We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Night”
Review of Calypso Bar

Calypso Bar
Ranked #59 of 85 Restaurants in Hisaronu
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Night”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went for drinks on a night. Excellent singer, fantastic music selection, lovely atmosphere and a good chill out for a nice relaxing night!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reggae all the way”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Possibly the only bar in Hisaronu where reggae fans can be treated to all night live music, courtesy of the bar owner Bertram Biddy.

Bertram will serenade you with song and with guitar to all manner of tunes from familiar Marley and UB40 hits to some more obscure sounds. The atmosphere is relaxed and not too loud. Bar service is pretty good and it is placed in and area where there isn't too much competing music getting in the way of your audio pleasure.

Occasionally there is food at the bar but mostly it is a sit back, relax, have a drink and mellow out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShanePWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“only had drinks”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went to this bar most days for a cold beer I never ate there but the food that I saw being served looked great but even though I just went for drinks the service was superb and the glasses and beer was ice cold and as soon as they saw your drink empty or glass thawing out they were over to u with another drink or frozen glass excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrewg10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a bar with basic food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

They should do a bar more than a restaurant i think. Basic food with cheesy staff. Not impressed. There are far better places around.

Helpful?
1 Thank Blueskyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two pieces of meat in a curry!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dont go here if your hungry, if this was a caribbean restaurant in the UK it wouldnt last two minutes with such ridiculously small meals and hardly any meat, i ordered curry goat, that had two small lumps of meat in it, portion control is so tight you leave hungry, there are far better restaurants in hisaronu and ovacik, one being Angora opposite taxi rank coming out of hisaronu towards ovacik. I think Burt relies on white people who dont have much idea what caribbean food is all about for his trade.Rip off dont both peeps.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bert77_12, Owner at Calypso Bar, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
First of all I must say thank you to all the lovely people that we've met along the way and all the great reviews that we've had so far.I must say that its not easy being different in a place where every one follows the trend.
Am using this opportunity as a way of showing my appreciation,not as a direct response to the review in question.
I want to make it quite clear that we are not and never claimed to be a Caribbean Restaurant.
We opened as a live music Bar,but have been asked to do something with a Caribbean flavor,so we did.We now have a normal simple menu but still different from everyone else.
I respond to this with a smile because i know you can't please everyone.As for two pieces of meat in the curry,seriously!!!!!! I've decided to write a song.By the way he said it wasn't enough so we had the chef make him another portion.At least he didn't say the food was bad .Thank you for that sir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Bar also viewed

Hisaronu, Mugla Province
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 

Been to Calypso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing