel.

Had an overnight stay with partner and friend so took the junior suite (the double rooms were booked out). The room is at the back, through a maze of corridors, and again had interesting features - the two rooms are set out linearly, with the bathroom facilities in between - not really a junior suite. Lots of shuttered windows, several balconies, including a huge one at the end, but this one had no furniture. The view of the beach for this room was from the side, so not perfect.

Beds were comfortable, bathroom adequate, everything clean. Both rooms have aircon, altho the one is the smaller room was dated and not as efficient. Smaller room was a little cramped - has a couple of armchairs and a single bed set in a small nook - would be fun for kids, but was also comfortable enough for our adult friend. Flat-screen TV in both rooms, but we didn't use either. Main bedroom is more spacious, also has small balcony with two chairs and side-on view to beach. Lots of storage space. No coffee facilities! Good internet in second room, non-existent in main room.

The hotel has a bar (open till 24:00), restaurant (around 11:00), and a lounge were you can sit all night. Decor is suits of armour, and such - loved it! I speak Spanish amd spoke to many of the staff in recepion, bar and restaurant and all were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant - lots of people having the buffet which seemed reasonably for 20e - selection of salads, including seafood salad, cold meats, cheese, desserts, chicken and fish dishes available. We chose a la carte and had a great selection of seafood dishes - bbq prawns, selection of grilled fish, plate of varied shellfish - highly recommended! Breakfast was the usual fair - pretty average - but reasonably good coffee!

The only downside for us was the internet connection - only 1 of our 4 units was able to connect in the bar, but the we later found the connection was good in the second bedroom - so may not be a problem in other rooms - not sure. Apart from that, would recommend this hotel, altho if you are staying longer you may want a room overlooking the beach - with that and a good internet connection, I'd give 5 /5!

Room Tip: Book early to get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peniscola hotels
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 50 in Peniscola
1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peniscola Palace
Hotel Peniscola Palace
#5 of 50 in Peniscola
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RH PortoCristo
Hotel RH PortoCristo
#2 of 50 in Peniscola
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
1.4 mi away
Hotel RH Casablanca & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
Hotel RH Don Carlos & Spa
#1 of 50 in Peniscola
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria del Mar

Property: Hosteria del Mar
Address: Avenida Papa Luna 18, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Peniscola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Peniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hosteria del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing