We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ambience, some glitches still need to be worked out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Denia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambience, some glitches still need to be worked out”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in room 206, which was a superior room with a King size overlooking a beautiful ivy-covered courtyard. Although, the two windows (with shutters) were very small and on the roof level. The strongest feature of the hotel is the ambience – very artsy with owner's art everywhere. At the arrival don't let the stuffy lobby fool you, all rooms are individually air-conditioned. Interior of the room was well appointed with antique furniture. There was a safe in the closet, but you’d need to get a key from the front desk. The floors were tiled in the living room. Bathroom did not have a standing shower or a hairdryer.

We were a bit taken aback at the check-in when we were offered a standard room having paid for a superior one, but it was quickly resolved. Upon the check-out, some guests did have an issue having been charged twice for the stay and it looked like only a shouting match that helped resolve the issue.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the hotel consists of a couple of older buildings with lots of stairs and no elevators.

Breakfast was very limited: OJ, coffee, croissant and toast with jelly. But it did take place in the courtyard, although smokers could make that small space quite intolerable. The hotel does offer free wi-fi, but we did not try it

The hotel is located in a pedestrian area with no direct vehicular access, paid indoor parking is available a block over and taxis will also drop you off around a corner. The castle and cathedral are right around the corner.

Room Tip: Go for the first (not ground) floor to avoid too many steps, plus, you'll get higher ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-Taimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    69
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
104
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have had the good fortune of staying at the beautiful Hotel Chamarel twice - 2012 and 2010. Both times were wonderful stays. The Hotel is charming and well situated - close to all Denia has to offer and walking distance to beautiful beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Staff and Owners and kind and helpful - the rooms have all been decorated by the Owners so each room is different and the art, some of it painted by the owner, is beautiful. I especially appreciated all of the tile - unique and so beautiful. What I love most about this hotel is the food. I am not a vegetarian and yet would gladly become one if I had the luck to live at this beautiful home. The Owner's cooking is some of the best I have ever eaten and the simple and healthy meals are both nutritional and absolutely delicious. This Hotel used to be a Convent and has been beautifully converted. It is interesting and has lovely little places to hide and read or just relax. The area is very safe as well. I ran along the Ocean many mornings leaving the hotel at dawn and always felt safe.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a room facing the street which was spacious and beautiful but can be noisy - especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Having spent a great deal of time in Denia, but staying in villas, it was a pleasant change to stay in a hotel. We had always fancied the Hotel Chamarel so was delighted to be able to book their junior suite and it was everything we could have hoped for. Furnishing were very good and a very large bathroom, just need to be aware that it is a sunken bath so no good if you struggle to get in and out of baths. The garden is delightful and lovely to sit out and read. Best of wall was their gin and tonic, they certainly know how to make a good one. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous561951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Well located this hotel is on one of the small streets of Denia's old town. Easy walking distance to the castle, restaurants, shops and cafes. It is like stepping back in time as you enter the hotel. Peaceful, calm and atmospheric. Our room overlooked the tiled roof of the courtyard to the back of the hotel. It was spacious, quiet, clean, with a large en-suite bathroom. Good simple continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is like stepping into another world and time. It has spacious rooms, all of which have individual charm and décor. Original features and antique furnishings are blended with modern art to offer beautiful surroundings. The cleanliness is a very high standard. Clean towels every day. Very good continental breakfast, bread rolls, croissants, cheese and ham. Yoghurts and fresh fruit and juices. Coffee is delicious. Mile and David are a really lovely couple and it is obvious they love the house and want people to enjoy their stay. We will definitely return to this hotel. Would recommend for relaxation peace and quiet. We had a room overlooking the street, and found it to be quiet. Good parking facilities.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to sound take a room overlooking courtyard and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A couple of nights peacefully unwound at this traditional Spanish Hotel. The Chamarel does everything it says on the box, helpful staff and interesting art work.
Not too easy to find, but once found the local bars and restaurants are within walking distance.Traditional Continental breakfast served indoors and outdoors, romantic hotel, set
amongst the tight back strets of Denia.

Room Tip: 12 euros per night to park in secure car park, choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towercourt1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very cool hotel, with good size rooms and stylishly furnished with nice art on the walls and fresh sofa area in the room. VERY very noisy, almost impossible to sleep longer than 7 am, when the noise starts (preparing the breakfast area). Other than that (...) a good hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lene0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Raset
Hotel El Raset
#7 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Les Rotes Hotel
Les Rotes Hotel
#2 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palau Verd Hotel
Palau Verd Hotel
#4 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#11 of 33 in Denia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Denia
Port Denia
#8 of 33 in Denia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nou Roma
Hotel Nou Roma
#5 of 33 in Denia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel

Property: Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel
Address: Calle Cavallers 13, 03700 Denia, Spain (Formerly Hotel Chamarel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Denia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up in a room reminiscent of our Art Boutique Hotel in Spain, in an atmosphere of the nineteenth century, with Denia Spain Beach Hotel Hotel Chamarelaromas and sounds of the past, tall windows, exposed beams, tiled floors, eat a healthy breakfast in a courtyard with fountain dream on the historic center of Dénia, staffed by friendly people willing to enjoy your stay, surrounded by art, beauty and the Mediterranean sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Boutique Hotel Chamarel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamarel Hotel Denia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing