We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in the REAL Spain”
Review of Mas Fontanelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas Fontanelles
Ranked #3 of 4 Biar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Forget the hordes in the glorified housing estates by the coast, come and see the Real Spain with its small towns built into hills with its medieval streets and its castles on top of every hill.Visit great authentic restaurants and bars paying a fraction of the price you would at the coast. Hotel Rural Mas Fontanelles is located just outside the beautiful small town of Biar, 45 minutes drive from Alicante airport. It is a 9 room hotel geared up for relaxation. We had room number 9 which is an annexe just off the hotel with its own courtyard for sunbathing with table and chairs. The room itself was large and airy and so so quiet. The large pool is situated at the rear of the hotel cut into the beginning of a pine forest, All you can hear is the sounds of nature while sunbathing, reading, and sipping on one of the many fine wines Roberto can recommend to you. Roberto and Isabella go out of their way to make your stay as welcoming as possible while bringing up their family and living their own lives.
The continental breakfast was always welcomed with a different freshly baked cake to go with our coffee and toast. Roberto cooks a three course dinner which never disappoints, it was made with love, fresh ingredients and always tasty, but there are many fine restaurants in the surrounding area for a nice lunch or a change of dinner venue. All in all our stay was exactly what we were looking for, relaxing, good food, good wine and not an English / Irish Pub in sight.
Just a side note when we arrived in Biar late in the evening and became horribly lost, on the point of a breakdown (car and us), We were approached by a local man who could see we were in distress, asked us if we were lost, and proceeded to tell us to follow him. He jumped in his car and three minutes later we were at the doors to the hotel. Good people do still exist.

Room Tip: Go for the annexed room for total peace and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Mas Fontanelles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

A lovely hotel in a beautiful relaxing location. Service was fantastic and we really enjoyed the meals that we had at the hotel. The host were extremely helpful with places to eat and things to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed here for three nights early in April. Being in the country, it was a great break after several weeks in big cities. The hotel is quiet with large rooms, several sitting areas and great outdoor space. Due to the season, the pool was not open, but there are plenty of places to sit and read or chat outside. Our hosts, both of whom speak English well, were extremely hospitable and suggested places in the vicinity to walk and visit.

Breakfasts are good, and we had dinner at the hotel on two occasions. Both times, the meals were very good; fairly simple but good quality and ample portions and a good wine cellar with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We visited for the second time this year and found Mas Fontanelles comfortable and relaxing. The hotel is great for young children as there is a lovely pool (where there's seldom any other guests to disturb!) and a pleasant enclosed garden with hammocks, swings and a trampoline under the shade of pine trees. The pine forest a couple of minutes up the road is good for short walks too. The food is lovely. The continental breakfast included cake, warm from the oven, and dinner was great. The owner cooks with fresh, simple ingrediants and takes real care to prepare delicious and varied dishes. It was possible to get baby monitor reception in both the dining room and terrace, and so it's posible to put childeren to bed and eat dinner downstairs. The rooms are full of character and both were quite large. Most have terraces or balconies overlooking the gardens. The staff are very nice, but pretty much leave you to it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewnbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

This small but wonderfully run hotel ticked all our boxes.

For our winter stay, booked in August, we searched for somewhere small and cosy, in the countryside but close to the bigger coastal towns that we knew would be open during the festive season.

We had originally planned to walk the local trails and hire mountain bikes but unfortunately, due to a broken metatarsal only 2 weeks before our trip, walking any distance (especially on uneven ground) was off the menu.

We were warmly welcomed by Roberto and enjoyed wonderful hospitality throughout our stay. The hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated and everywhere is spotlessly clean. We loved the sitting room (with wood burning stove) which was a joy to spend time in reading and enjoying a drink in the evenings. The food was exceptionally good. The ladies who served breakfast and cleaned the rooms were charming, helpful and kind.

This is the perfect place to get away from everything. Quiet and peaceful yet only a short distance from Biar, which even on Christmas Day had a few places open for food and or something to drink,

The cottage in the garden is lovely. We had stayed inside the hotel for the first few days as the cottage had already been booked. Both were spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm. We came back one day to find all our belongings had been moved across to the cottage as if by magic.

We had requested extra pillows, a hairdryer and kettle prior to our arrival and everything was provided with no problem.

At this time of year, over Christmas, the local towns and villages were understandably quiet but we had all day to explore and on the days where the hills around us were in the clouds, we headed to Benidorm, Villajoyosa, Santa Pola and Los Arenales (a good spot for lunch, close to Alicante airport) for warmth and flat ground.

We were always glad to return to the peace and cosiness of Mas Fontanelles. When not eating at the hotel, Biar, only 4 kilometres away, proved very convenient for dinner.

Even with the Euro so strong against the Pound, this hotel and indeed this whole region represents excellent value for money.

We'd love to return in the summer as there is a swimming pool here and clearly more outdoor activities nearby to be enjoyed.

For for a winter break (our only experience to date) this is highly recommended. Much hard work and love has been put into making Mas Fontanelles the gem that it is.

We loved our time at Mas Fontanelles and send our best wishes and many thanks to Roberto, Isabel, their family and all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Stayed at Mas Fontanelles for one night in September - generally speaking a very pleasant experience. Although it's only 30-45 minutes drive away from the Costa Blanca, it feels a world away. The hotel is simply but very tastefully decorated and the pool is great (although there is a some building work going on in the hotel grounds).

The only downside was the service which was hit and miss (the male owner is not particularly welcoming). The 1.50 euro charge to "rent" each towel for the swimming pool is also completely ridiculous (especially as we not made of it when we borrowed them).

Despite this, it's a pretty good deal for B&B for 75 euros.

Mas Fontanelles also has a well-regarded restaurant which serves an evening menu for 20 euros (excl. drinks). It's ok but not great value - definitely worth driving 5 mins into Biar to eat on the main square.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank María J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biar
14.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Masia La Mota
0.2 mi away
Villa de Biar Hotel
11.2 mi away
AC Hotel Elda
AC Hotel Elda
#1 of 2 in Elda
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel-Spa La Romana
Hotel-Spa La Romana
#1 of 1 in La Romana
227 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,464 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel del Juguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Fontanelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Fontanelles

Address: Carretera Biar a Baneres, Biar, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Biar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Biar
Price Range: £61 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mas Fontanelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Fontanelles Biar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing