We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Celay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gurol Aqua Resort Hotel & Apart(Hisaronu)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Telmessos Hotel(Hisaronu)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suzanne Hotel(Hisaronu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Babadag(Hisaronu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
730
155
42
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
155
42
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomhalf boardolu denizair conturkeynext yearlovely hotelstandard rooms arebar snackshis wifehotel ownersa la carte menuper daytwo weeksgreat holidaybar stafffull english
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

thıs has to be the best place for a holıdayç The staff are the frıendlıest we have ever come across * they fall over themselves (albeıt at a slow pace) to make your stay a very memorable experıence. We met some really good frıends here and also John and Chrıs (ha ha). 88 have had the best tıme ever and cannot waıt to return - a bıg thank you to the bıg bear Uğur for hıs bıg smıley face and the most excıtıng game of bıngo ever! Take care all of you untıl we meet agaın - Julıe and Elaıne (from up North).x

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parklane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I travelled to Celay on a two week holiday with my teenage daughter. From day one the owners and staff made us feel very welcome due to the warm family atmosphere and ambiance. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff are as helpful at 7am as they are at 2.30am. We were assisted in arranging all our trips and the hotel organises transport to private beaches, which takes you from doorstep to beach and vice versa. T

The relaxed atmosphere was assisted by the very few rules and regulations. The only thing we were politely requested not to do was bring food to the rooms which encourages ants. As the rooms and hotel are absolutely spotless, we quite understood this. We met many people during our stay who have come back to stay at Celay year after year. The hotel seems to attract a variety of guests; those who wish to relax by the pool and those who wish to experience everything on offer in the area. Due to the efforts of the owners to create a conducive atmosphere, we found everyone very friendly and made some excellent acquaintances. On the nights we did stay in the bar, we could choose to pay for drinks individually or settle our bill at the end of the night and these were accurately maintained.

The food is very reasonably priced and varied; catering for those wishing to have genuine Turkish experiences and those requiring traditional British food. The breakfast option is traditionally Turkish, with fresh bread, cheese and fruits. You can cheaply opt for a "full English" breakfast. The whole hotel is immaculate; including the pool. Although the hotel appeared full, we never had to struggle for a sun lounger as there are more supplied than necessary. For the couple of days we opted to stay by the pool, we didn't have to get up early to "claim" a space.

The situation is breathtaking and the owners have constructed the hotel so that it fits in beautifully with the surroundings. Although situated in the foothills of the mountains; the town is a ten minute walk away where you can catch the frequent dolmus to the beaches. This means you are not in the heart of the tourist area, which makes it a little quieter. The hotel puts on plenty of entertainment if you don't want to walk down to town. However, if you do go into one of the local towns, the dolmus brings you back to a nearby street and you can enjoy a cool stroll back to the hotel along well lit roads.

I have travelled extensively and would not hesitate to recommend Celay for those looking for a place to stay which is clean, reasonably priced and where all those working there bend over backwards to be helpful. I fully intend to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareDev0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a long one but i think people need to be aware! On our first day we had our watermelon and water PHYSICALLY taken from us as you can ONLY purchase food and drink from the hotel no exceptions, it wasnt ideal but we bit our tongues, secound day my girlfriend was groped by one of the bar tendors who forced himself upon her trying to kiss her while i nipped to the toilet! not ideal iether and when confronted he said he was just being friendly and my girlfriend miss understood! By this point we were pretty discusted with their behavor and vowed not to eat, drink at the hotel or have anything to do with there staff! you soon notice the change in their attitudes when you dont buy from the hotel as mentioned in many other reviews, a week past and we were given the holiday bar bill which consisted of 8 drinks more than the 2 we actually had (and had already payed for) when we questioned them they claimed we were to drunk to remember ordering them and that we hadnt payed for any, and apparently we told the staff they could have a drink too and to put it on our tab! (my girlfriend cannot drink alcohol as she is pregnant so was not best please by these claims to say the least) we refused to pay and ended up just re-paying for the 2 drinks we had actually had! the second week there attitude towards us was horrific! On the last day of our holiday we gave back the keys and were told we must pay £140 for the upgrade to the deluxe room we had, although we had already payed before the holiday, they argued and demanded us to pay until to their embarrassment i pulled out the receipt, the manager shrugged his shoulders and walked back to his office, they knew full well but were trying it on! now the rants over here goes.. we upgraded to the deluxe rooms which were furnished and fresh to a high turkish 4* standard but lack of any warm water in the mornings let it down and also no fridge but this was again down to you having to buy everything from the hotel! you are only aloud 1 fresh towel a day between 2 people which we thought was very poor and the bed linen was only changed once or twice in the 2 weeks to our knowledge, pool was large and spotless but unless your prepared to get up at 6am to reserve a bed with your towel you dont stand a chance! we decided to go to small local hotels to spend the day were you would have the whole pool area to yourself as long as you spent 50p on a bottle of water they were more than happy! breakfast is almost laughable as mentioned in many reviews with 2 choices of processed meat which didnt look fit for my dog, one choice of chesse and a bowl of yougurt. no cereals and if you wanted a cooked breakfast it would set you back best part of £4 each which down the road you could easly find a full english for £2. the 20 minute walk into town to catch a bus or to get anywhere started to become a chore after the first 3 days and late at night it was pitch black and uphill, so we started using taxis £5 to get back from hissoranu which is a good 40min walk! spoke to a couple at the hotel who had been there 4 times and not once left the hotel, this seems to be the mentality of the people there, everyone knows everyone and everyones buisness and if youve never been there before you wont fit in! if you want to get out and about and not spend all your money soley at the hotel i would avoid this place like the plague! also hisaronu which is the main town for this hotel is like blackpool or bendorm with the likes of gazzas bar, primarni and karaoke is on the bill at all the bars everynight! do your research before you go, and if you insist on this area stay in fethiye 15 mins down the road which is a great traditional turkish town!

Room Tip: Stay in Olu Deniz or Fethiye
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Samuel-Westwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CELAYHOTEL, Manager at Celay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Its not easy to keep everybody happy and we are sorry that we couldnt make you happy with anything but we did not deserve any of these comments. There is no honesty in any of it. You are also bad commenting about the other happy guests which is not fair. P:S If you like to eat water-melon in your room perhaps next time you should book a self catering accommodation with knife, fork and plate facilities in it. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed here with 2 female family members and we all loved it equally. The views of the mountains everyday were amazing and it was so peaceful it was like being on a spa holiday.
The staff were all friendly and willing to help. We shared our time between the hotel and going out and about and never felt as though we were neglected due to not spending all our time there as some other posts suggest.
The dolmus route is 2 roads down so about a 5 minute walk but they are regular and good value. Olu Deniz is well worth a visit. We personally were note over keen on Fethiye.
We ate in the Turtle bar at the end of the road a couple of times, their steak diane 3 course meal offer was excellent in both taste and value for money.
The meals at the hotel were nice too and the pide bread you get with them is delicious.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
We stayed in a normal room and it was fine. suited our needs perfectly.
We are booking again soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed at Celay with my boyfriend for 10 days. We've both stayed in the area before but it was out 1st stay in celay. When we arrived we were allocated to one of the standard rooms and were told that we could upgrade the next day for £10 per day. The room was very basic - it was a bedroom and bathroom with a tiny balcony. We booked through teletext and hadn't been told about the extra charge for a room upgrade so we hadn't budgeted for it. The room was ok but the only downside was no fridge! We had to keep our water etc in the wardrobe to keep it cool. Another problem is that you aren't allowed to bring food into the hotel which I guess is understandable but the prices at the bar are ridiculously expensive (15 lira for a very small cocktail!) and as students we had to go very carefully with how much we ate and drank. On the plus side we didn't need the air conditioning because the room was quite cool so we didn't need to pay the extra for it. The cleaners come very early in the morning which isn't good if you like a lie in. They generally cleaned the room quite well and we had clean towels every couple of days but my bed sheets were never changed even though I asked and complained several times. The area itself is fantastic and the views are breathtaking. The pool area is kept clean and after the first day we found out where the extra sunbeds were kept. We stayed on a b and b basis but seriously - don't bother. It was beyond poor quality. The bread was stale, the cheese was cheap and plastic like and the boiled eggs looked like they had been sat there for hours. Its obviously your standard turkish breakfast but if you want an english breakfast its 8.50 lira (ripoff. Much cheaper down the road.) The staff were friendly and they try to get people involved as much as possible. There are bingo nights (good fun) and karaoke. The turkish night is a must. The bar staff will talk to you but will only be nice if you're buying. I went out to an opening night of a club and saw the two bar lads and one of them tried to kiss me in front of my boyfriend. Needless to say I wasn't impressed! It was okay as a base and to relax by the pools for a couple of days but the rest of the time, I'd advise people to do trips/go to the beach. If you decide to stay at celay, upgrade your room before you leave and don't expect too much!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kissykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews