We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !!!”
Review of Quique Dacosta

Quique Dacosta
Ranked #9 of 534 Restaurants in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Readers planning to go to this restaurant should also read the reviews of El Poblet which was it's previous name before the chef named it after himself.
My wife and I had a disastrous meal in April which you can read about.
Foodie friends visited us from the UK and despite my advice pressed us into going back. Well nearly 1000 euros lighter (for 4) they agreed with us that this restaurant is far too highly rated. The food was cold and tasteless again and the service was painfully slow. My friends do "get" this type of food but even they admit weeds and flowers are taking things too far. Imagination going too far at the expense of taste. We did eat a lot of bread too as the portions are miniscule.
2 Michelin stars maybe but there are far better restaurants in Denia that serve hot tasty food at a fraction of the price.
This time I really do mean "NEVER AGAIN"

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
16  Thank gordy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I found this restaurant on the Costa Blanca on recommendation of a couple of foodies we met on a Mediterranean cruise. Located on the beach road north of the city of Denia, the restaurant is handsome and welcoming. (We went for lunch and when we called for reservations, they told us that this would be an elegant, leisurely meal and that there is a dress code - very definitely no bathing suits and cut offs and other diners were resort elegant.) While the restaurant has existed for 30 years, the current chef has embraced high-tech methods and imaginative presentations that call to mind Ferran Adria and Jose Andres. Our meal was delicious and unforgettable. The staff, including a young trainee from California, guided us through the many small courses. We loved the Cubalibre course - a mousse of foie gras topped with a rum and coke gelee and were blown away by the Living Forest course which defies ready description but was delectable and based on mushrooms. Menu items can be selected a la carte, but we let the chef choose six courses for 100 Euros per person. We would not have known enough to make those memorable choices ourselves. Coffee is served in a luxurious glass walled lounge just outside the restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Enchantay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I'm a little surprised that there are no trip advisor reviews of this incredible restaurant but maybe it's because of the relatively recent name change from El Poblet to Quique Dacosta (the latter being the name of the chef).

I've just eaten there and tasted the 2011 menu and it is possibly the finest meal I have ever enjoyed. The four of us having dinner were stunned at Quique's new direction - we chose the new Menu "Rising Sun" as opposed to his "greatest hits" style menu. The restaurant is at the very leading edge of gastronomy and currently holds two michelin stars but I can not think of any reason on earth why he wont get his third star.

The restaurant itself has been completely redone in what appears initially to be a rather austere, modern white and grey theme. You sit at the table with no glasses, no decoration, no cutlery - just a white, empty table. At that point you know you are in for something unique...

Suddenly, as soon as our aperitifs arrived the table was filled with "Tapas". They are not tapas as you would know them but little tastings of incredible extremely local products from a pickled succulent called Raim de Pastor from the nearby mountain of Montgo to local snails, there are also the incredible explosions of flavour of tortelitas de camarones (or shrimp crisps) to stuffed kumquat eggs, local smoked fish roe to smoked bonito tuna. Everything is of the local region.

All in all there are an incredible 11 different tapas tastings, which feature on both menus. The presentation is stunning with the use of local iconic elements such as driftwood, beach stones, mountain stones, seaweed, moss, etc to display the food in a fresh and unique way.

Fresh is the word I would use for the new menu. I've eaten here maybe 10 times over the years as I live only a few kilometers away and often, although the food was always incredibly impressive, I would find it a real struggle to get through the tasting menu due to the reduced sauces and other modern cooking styles that made the food heavy. The new menu is in all honesty like nothing I have ever eaten before. It has the absolutely lightest, freshest of touches that can not be found outside of Japan. Quiques respect for the products themselves has gone to a whole new level.

His focus on the actual star product can be seen by the names of the dishes - Pepperwort, Avocado, Tigernut, Tomato, Peas, Onions, etc Everything at first appears to be pared-down simplicity but on tasting they reveal the complexity of flavours involved and the incredible skill and artistry required to cook at this level and with this level of inventiveness.

In total there were 33 elements or dishes - which is frankly a staggering amount and would normally have me feeling queasy half way through! This time it was different. We all ate every single dish and didnt leave feeling disgustingly full. Full certainly - but not over full, if you know what I mean.

I wont spoil more of the surprise of the dishes, the flavours, the little tricks or jokes he plays on the palate or on the eye. You just have to go there yourself. It is a once in a lifetime thing.

I know that this review now sounds like a gushingly pretentious review of Michelin style cooking but I really dont know how else to describe the experience, so unique as it is.

To tell you the truth, I am happy to eat the odd Michelin starred meal but as a rule I stay away, preferring fresh products cooked simply. I have over the years eaten at the likes of The Fat Duck, Le Manoir Aux Quatre Saison, The Waterside Inn, Arzak, Muggaritz, Gordson Ramsay etc and of all of those, this was my favourite meal.

So its clearly the best fancy meal I've ever eaten, but the new light menu was so impressive that I would say it was one of the best meals full stop that I've ever eaten.

The staff are excellent as a whole. The Maitre D' Diddier is ex- Fat Duck and is charming and incredibly professional. Our waiter was also ex-Fat Duck, and was superb.

On to my criticisms:

Firstly the sommelier. He really made very little effort to help us through the wine list and generally grunted and pointed at a wine suggestion. It didn't help that he was sweating profusely. We went with most of his choices and they were great. I don't doubt his ability but his "usability" was frankly rubbish. The wine list by the way, is hand written and filled with stunning wines of pretty much all price ranges, regions, varieties...

The second criticism is the time it takes to eat 33 different dishes. We arrived for dinner at around 9.15pm (it's Spain so eating late is normal - the restaurant filled up around 10pm) and we finished coffee in the outside lounge area at 2am. 4 hours 45 minutes is just far too long. There were still a few more people finishing their meals even then. The actual food was perfectly paced but there are just too many dishes to eat in any sort of reasonable time. The only other solution is I suppose to suggest to people to come a little earlier...

In a nutshell - it is a truly fabulous gastronomic experience and one of the very, very best in the world. Eat there now before it gets its third Michelin star and you cant get a reservation for love or money.

My whole experience was made even better because I didnt have to pay as we were being treated on this occasion by our friends. A perfect end to a perfect meal!

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank thewanderers_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quique Dacosta also viewed

 
Javea, Costa Blanca
Denia, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Quique Dacosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing