We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reggae rules!!!”
Review of Calypso Bar

Calypso Bar
Ranked #57 of 84 Restaurants in Hisaronu
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reggae rules!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

A great night out. Bert always provides a great mix of West Indian calypso and reggae. With a few bottles of Efes a great evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotty1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely place, lovely people ..... and Bert the Reggae Ambassador! Well worth a visit ..... no matter how old you are!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteMather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Chill out bar”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We liked this bar as it played good music but was very chilled. The cocktails were really nice and the staff very friendly. We all love some reggae music in our lives!! Would recommend going.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We ate here twice at the end of our holiday and like
Y would have again had we found it earlier. The food is divine! I personally had the Vegetarian casserole and the Jerk chicken both of which were plentiful and packed with flavour! There is no children's menu, but they do half portions from the main menu and also a snack menu for things like chips and beans etc, this suited my kids just fine as they were sick of the reoccurring "_______" & chips on offer everywhere else!
The couple who own it were friendly and helpful, the man sings live every night and it's worth staying to watch if you want a relaxed chilled out evening listening to songs from UB40 & Bob Marley , the place filled up right before he was due to start singing - very reasonably priced, table decoration was also lovely. Located right at the bottom of the strip near the road blocks and taxis.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tshukuduky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

ate here 4 times in ten days, the food was lovely, nothing to much trouble for any of the staff, great live music, we will be returning again, thank you guy you helped make our holiday

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robnrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Bar also viewed

Hisaronu, Mugla Province
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 

Been to Calypso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing