We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Storyteller Fine Dining Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff Castle Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Storyteller Fine Dining Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ground floor room very noisy from room up above. No fridge in room which was a surprise. Phone had to be rebooted by unplugging cable.
Front desk staff rude and unfriendly. Part way thro our check in and before giving us our room key they took care of a band that arrived after we had. Hotel in very poor location as you had to take a bus or drive to the casino.Very inconvenient. The Casino we liked either than
excessive smoke due to poor make up air in system.
The Storyteller Restaurant was truly a great dining experience with such
a unique atmosphere. Seating was very private and cubicles looked like
caves in a mountain. Romantic with very dim lighting. We were very impressed with the menus as they illuminated when turned on by waiter;
Service was excellent as was the food with just right time between courses. Dress codes are required . We would truly recomment for the
best dining experience in a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Caroline,
Storyteller's is always a great dining choice while visiting the hotel and casino. On your next visit be sure to try out the New Mountain Springs Buffet which features Prime Rib, T Bone Steaks and an amazing Sunday Brunch. We apologize that the hotel check in process was troubling and we are reviewing procedures to identify where we can improve in the future. The entire staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we can assure you that we will exceed all of your expectations on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    40
    59
    38
    49
See reviews for
49
89
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Booked a room here for two nights. First room had no WIFI access and when I moved the night stand to look at the modem there was food and other undesirables behind it. Got a new room and the WIFI was slow at best. The landscaping is terrible and the Casino itself is depressing. We called around noon the second day to express our displeasure and the hotel wanted to hassle me about refunding my money. So we just left and got a room at another location without even receiving any sore of reimbursement. I will never return.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomITGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your stay. The hotel staff and management strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. The majority of comments about our hotel are very positive and your experience was certainly the exception and not the rule. We can assure you that we will exceed all of your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camp Verde hotels

Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights because it is close to Out of Africa park. The room is fine, shower has good water pressure. When we checked in, there was a pillow case laying on the bed. Looks like housekeeping did not finish up their job. I have never seen a king size bed has only 2 standard sized pillows. Housekeeping did not leave any soap at all when they cleaned the room. I had to find them to ask for a couple of soaps in the morning. The heater broke at the third night. Even though they came to fix it but it did not work properly. It was our last night there so I did not bother to call the front desk again.
All restaurants are at the casino. The hotel website is not updated and a couple of restaurants are either closed or changed name/Manu. We ate at the steakhouse, Storyteller, on a Friday night. The waiter did not tell us about the specials but gave us the discount on the bill since it was the Lady's night. The filet was good. We had dinner at the buffet restaurant on Sat. It is prime rib night. I liked it that they have a grill and can grill the steak to well done. The buffet does not have a big selection but you will have enough food to eat.
On the all, the hotel or motel provides good value for our trip, and it is only 30 minutes away from Sedona.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu85715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We can assure you that all of the issues mentioned in your review have been completely resolved and we are reviewing current procedures to identify where we can improve in the future. The entire staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we can assure you that we will exceed all of your expectations on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a pretty good vale, but needs to be updated. The hotel is down the hill from the casino. They offer a free shuttle to the casino. They have multiple restaurants in the casino and a bar/restaurant inside the room. The room is basic and one of the sheets was stained. Overall, a good visit and will probably be back

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottyFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the restaurants and all of the amenities that the casino has to offer. We can assure you that your next stay with us will exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Overnight parking in RV or travel trailer is allowed in the parking lots north of the hotel. Well lit parking lots; felt safe and secure, off the next morning to see Montezuma's Castle just down the road a piece.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. The hotel parking is very convenient for trucks and large vehicles with easy access to the Casino. The hotel staff and management look forward to exceeding all of your expectations during your next visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This place is more of a 2-storrey motel than a hotel, with just the bare basics. It's fine if you are just passing through and need to crash for the night. Nothing much to do around the area except go to the casino. The motel/hotel is not attached to the casino, so you have to call or wait for the shuttle bus to pick you up and drop you off.

We arrived there with 2 busloads of people and even though they were aware of us coming more than 1 month in advance, they were seriously understaffed. Some people waited over 2 hours to get their keys. The staff, that was there at the time, was overwhelmed but tried very hard to get us all checked in.

The Casino is ok... nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize that the check in process was troubling and we are reviewing current procedures to identify where we can improve in the future. The entire staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we can assure you that we will exceed all of your expectations on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Cliff Castle Casino Hotel and found it to be adequate – not great but not horrible either. We had an adjoining room with another couple that we were traveling with. Our room was two queens, theirs was a king. The quality of the king room was far superior to our queen with a better mattress, higher quality linens, and what appeared to be much newer flooring. Overall it is a bare bones lodging option, if you are looking for a mostly clean (the carpet was nasty but everything else seemed fine) and affordable place to crash, then this works. Negatives: carpet was very dirty, patio needed some bug spray (although it had a very large praying mantis trying to keep the spiders down), chairs were not very sturdy (sit carefully!), and the water saver shower had zero pressure. On the positive side: bed was comfortable and clean, 42” TV with satellite, it’s affordable, and there is a shuttle to the casino (which we were surprised to find is NOT attached to the hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZRoadHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Cliff Castle Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of the beds in the room as well as the 42" Flat Panel TV's. The issues mentioned in your review have been shared with the hotel management and we can assure you that your next stay with us will exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp Verde
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Camp Verde Arizona
2.5 mi away
Copper Canyon Inn
Copper Canyon Inn
#4 of 5 in Camp Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Camp Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beaver Creek  Inn
Beaver Creek Inn
#1 of 1 in Rimrock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Castle Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Castle Casino Hotel

Property: Cliff Castle Casino Hotel
Address: 555 W Middle Verde Rd, Camp Verde, AZ 86322-8561
Region: United States > Arizona > Camp Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Camp Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliff Castle Casino Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to it all! Whether you're coming up from the Valley, just passing through town, or looking to escape from your daily life, The Hotel at Cliff Castle is exactly what you're looking for. Spend the night playing, dining, and partying in the Casino, then take a load off and let us take care of you. With more than 80 rooms, we can accommodate you and your friends, and we're only minutes away from numerous local attractions such as Montezuma Castle, Montezuma Well, Sedona, and many other Verde Valley points of interest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cliff Castle Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Cliff Castle Hotel Camp Verde
Hotel At Cliff Castle
Cliff Castle Hotel
At Cliff Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing