We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Loreto

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostal Loreto
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Could not fault this hostel, we had our second visit last week and it was superb, we went for an inward facing room and it was a delight, really comfortable and nice and quiet. The staff and owners are fantastic, very helpful and welcoming. If you do visit don't forget to go to the restaurant attached, it is without doubt one of the finest and best value restaurants in the world, the food is truly amazing, the chief Phil is outstanding and the girls that work there are delightful.

Room Tip: recommend an inward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeldalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    50
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
92
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My sister and I stayed here last week and, on the whole, had a really good stay.
We've never stayed in a hostal before but have visited many of the hotels in Denial. Loreto is possibly in the best location of all - in a very Spanish area, set amongst lots of great little tapas bars and restaurants.
The building is really lovely and very Spanish. The staff and owners are great. They provided lots of useful information before we arrived and during our stay. The floors were sparkling throughout and our room was lovely and clean. The basin and the small bath were spotless. The only downside, and this was a big issue for us, was the rest of the bathroom. The toilet bowl was black below the waterline and the shower head, curtain, tiles and grouting were mouldy. We sprayed the area with disinfectant and managed to get the toilet clean but couldn't face using the shower.
Compare this with the toilets in the restaurant. They were gleaming and fragrant which was very reassuring because we used the restaurant an awful lot during our stay. The waitresses are lovely and the food is great and very reasonably priced. It was one of the few busy restaurants in Denia which, like most of Spain, has been hit heavily by recession, so that says a lot for the Loreto!
If not for the bathroom, in our opinion, this is the best place to stay in Denia - and the cheapest!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just stayed at this Little Gem - clean, comfortable and great value for money will be going again as soon as we can. Can recomend this for a central location in the heart of the best places to eat and enjoy Denia. What a find!

Room Tip: if you want quite choose a room at the rear, but if you dont mind a little bit of noise till about 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having been staying in the outskirts of Denia on many occasions for over 20 years, it was a real change to stay at the excellent hostal Loretto right in the middle of the town with everything in walking distance. It's standard is far better than the 1 star, shown and our room on the front, was comfortable,well furnished, spotlessly clean, and with every facility needed. although a little noisy from the hustle and bustle of the busy street below. We were offered a much quiter alternative room but opted for the atmosphere of the front. Douglas and all his staff were welcoming, helpful, and attentive to our needs. making it a really pleasant and thoroughly enjoyable stay. There are a good selection of restaurants close by and the restaurant attached to the hotel, provides a nice atmosphere and good quality food. Parking in the area is difficult but having parked,we left the car and walked, enjoying the narrow streets and the atmosphere of the town centre. We will return.

Room Tip: Front rooms are a little noisy but many alternative quieter rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilkysuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hostal Loreto is a fabulous place to stay if you want to experience a proper Spanish holiday, do not be put off by the 1 star rating. We cannot recommend it highly enough, it has everything you need, is spotlessly clean and the owners Douglas and Matty were happy to help with any problem or query you may have.
We were half board and the food in the restaurant was fabulous, proper Spanish dishes made in house to traditional recipes.
If your looking for chips, burgers and beer go to Benidorm, if you want to holiday were the Spanish holiday then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank proand67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Alcudia de Crespine Valencia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hostal lovely- Rooms clean, fresh and very comfy
Breakfast a bit basic but adequate- very good restaurant attached to hostal
Good Area for shops, beach other restaurants.
Only real drawback for me No Lift - stairs not good for my mobility but we managed
Car Park nightmare to get to & quite expensive at 10 euros per night
We will go back as had a lovely time.
Hosts very nice

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

At the spur of the minute we hooked 3 nights here to recover from out month long road trip and on our way to Andulucia. We had a 3rd floor room facing the quant and lively street if Loreto.

It's a great "chill" town. We had planned all types of side trips but instead mostly hung around the town. Not a lot to do which is perfect for the road weary.

We generally stay in nice hotels and risked this hostel based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

Although there are a lot if German and UK tourists, there are as well many Spaniards so did not feel like little Germany or the UK.

We would come back & we live in Olympia, WA which is not around the corner!! The 3rd floor hike was good for our old tapas-filled bodies!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denia hotels
0.0 mi away
Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Raset
Hotel El Raset
#6 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Les Rotes Hotel
Les Rotes Hotel
#2 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palau Verd Hotel
Palau Verd Hotel
#5 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Mar
La Posada del Mar
#3 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nou Roma
Hotel Nou Roma
#4 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Loreto

Property: Hostal Loreto
Address: Calle Loreto, 03700 Denia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Denia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Loreto 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hostal Loreto is a comfortable, family run hotel with 43 bedrooms and a lively café/restaurant. The building is a former nunnery dating from the sixteenth century. It is located in a pedestrian area in the medieval centre of the town close to many shops and restaurants and overlooked by a Moorish castle. All of the recently refurbished rooms have air-conditioning, televisions, safes and private bathrooms. The beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Loreto Denia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing