We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect!”
Review of Ona Ogisaka Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Denia
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at the Ogisaka in October for 6 days. This was not what the 5 of us expected. I would not stay here again. The rooms need updating, the beds were awful and the pool wasn't kept clean. We had issues with the Televisions in both rooms and when addressed with the staff they were unable to fix it for several days. The grounds themselves were not well kept.They also tried to sell different meal plans for our stay when we checked in. They were worse than a car dealership. Although the staff was very nice they were not very knowledgeable of any activities in the area. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnietink23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to express my apologies if your stay was not as expected. The whole Ona Ogisaka Garden team strives daily to provide the best service and to provide maximum satisfaction to our customers.

We welcome suggestions and comments, thanks to them we can detect our weaknesses and at the same time, make improvements to our service.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

i stayed at the Ogisaka in May for a 4 night break with my sister. We found the apartment to be very good, the kitchen was well-equipped and my sister who is a keen cook was thrilled, we cooked in most nights. The welcome basket on arrival was a nice touch. They seemed to have been recently refurbished as everything was spotlessly clean and modern with a large balcony. There was one night when the people next door were making a noise until about 4 in the morning, it sounded like they were moving furniture, but it was Saturday night after all.
The pool area is nice with enough beds while we were there.
The reception staff did not seem very knowledgeable, we asked if there was a bus and she said no, later we found the bus stop about 2 minutes walk away. We also aksed the opening times of the castle, they seemed oblivious.
The reception manager was, however, very helpful, we had a late flight and he arranged for us to stay in our room until 5.30pm with no extra charge, which I have not experienced before.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the bar for free entertainment from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Ogisaka Garden even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Ignacioa Luna Borras- who managed the front desk- was extremely helpful to make sure we had everything we needed in our rooms and was helpful dealing with lost luggage and other issues. The suites have the basics to fix simple meals or snacks and the garden and pool is very attractive. There are activities on site and many things to do nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmkpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We booked 2 nights in a one bedroomed apartment just to go somewhere with a pool after visiting friends To be honest after reading the reviews I wasn't expecting much but for £40 a night you can't expect the Ritz and just hoped it was clean.
The apartment was great, air conditioed, clean, neutral decor with all that you needed for self catering. Fridge, 2 ring hob, combination microwave oven and a washing machine. there was tea, coffee, milk juice butter and jam! And a kitchen welcome kit with washing up liquid etc. there was a great shower and toiletries in the bathroom.
The sofa converted to 2 full sized comfortable beds for the kids and the double bed in the bedroom very comfortable. The tv was all Spanish but we were in Spain after all and there were no instructions for anything which was slightly frustrating. however I'm sure a member of staff would've helped if we needed it as all were very friendly although only about half spoke English. But again were were in SPAIN! and if you just try a 'si, por favor' and 'gracias' every now again people will apreciate it.
The pool was large and clean with 2 childrens areas although the area for loungers a little cramped and the grounds could've been more manicured.
We opted for a meal suplement one day which gave one buffet meal in the restaurant, breakfast and free entry to the spa and 50% off treatments. This was 40 Euro for a family of 4 and reasonable value although the food isn't great. Breakfast was fine but the evening meal just filled a hole. It rained one day and so we saved the 2 euro each entry to the indoor pool but you do need swimming caps which they sell at 2 euros each. At least they didn't try to rip you off and the drinks were ok prices at the bar.
It's a short walk to the beach and marina with lots of restaurants and there's a small supermarket round the corner, loads of free parking out the front. There was a small amount of building work going on which didn't affect us.
Overall we thought the place was great for the money- and we usually wouldn't stay anywhere less than 4 stars. Avoid the food unless you're arriving late and can't be bothered to go elsewhere, otherwise wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparksfamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Ona Ogisaka Garden team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Firstly the service and attitude of all but one member of staff, was awful, they really just could'nt care less. It was as though it was our fault for a) choosing to go there out of season, and b) whilst renovations to the resort were happening. Incidently we were not aware nor told that building work was going on, even though we had booked in October 2010.
The apartment was very nice (one of the new ones) very comfortable, very clean, fortunately away from the building work, but our sleep was often disturbed by local resident's dogs barking through the night. It would seem that a lot of dogs are left out at night in the area, and if they bark nobody is bothered.
The resort is located in a residential area set back from the beach about a 5 minute walk. A park with a childrens' play area is opposite, but the grass is full of dog dirt, and graffiti, covers buildings everywhere. Even in some of the prettiest beach places graffiti is prevelant.
We found that the port area was our favourite place, (it's all new and very smart with lovely restaurants) also we ate in a little restaurant called the Arena, very good value owned by Dutch people. A little bar we found quite near to our resort was 'Sum Sums' very nice people and good for a snack lunch. Would'nt advise eating in Ogisaka!
The town of Denia about a 15 minute walk from Ogisaka Garden is not very inspiring, mainly just one long street of shops and cafe's, behind which are lots of flats and supermarkets.
There is an outside market on Mondays which is quite fun.
We would'nt go there again, and what is worst is that we are investors in Medhotels, and we feel we were hoodwinked into spending two weeks of our precious holiday time, plus the expense of fights, and car hire.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your experience in regard to your stay in Ona Ogisaka Garden, which I have noted with regret has not been to your complete liking.
Making our customers satisfied is our main objective; therefore, day after day the whole team strives to offer our customers a better service than that perhaps expected.
We look forward to welcoming you to Ona Ogisaka Garden in the near future in order to show you our daily progress.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This review is purely about the Ogisaka Resort and does not reflect in any way to Denia which is a great town / resort.

I am aware and accept as Marriott owners that not all of the resorts offered via Interval International exchange are to the same standard, in fact most fall below that of Marriott.

In the case of the Onagrup Ogisaka Resort, this is one resort that falls short of anything we have stayed at for a number of years, probably since we stopped going on package holidays.

We arrived a day later than booked, called the resort to inform them of this and they thanked us for letting them know.

We arrived around 4pm on Sunday 2nd January 2011 and were welcomed by a guy on reception. Reception is modern if not a little tired and the guy who greeted us was friendly and spoke very good English although we did and are able to speak in Spanish.

We were assigned apartment 127 in block 1 which I must say is of poor quality. On walking around to the block, there was a pile of rubbish by the gate, granted this was outside the resort, however still not what you would expect on arrival, especially when you cannot walk through the resort at present. As we approached the entrance, a lot of the plaster on the walls around the 1st floor has come off. I entered the lift as we are on the 2nd floor only to find it was not working and had to carry a heavy suitcase up 2 flights of stairs.

As we opened the tired front door to the apartment the smell of damp / mould hit us. On entering the apartment, it has to be one of the smallest we have ever encountered / stayed in. We opened the curtains to the patio and the doors were very smeared. The furniture is well worn and has a very tired / old appearance. There was no kettle and we asked twice both in English and Spanish and on day 3, still no kettle. The shower tray overflowed, granted this was sorted. There was mould on the ceiling in the bathroom due to what would be a leak from the apartment above and the source of the mouldy smell.

At night, it is very difficult to sleep as these apartments are not very well soundproofed and you can hear everything. Granted, there were some very noisy guests on either side and above us, on the 1st night we were woken around 1am by people moving furniture above us.

Due the poor quality of the Ogisaka Resort, we decided to stay only 3 nights and moved to a higher standard resort on Wednesday 5th January. We would have moved sooner, however due to the holidays we were unable to book anything suitable until then.

It has to be said that if this were the 1st time we had used the exchange services of Interval International we would have been extremely disappointed and very upset. We know how good it can be, but this place is really a resort Interval should not be representing or anybody not wanting a package tour accommodation.

Denia is lovely and the neighbourhood the resort is in is very nice and we wouldn’t want to put anyone off coming to Denia, just don’t stay at the Ogisaka Resort!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Ogisaka Garden.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

After reading some other reviews we expected the worst.However the check in staff were fine and the waiter in the restaurant very helpful when we negotiated the lunch buffet with our fairly limited Spanish.
Our apartment was basic but very clean with good quality bed linen and towels.However the sofa bed had seen better days, it was uncomfortable to sit on so I dread to think what trying to sleep in it would be like!! Our metal framed beds were maybe on the hard side for some but ok for us.
The plumbing worked,the water was always piping hot and the giant shower head was great.
And, after all the weather was perfect and everything seems better when the sun shines!!
I would recommend to a friend but only after warning them not to expect all the comforts of home!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronniepEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Ogisaka Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Ogisaka Garden even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denia hotels
0.2 mi away
Port Denia
Port Denia
#8 of 34 in Denia
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Daniya Denia
Daniya Denia
#25 of 34 in Denia
465 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Posada del Mar
La Posada del Mar
#2 of 34 in Denia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Les Rotes Hotel
Les Rotes Hotel
#3 of 34 in Denia
369 reviews
3.5 mi away
Los Angeles Hotel
Los Angeles Hotel
#5 of 34 in Denia
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Ogisaka Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Ogisaka Garden

Address: Calle Aquari 3, 03700 Denia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Denia
Price Range: £37 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Ogisaka Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Ogisaka Garden Club Denia Alicante close to the Montgo Nature Reserve and only 200m away from the Marineta Beach (awarded Blue Flag status for safety and cleanliness), lies one of Denia's most charming holiday villages, Ona Ogisaka Garden. A residential complex which boasts a very beautiful landscaped garden, magnificent swimming pool, cafeteria service, restaurant, bar, private sport facilities with an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and guided activities. The apartments, recently refurnished, consist of one double bedroom, dining room, complete bathroom, American style kitchen and a balcony or terrace. All of them equipped with 2 flat TVs, Air Conditioning and all you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ona Ogisaka Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogisaka Garden Denia
Ogisaka Garden Hotel Denia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing