We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly staff, safe location - great value for money!”
Review of Ozlem 1 Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ozlem 1 Apartments
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful, friendly staff, safe location - great value for money!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I will begin by saying that have read some bad reviews, predominantly about bad décor, insects, dirty etc. However, during our stay, we have absolutely nothing to complain about. Rooms were basic but very clean, (a lovely friendly Turkish lady came to our room every day to clean and tidy). Frank and Cherie were more than accommodating - we arrived at half 5 in the morning, yet Frank was eager to help us to our rooms, inform us about the local area and even walked myself and my partner to the local shop to buy water, waited for us and walked us back.

The beds were fantastically comfortable, everyone slept very well. Bathrooms were clean and looked after, balconies were spotless.

Chico was very friendly and our three children loved his constant chatting, laughing and joking. He was extremely good fun, lovely to talk to and willing to help us in any way, without being too "in your face".

We all had a great time and would definitely go back. The pool was beautifully clean and well maintained and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to everyone at Ozlem1!!! x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    59
    17
    20
    46
See reviews for
76
109
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Ozlem 1. (Actually only 6 days, because we missed our flight from Gatwick but that is another story!).

Basic but clean accommodation. Quiet location. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Special mention of Chico - a very engaging, helpful and entertaining young man.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulStudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stopped at the ozlem for 11 night and like the title says rooms where basic but clean and cleaned everyday. Peter was a top man yes he can be abrupt but his banter is quality and deep down a very nice man.chico is the happiest young man I have ever met always smiling.frank and cherry where very helpful and always there if you need them . The turkish night was a great night
Overall great holiday made better by the staff

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave-darlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Well ill start on a positive note.Our room was clean and tidy. Frank and Cherry are really nice and helpful although they are apparently leaving to come back to England sometime towards the end of the season. Chico comes across as a nice lad but don't be fooled by him he tells everyone that he only earns commission on what he sells like drinks and food.we found out from Frank and Cherry that he also gets a wage.lots of people was given Chico money when they were departing the apartments. Peter the manager is rude as hell and i have a great sense of humor but it was the fact i spent a lot of money in my first week of my holiday so because in the second week i never spent much at the hotel bar i was ignored although this never bothered me it did many other guests and Chico also ignored us in the second week as Peter told him to ignore us.In our second week we did various trips away from the hotel on return other guests asked how the trips went and because i said we had a good time i was approached by Chico telling me Peter had had a moan at him as we were talking to other guests about our trips and if people went on trips then they would not sell drinks at the bar so we were told not to talk about our trips and holiday to other quests, my reply to that was as you can imagine not so polite.Please can i also stress that you DO NOT start a tab at the bar, as Peter has charged people for extra drinks even those that spend lots of money within the bar. Also Peter empties Chico's money draw 3 times a day so there is not always change to give to people. I will not be returning to the Ozlem . I have been to many cheap hotels in my time and i don't expect a lot as i only sleep and shower in my rooms but manners cost nothing and the management team at the Ozlem need to take a long hard look at themselves and this ruined my holiday as i booked extra trips to stay away from the apartments in the end.Also turkish night at hotel is rubbish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We returned earlier this week from a weeks stay here and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.
I have to give a massive shout out to Chico who was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for him, his main mission is to make everyone happy and have a good time. I'd read negative things about peter but found him to be great, he's just dry that's all. We went as a family of 6 with 2 adults, 2 teenagers a 10 and 6 year old and each of us enjoyed it. Now the rooms were very basic but I've seen worse. They were clean and spacious enough and that's all we look for in accommodation as our holidays are always packed with things to do so we don't spend much time in the room. Each day after our days out we returned to the pool for an hour or so and used it for the entire last day, we eat in the restaurant a couple of time and used the 24 hour bar daily, we had no complaints at all and would return. The apartments are set in a beautiful area away from the noise and busy roads but are still close enough to the centre and beach etc. the accommodation is on a small scale which makes it feel nicer and had a very friendly atmosphere, everyone seemed like old friends. If you're fussy don't choose here, but if you just want somewhere clean and friendly as a base I'd say you can't go wrong for the price

Room Tip: Don't expect something you haven't paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bealharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Ozlem 1 Review

My family and I returned from our weeks holiday at Ozlem 1 a few days ago.

The Positives:

Cherry and Frank were most helpful throughout our stay, offering great information on local walks, restaurants, use of the local bus service, ways to avoid getting ripped off, Turkish customs etc. When there was a mix up with our coach departure on the final day, together with Peter - the manager - they also pulled out all of the stops to ensure that we made the airport on time. They were all friendly and helpful throughout our time at Ozlem 1, despite the fact that we made it clear from the off that we would be using the apartment and complex purely as a base and nothing more as we always eat out and explore the areas we visit.

Likewise, Chico, the barman was a very warm (and a cheeky chappie!) who did his very best to make everyone feel welcome.

The apartments were cleaned several times and the beds made daily and the swimming pool was clean.

The hotels general location is good too. Situated a short stroll from a 24 hr supermarket that sold delicious loaves of freshly baked bread each day for less than 30p! The beach is no more than 15-20 mins away and the walk along the coast to Marmaris (approximately an hour or so) is well worth it. Icmeler itself was, for the most part, still in the process of opening up again after it's winter sabbatical. As a consequence, perhaps only 20% of the towns restaurants were open over Easter. That said, we ate twice at the excellent and very welcoming 'Ida' restaurant and we grabbed lunch a few times - traditional Turkish chicken kebabs - at a great and remarkably cheap little fast food place called 'Station' near the centre of Icmeler. We also visited Marmaris on several occasions and had superb meals at a stunning restaurant on the Marina called 'Pineapple' and on the seafront at a place called 'Yunus.' Both places represented fine dining at surprisingly low prices.

We also had an excellent, reasonably priced family friendly 'Turkish Bath' at the 'Fortuna Beach' hotel in Icmeler. It is well worth a visit.

The Negatives:

As mentioned earlier, we always eat out and explore so when we travel we use our apartments as a base and little more. With this in mind our expectations are that our accommodation need be little more than clean and functional. Unfortunately, Ozlem 1 is in dire need of updating and upgrading - this despite the best efforts of Cherry and Frank who were always 'on the go' - Frank invariably with a paint brush or a screw driver in his hand. Obviously, I didn't see the inside of the other apartments but many of the fixtures and fittings in ours were on their last legs. Whether it was cracked and grimy tiles in the bathroom, door handles that came off in your hand or light fittings that dangled perilously by the finest of wires, the place needs a major spruce up. Similarly, the interior of the apartment was very dated and unfortunately both the single beds that my wife and I slept in were very damp. Regarding the latter point, probably not a problem at the peak of summer when the apartments are properly aired but definitely not great if you are taking a spring break.

On a separate note, as a sideline, part of the hotel has been hired out to some local Turkish lads who repair hotel and restaurant furniture. As a consequence on the hill just above the pool there is a vast pile of chairs, tables, loungers etc in various states of repair. It is an eyesore, frankly, and the constant soundtrack of a staple gun being fired did rather grate after a while.

Overall conclusion:

Icmeler and Marmaris are great holiday destinations. The weather at Easter was, on the whole, fantastic. The people are very friendly and once one grows accustomed to constantly getting accosted by locals to eat in their restaurants, buy their fake gear, have a haircut, go on their boat excursions etc, it is possible to haggle, banter and have a great laugh with them. As regards Ozlem 1, as previously stated it needs a complete overhaul but due to the warmth of the likes of Cherry, Frank and Chico, the run down nature of the apartment didn't spoil our holiday. Its a shame because if the owner spent some money and TLC on his complex it could be so much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was the first time me and my partner had been too turkey and reading the reviews about ozlem 1 was abit off putting, but like they say don't believe everything you read! We absolutely loved it!! Peter, Chico and Arjen were great, so friendly and easy to get on with, felt like you'd known them years! Not to mention Cherry and Frank so lovely and hard working! Can't wait to go back next year

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniellepope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Faber Apart Hotel
Faber Apart Hotel
#26 of 77 in Icmeler
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ercanhan Hotel
Ercanhan Hotel
#31 of 77 in Icmeler
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ozlem 2 Apart Otel
Ozlem 2 Apart Otel
#17 of 50 in Icmeler
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ekinci Palace
Ekinci Palace
#21 of 50 in Icmeler
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Apartments
Castle Apartments
#12 of 50 in Icmeler
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kleopatra Apartments Icmeler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozlem 1 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozlem 1 Apartments

Property: Ozlem 1 Apartments
Address: Golenye Mh 42 Sokak, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ozlem 1 Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ozlem 1 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ozlem 1 Apart Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing