We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer stay 2013 in Sovi Dom”
Review of Sovi Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sovi Dom
Ranked #1 of 2 Svaty Anton B&B and Inns
Dubnica nad Vahom, Slovakia
1 review
“Summer stay 2013 in Sovi Dom”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Looking for a quiet, romantic and lovely place to stay during your holidays or off-days? Wishing to make an excellent "tour du monde" in gastronomie and enjoy a glass of wine at a terrace? Then be ready to go to Sovi Dom, perfect place, hidden in a small village called Svaty Anton, close to Banska Stiavnica in central Slovakia. We spent two nice weeks there with our children and do not regret it at all. Warm and kind welcome of Malgorzata and Bartek which lasted our whole stay, their fine kitchen (bravo for their first Tarte Tatin :-) prepared just for me) and a park just in front of the house. Many thanks to both of them for their patience with our children and their attitude towards their guests (not the clients!!), a fact which is sometime so hard to find in Slovakia however I love this country and people.
Tom + Martina with family

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mata L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Svaty Anton, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Slovak for "Owl House", Sovi Dom is a small pension located on the grounds of a grand, French-style chateau in the small village of Svaty Anton, Slovakia. As frequent visitors to the area, we watched this building restored into the lovely house it is today and we like to visit Bartek and Margaret often. There is no better cuisine served than in Margaret's kitchen, and Bartek sees to it that she has the freshest herbs and vegetables from their own garden. Sovi Dom is a perfect base to explore the surrounding Stiavnica mountains the historical, Baroque hill town of Banska Stiavnica. When you're exhausted from a day out, Margaret and Bartek will be sure you are well fed, and well taken care of.

Room Tip: We've seen all the rooms and they are all, quite simply, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEllen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in Sovidom for 3 nights, and we enjoyed it very much. The house is located in a very beautiful part of Slovakia, with stunning nature and near a beautiful town (Banska Stiavnica). The room is large and comfortable, the beds are good.
The hosts, Bartek and Margaret, are doing everything to make your stay with them a pleasant experience. The breakfast is outstanding, with a specialty every morning, like pancakes, herring, scrambled eggs or sausages.
We can highly recommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk3882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Perfect place. Amazing hospitality and delicious food. Bartek and Gosha are really nice people, who understand whats good for you. Beautiful big garden begin 20m in front of House. Perfect place for to relax and party too. I can just recommend it - hight standard...

..h21

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrich_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great romantic getaway. Beautiful furnished rooms with private bathrooms. Amazing hosts and excellent cuisine. Surroundings and Banska Stiavnica great trip on bike use or on foot. Wonderful nature and historical town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zelekovac
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Our visit to Svaty Anton was really an beautiful experience! The nature is extraordinary en divers. We stayed with Bartek and Mararet. They are excellent hosts and we meet them trough couch surfing. There hospitality was great and we loved staying with them and we had e great time together. Our stay was in the beginning of november. They remember the one who have past and all of the grave yards are full of flowers and candles. Margaret and Bartek told us that troughout the whole year, this place is good to visit. You can go here for summer holiday, autumn break, romantic christmas holiday and spring time when the nature florish to colourfull flora and fauna. Whe have been spoiled with great food witch was cooked with love by Margaret, There appartment is build in classical style and has got amazing stone heater, in witch you can build a fire. Then after you burn the wood the heater stayes warm for the whole day! Bartek makes these stoves himselfs. Really beautiful build. We loved staying with them and would love to come back to this beautiful place some day! We would recommend this place for a great holiday! Thank you again for everything, Margaret and Bartek, we still think about our time together and we hope we'll meet again!

Lots of love,

Koen en Iris

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Iris2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lublin, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

What's the recipe for a good holiday spot? Find a place where people value good life and they want their guests to participate in their daily paradise. Gosia and Bartek appreciate genuine architecture, tasteful decoration and beautiful objects; they love good food, comfort, nature and meeting interesting people. And they invested all these passions in their house and the services that they provide. I have visited Gosia and Bartek three times already and each time I am amazed with the beauty of their house, its impeccable interiors, perfect location and historical surroundings. Every meal prepared by Gosia is a feast, and the hosts are wonderful interlocutors with a great sense of humour. Though foreigners themselves (they are Polish), they will introduce you to the world of slovakian culture, customs and sites with a passion of a Slovakophile. I recommend this place wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svaty Anton
3.2 mi away
Pension Kachelman
Pension Kachelman
#1 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
56 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Matej
Hotel Grand Matej
#4 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
61 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Salamander
Hotel Salamander
#2 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Salamandra Resort Hotel
Salamandra Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hodrusa Hamre
66 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gavalier Design Rooms
Gavalier Design Rooms
#6 of 25 in Banska Stiavnica
5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#15 of 25 in Banska Stiavnica
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovi Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovi Dom

Property: Sovi Dom
Address: 15 Svaety Anton 292 | Banska Stiavnica, Svaty Anton, Banska Stiavnica 969 72, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Stiavnica > Svaty Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Svaty Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday apartments for rent in lovingly restored 19th-century house next to castle museum of Svaty Anton, Slovakia. With parkland and forest on its doorstep, Sovi Dom is three miles from UNESCO World Heritage-listed Banska Štiavnica and two hours’ drive from Budapest or Bratislava airports. One room sleeps three people; the other, two people. Both have own bathrooms. Friendly English-speaking hosts can cater food, including local game and other specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sovi Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing