We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel. Do not go there. Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Alara Kum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alara Kum
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Avsallar
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel in August for 3 nights with two kids 11 and 6 years old, had to find another hotel, as it was impossible to stay there. This hotel is old, very dirty, filthy, disgusting, all carpets in stains, in the restaurant almost all plates and cups dirty, food no good, our room was horrible, air conditioner didn't work, bathroom was so bad that you couldn't even get a shower there, very dirty. Staff don't speak English at all, and very rude, unfriendly. It's not a five star hotel, I wouldn't even give a star to this hotel. Beach is sandy but again very dirty. A lot of drunk people in the evening, you have to be very careful, specially when you have kids. This hotel is the one to avoid, it's a real disappointment.

Room Tip: We had standard double room, then changed for family room, both were horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iryna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MURAT M, Genel Müdür at Alara Kum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013
Google Translation

Sayın mısafırımızın olumsuz yorumu ıcın uzgunuz.Ama yazılan bu yorumlara şu nedenlerden öturu katılmadığımızı belırtmek ısterız.Sırasıyla belırtmek gerekırse:
1-mısafırımızın kullandıgı uslup hakaret dolu cumleler ıcermektedır.
2.Yemek saatlerımız 2 saat dılımı uzerıne kuruludur.1.saatte tum mısafırlerımız yemek olayını halletmeye çalıştıkları ıcın.kısmen aksaklıklar olabılmektedır.Buna rağmen ekıpman ve malzeme olarak tedarıklı olsakta bu durumu mısafırımızın anlayısına bırakıyoruz.
3.Yemeklerımız ayın degısık gunlerınde gıda kontrolu yapılmakta olup analız ıcın urunler alınmaktadır.Kanıt olarak bu raporlar gösterılebılır.
4.Tum halılarımız 2012 yılı ve 2013 yılında ıse degıstırılen alanlar tekrar degıstırılmıştır.Fırmanın faturası kanıt olarak gösterılebılır.
5.Plajımız akdenızde adıyla anılan INCEKUM PLAJIDIR.Bu alanların temızlıgı ıle ılgılı sabıt çalışan personelımız mevcuttur.Sınır sahıl komsu alan halk plajı olması nedenı ıle o alanların kırlılıgı görulmustur.O alanların temızlıgı beledıye personellerı tarafınadan yapılmaktadır.Otel olarak ta kanıt olarak yaptıgımız perıyodık temızlık gunlerımız vardır.Resımlerı mevcuttur.
6.Tesısımız 5 yıldız olup belgelıdır.Bu konu ıle yapılan yorum degıl uslup dısı kelımelerdır.Mısafır memnunıyetımız %85 e gelmıs olup.Diğer gelecek mısafırlere de ısık tutması gerekır.
7.Mısafır yoğunlugumuz rus olamsı nedenıyle; anlaşamadığı konular olması da etken olmuş olabılır.
Saygılarımızı sunuyor ıyı gunler temennı edıyoruz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Went to this hotel as a last minute change as our first choice hotel had a food poisoning outbreak!! We were a party of 13 with 6 adults and 7 kids under 11. The rooms were ok although could do with modernising a bit. There was 1 other English couple there otherwise it was all Russian apart from a Swedish couple who insisted on getting bladdered by the pool then dancing to mr boom basic (personal joke). The staff were fine and entertainment staff worked very hard. Pool was fun during the day with music and aerobics etc. food was crap except the soup. There was nowhere to sit even as a family of 4. Very stressful. Drinks were ok and plentiful. Water slides were good. The kids enjoyed them. There's some good shops 200 yards away for the usual bags kits etc. overall it was a nice week with friends. May have struggled with 2 weeks though. Would I go back? Probably not but glad we tried it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyburgess75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just arrived back from a 10 day stay in the Alara Kum - Stayed with my wife and two children aged 11 and 12. Firstly I want to be balanced in this review and also objective; hotels, like organisations, are only a physical entity, its the people in the organisation that matter so I'll start with the people first.

The People: Overall the staff were very good, they were very pleased to speak with English people because this hotel is 99% occupied by Russians. Some (Not all) Russians can be a little bit competitive when it comes to getting served so the Turkish staff find it hard to warm to them. The animation team was made up of 3 guys, Farty, Cassanova and Mario. Mario was good with Children and Farty was good fun organizing Water Polo daily and entertainment in the evening. Cassanova on the other hand was just some tattooed bloke who I think got the job because he was mates with someone. Some of the bar staff were really nice and some were very poor. I felt that one guy was deliberately ignoring me in favour of Russians, something I would normally ignore to avoid confrontation but when I saw the Russians actually capitalizing on it I shouted at all of them, helped by the fact that I had just drank 6 rum and cokes and by being 6ft 4 and 17 stone - the challenge worked a treat.... I always got served quickly after that.

The Hotel: The rooms, try to get a room at the front of the first building facing the beach (the hotel is made up of two buildings). We got one and it was great. Most other rooms are exposed to disco music on one side, or crickets (and they are loud) on the other. The building is quite old so the rooms, especially the bathrooms, are showing there age. But they are kept clean and ours was ok.

The Pools: There are two pools, the larger pool (the one without the slides) is the best. It provides beautiful relief from the hot midday sun and there's a magical Smurf Village next to it for the kids to wonder around and there's lots of food and drink nearby. On the downside the music can get a bit much at times, I dont know why they feel the need to play music so loud in Turkey and you cant escape it sometimes. Even while swimming in the sea the para sailing boats blast out music so you cant swim in peace.

The Food/ Drink: I thought the food was really good - but to avoid a mad rush go an hour after serving begins, because getting a table can be difficult. Dont worry if you miss a meal, throughout the day there's always something to eat, crapes, cheese-bread, burgers, ice cream, and if you like a drink there's an Irish Bar (in name only) that's open 24 hours a day. Also, if you want to eat out there's a couple of bars just a 10 minute walk away which do good food.

Stuff for the Kids: Nothing much - a mini disco for very small kids. And because there's no english people your kids will find it hard to make friends therefore relying more on you for entertainment.

The Beach: The beach immediately in front of the hotel is a public beach so quite a few locals go there on an evening and sadly its not that clean. Dont worry though, just walk 20 meters to the left and the sand is perfect. The beach is also a great sanctuary for some peace and quite in the evening and there's private bar there for locals which is very quite and cheap. i like to lay on sun loungers at night, watching the stars and catching my groove. In order to access the beach you need to walk under an underpass, which is a pleasant walk out of the heat of the sun and with flower beds on each side.

The Sea: Its perfect, cant say no more. But if you like snorkeling have a walk 200 meters to the right, there's some great rocks and lots of fish and you may even sea a turtle. The water can get a little busy but that doesnt matter once you swim out more than 20 metres.

The Location: The Hotel is a bit out of the way so you'll need to get a taxi to the shops. There's a great shopping area 1 km away where you'll get anything you'd get in Alanya.

If you want hot sun, sea, sand, food, lager you'll love it here. If you want a holiday with the kids this hotel is ok but I'd personally go somewhere else. Luckily, we did meet a lovely group of English people from Bury, who'd moved to this hotel last minute because of a food poisoning outbreak in their hotel so our kids all had fun togther, but we really missed them when they left.

We've been to Turkey 6 times now so sadly we wont be going again, we're going to try somewhere new. If you do decide to stay at the Alarakum liek all holidays, you'll spot all the negatives on the forst 2 days days and then you'll relax and have a great time - we did

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

In August we stayed at the Hotel. The Hotel is very Noisy. They play loud music by the swimming pool all day. The music is so loud that it is almost impossible to talk together. The rooms and towels are very dirty and also have broken tiles and the service is very bad. The Hotel was full of Russian tourist. Some of them behaved quite uncivilized. Recepcionist ( i don't even want to start about the servers) didn't know anything English or German.

Lunch was cold dish and salads. Every meal was very much the same.

First of all, if you go to this hotel, pay attention which room/which bulding you will get. The location is also not good (too much away from airport and also about 23 miles from Alanya).

Building stinks of damp!

Place is really messy, rude, dirty!!!

“DISGUSTING !! NEVER EVER AGAIN”

Room Tip: Rooms on the ''Beach'' side are quieter and newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I would like to start by saying that this was our first time in Turkey, as we declared our intention to see the oh so acclaimed Antalya, and Turkey also within, actually to start off as a general impression starting for all 5 star hotels the prices generally go way to up for any other comparable sea view country throughout Europe, prices bigger evan than Greek Islands.

The sun in Turkey is amazing : we enjoyed it everyday but with limits as to starting from 13 p.m. the sun would be unbearable to stay at, temperatures would have gone up to evan 50 degrees, until 4-5 pm, when you could come back to continue the sun tan. No rain whatsoever in Turkey in Antalya through the whole summer, no worries here.

TIPS : that is the general word in Turkey, as to they cannot move a finger for you and except a tip for every little service they do for you, and hide behind that courtin hanging involving reasons as culture and tradition and that it is good to give and share. But wait i am on vacation, not on charity. This goes along from, so funny, bus drivers, in trips at the end of the journey, we were asked if we would have liked that trip and if so if the driving was one of quality we should leave a tip. Quite fantastic, imagine that everywhere. They have box tips everywhere, and impose somekind of superiority amongs others if you didn't pay them extra

So everybody in Turkey acclaims their hospitality, but this i can tell you happens only in the imposed streight tough world of the managament of the hotel, outside of this story people are very harsh as a nation, and also as personal interconnection, everybody still acts very nice when there is a business development involved such as when you stay in the hotel and you are treated kingly and outside when you start paying for any other services or shoppings.

As unpleasant happenings throughout Turkey i can enumerate would be : people from airport management shouting dementially after a some kind of flight number, bus drivers wherever are very angry, shout for nothing at everybody, lack of respect, same also ones from trips, the driving there is madly, speedy and reckless, you might leave your car at home if interested in coming here with your car, also big prices on fuels, 1.65 euro for 1l / diesel.

Wherever you are checked at, visit as most as you can as trips there cand be very enticing and have lots to see and enjoy, well worth the money !

The Hotel wasn't quite five stars, as you may see they're standards are not aligned to the international system of star quatations therefore have a different system in categorising stars, and if so by coming here it is best to aim as high as possible. This Happens throughout Turkey. We were booked immediatly but with harshness as they do not speak Earth Languages at the Reception ! Nobody does ! They gave us a very nice room in the second back building, room with sea view partially, big balcony, biggest room they had, also seen they had smaller rooms, all in all the room was tidy, no bad smells, the furniture needeed some change, but was well kept and the room kept it s classy appearance. Do not book a room in the second building if you don t like the noise coming from a near loud noisy disco, we were ok with it, being young but saw a lot of complaints at the front office in the next days.
But also i could not agree in choosing the best of the 5 star hotels, as prices starting from 800 euros for Turkey seemed out of the question, because for that amounts you may as well go on vacations in Tropical Islands.

The reception, and this here happens everywhere in Turkey, is poor in customer relationships, zero knowledge, no people qualities, there was only one single lady there, very young, who was suppossedly the manager who helped us, but gennerally they could not understand a word we tried to explain them ! so remember, THE RECEPTION DOES NOT SPEAK ENGLISH, they should put a sign, as this is obvious because the hotel has guests, and most of Turkey, from Russia, and some from TurKey, Poland, Germany, The best way to communicate was through language sign, that somehow they can understand. Funny annoying thing was i could depict that they would have made fun of us evan in front of us by communicating in their language and throwing small smiles.

The food had its up's and down's as i cannot say it wasn't the best, it variated daily, there wore a bundle of salads and fresh cooked meats, and especially at nights when they would always start up some different barbecue every night. Hotel has a nice big pool up front of the restaurant, and a little one for the kids in the back, You had from what to choose and in between meals daily at noon there was a snack bar opened. At brunch you can except a great variety of mediteranean salads, and also varied soups accompanied by turkis condiments, very good. They lack somehow in the greatness of turkish delights as i felt sometimes they were missing, but they served baklava and sarailie, they were perfect !

Some aspects that can bug you is the delayment of servitude, as you have to many times wait in big lines as to what service is going very poor, same deal in bars, the hotel has an underpass passage within you can reach the beach, The hotel itself is kind of poor in entartainment as it is most intentioned for small kids rather than everyone else, except some nights we stayed there as they put on a show in the theater.

The beach is very nice, wide, and plenty of things to do there, lots of fun on the water, trips to do, of course you have to pay for the entartainment as wherever you go on other trips, a great place to take long walks on the public beaches as to what there is no limits between hotels, there is an large open area of beach to walk along the sea shore, the water is very clear, clean and also the sand is clean in the water unlike the beaches of other hotels up front where they had big bumpy rocks in which you could have easily get injured. I had great pleasure in going for swims, reading and laying in the sun, the beach in front of the hotel, is part of a big bay with margins formed of big rocks delimiting the wide space of the beach, so a very beautiful gold only and just in our area, so Incekum area is faimous for that beach. Very unpleasent turkish guy from the hotel who managed the hotels umbrellas and sun beds, would always walk over there mumbling, and moving stuff.

The all so good of Turkey eccept the hotels services and beaches is to go on trips, enjoy as much as possible, the most memorable one was Alanya Tour, when we visited a lot of sites, a trip to the sea, which takes place throughout the whole day, but it s the visiting trips that make the delight of that vacation, at noon we embarked on a wonderfull, the most luxurious boat in port of Alanya, we visited some caves and had a party on the boat and made lots of stops to swim in the larger waters. Alanya is very beautiful almost same beautiful as Lindos from Rhodos, place which we ve visited.

All in all is the small details tha tackle you in Turkey, and i could not say that i was impressed by the friendliness of the people, as most of the places throughout distances are very primitive, people are dressed badly, women are doing all the chores through the day, man very lazy, the main first activity of the country being the agriculture and not tourism, so anywhere you can see badly views of dusty fields, banana fields, corn fields, old houses, and minarets, temples where they go 5 times a day to pray, doing all those rituals is kind of hard of keeping up any work. Keep a safe way amongst you, and be careful at your security during night walks, and at any time of your belongings, and for girls dress aproppriately as turkish, they tend to whistle and tackle you with jokes about looks

You can be very badly impressed with the fact that you meet here : lovely luxurious hotels, and right next to them, over the fence an ungly view, ponds, dusty fields, and high, 3rd world country poverty. As i said earliar would not recommend Turkey in generally, not beause of some standards, but beacause i would like to visit the most i can the other corner's of the world.

Room Tip: First building is lots more quieter than the other with disco noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Skazy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zeynal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank cem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avsallar
2.3 mi away
Aska Just In Beach
Aska Just In Beach
#9 of 26 in Avsallar
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasos Club
Pegasos Club
#5 of 26 in Avsallar
311 reviews
2.5 mi away
My Home Resort Hotel
My Home Resort Hotel
#11 of 26 in Avsallar
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alara Star Hotel
Alara Star Hotel
#203 of 374 in Alanya
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alara Park & Residence Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sun Maritim
Sun Maritim
#15 of 26 in Avsallar
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alara Kum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alara Kum

Address: Incekum Cad. No: 58, Avsallar, Alanya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya > Avsallar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Avsallar
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Avsallar
Price Range: £115 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alara Kum 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alara Kum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alara Kum Hotel Avsallar
Alara Kum Turkey/Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing