We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacqui Sttewart”
Review of Hostal Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Loreto
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Denia
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hostal lovely- Rooms clean, fresh and very comfy
Breakfast a bit basic but adequate- very good restaurant attached to hostal
Good Area for shops, beach other restaurants.
Only real drawback for me No Lift - stairs not good for my mobility but we managed
Car Park nightmare to get to & quite expensive at 10 euros per night
We will go back as had a lovely time.
Hosts very nice

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Loreto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

At the spur of the minute we hooked 3 nights here to recover from out month long road trip and on our way to Andulucia. We had a 3rd floor room facing the quant and lively street if Loreto.

It's a great "chill" town. We had planned all types of side trips but instead mostly hung around the town. Not a lot to do which is perfect for the road weary.

We generally stay in nice hotels and risked this hostel based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

Although there are a lot if German and UK tourists, there are as well many Spaniards so did not feel like little Germany or the UK.

We would come back & we live in Olympia, WA which is not around the corner!! The 3rd floor hike was good for our old tapas-filled bodies!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently returned from a 2 night stay in this wonderful hostal on a pedestrian-only street in the heart of the old town of Denia. We had arrived hot and bothered off a chaotic ferry journey from Ibiza with our dog who was meeting an animal transport company to travel on to the UK. Within minutes of arriving we had been made to feel very welcome, this feeling continued throughout our stay. The building is very old but has been lovingly restored and retains lots of character and charm. Our room was large, spotlessly clean with a huge comfortable bed, an en-suite shower room, it had air-con but we found the room to be cool enough using only the ceiling fan, our room overlooked the beautiful central courtyard so was very quiet at night. On our first night out in town we discovered the very vibrant street of Marques de Campo, it was "buzzing" but in a relaxed manner with mainly locals enjoying food and drink en-familia. We enjoyed a simple but ample breakfast, which was included in the price of our room, in the courtyard the next morning before setting off to explore the old town. We had never visited Denia before, using it only as a port to arrive/depart from but this short visit has made us eager to return to discover more. I booked direct with the hotel rather than with an agent and will certainly be returning there again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie-Ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Dénia is a splendid town which provided a much needed respite from the high prices and hustle and bustle of the larger coastal cities. We loved our stay at hostal Loreto! It was clean and comfortable and the staff were terrific (specifically Mila and Douglas). They were always ready to help with an answer or suggestion. Their knowledge of the area is extensive and the advice they give on "great" beaches must be listened to. We drove a short distance out of Dénia proper and landed our party of four on a very beautiful and secluded beach. The views of the cliffs were stunning, however, bring water shoes! Dénia, and specifically hostal loreto are lovely and worth the trip. You cannot beat hostal loreto for price service and aesthetics.

Room Tip: Pick a west or north facing room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph Herbert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This central hostal is on one of the best culinary streets in Denia. It is a pedestrianised area and there are numerous bars and restaurants spilling out onto the street, ranging from the dirt cheap to the slightly more expensive. The hotel has a restaurant attached and it is great to sit out and watch the world go by with some form of drink, depending on time of day,
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, with a very friendly staff. It is so polyglot as to be ridiculous, being run by a Dutch/Scots couple. At any one time you can hear Dutch, Spanish, French, German, English (and Scots) and any other language that feels like staying. The proprietors are very friendly and approachable and bend over backwards to help you. The rooms are comfortable and the airconditioning is efficient, vital in Summer!.
Denia itself has a great beach and if you hire a car there are some interesting places to visit. Be sure to go to Guadalest

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise then a room not facing the street might be sensible
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had originally booked 2 nights as we weren't sure whether the hostel would be what it appeared to online, but after only our first night, we booked 2 extra nights.

We were very pleased with the location, in was central, close to any amenities, the beach and hot spots and above all, we were on one of the greatest restaurants streets of Denia, where all the Spanish people go to eat, and not just tourists. It was excellent food everytime! The hosts were extremely helpful, and since we had no real plans for our stay, they quickly gave us some great ideas and cheapest options. Breakfast was included every morning and even though we were on a busy street, the noise was always a minimum by midnight, which was great since our window was directly above the street.

The rooms were clean, secure and unlike alot of places we stayed before, there was wooden doors on the windows to prevent sunlight, which is what disturbed our sleep in all the other places we stayed. They truly thought of everything, good wifi, a safe lock and rooms were cleaned daily. It was a true hotel service at the price of a hostel. They even have a quaint little library where we chose some books to bring along to the beach one day and read.

Would recommend this place indefinitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A central location, top quality rooms (our had a huge en suite) and friendly staff made our stay in Denia a real surprise. We only stayed one night because we hadn't done much research on the port town of Denia and had just got off the boat from Ibiza. What a surprise this place was! The hostel (it really should be called a hotel!) was set in a lovely traditional building with an interior courtyard and restaurant. The owner greeted us with a whole host of Denia info and suggested nice places to eat and drink. We ended up in his own restaurant because of the deal he had on (travelling on a budget). The meal in the restaurant was nice but it was the room which we were really surprised by.
Definitely worth a stay and on your doorstep is a whole street of tapas restaurants and bars. If we had stayed longer I'm sure we would've explored.
We'll definitely go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midge123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denia hotels
0.5 mi away
Daniya Denia
Daniya Denia
#25 of 34 in Denia
451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Denia
Port Denia
#9 of 34 in Denia
716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#12 of 34 in Denia
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adsubia Hotel
Adsubia Hotel
#15 of 34 in Denia
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Blanca
Hotel Costa Blanca
#21 of 34 in Denia
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Loreto

Address: Calle Loreto, 03700 Denia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Denia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denia
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Loreto 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hostal Loreto is a comfortable, family run hotel with 43 bedrooms and a lively café/restaurant. The building is a former nunnery dating from the sixteenth century. It is located in a pedestrian area in the medieval centre of the town close to many shops and restaurants and overlooked by a Moorish castle. All of the recently refurbished rooms have air-conditioning, televisions, safes and private bathrooms. The beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Loreto Denia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing