We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Faber Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Faber Apart Hotel
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Faber (pronounced Fabba) is not as Fab as it could be but not as bad as some reviews would have you believe. The rooms are perfunctory, but ill equipped for a self catering holiday: two hot plates, one frying pan, one saucepan and a kettle. Seems geared to getting you to eat out rather than in despite a good supermarket nearby.

Lock on our door didn't work but was fixed within the hour but the shower leaked meaning you had to stack towels around the base to keep the bathroom from flooding dangerously. That said they did try to fix it, again within the day.

The pool area is good and offers plenty of shade in the hotter parts of the day.

The restaurant is fine and its staff are both pleasant and friendly. The oft mentioned bleached-blonde on reception is pretty much the only non-friendly member of staff and rumour has it she is the manager!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the air-con as rooms can get v hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    102
    38
    18
    29
See reviews for
130
141
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My daughter and I booked with Cosmos holidays to stay at the Faber, which was categorised as a 4 star on their website. We arrived after a long night time flight and our first impression of this accommodation was one of utter disgust. The reception area was filthy, with dirt from overturned plants and a vase of 'dessicated' flowers that had obviously been there for some time.
We were greeted by a demand for £35 per week for air conditioning and no assistance with dragging luggage up 2 flights of a spiral staircase.
Our first impression did not improve when we were shown to an apartment, which in fairness, was spacious but again dirty. There were plaster wrappers, food and human hair on the floor, which had not been cleaned from the previous occupants.
The room was accessed from a public landing and each apartment had a window that opened onto this walkway. We were shocked to find that neither the window or the balcony door could be locked as both had previously been subject to break in and the frame around the door and window were buckled.
We attempted to get some sleep before the rep arrived later that morning but this proved almost impossible, as we could hear the entire conversation that was taking place next door and a considerate Mum explaining to a crying child, that it was too early to get up as people were trying to sleep and they needed to be quiet!
These issues were made known to the rep and the complaint was taken up with the manager, who made an inspection of the apartment. Imagine our surprise when we attempted to lock the apartment on leaving, only to find that the main door would also not lock. We were told that that repairs could be carried out but that this would take some time and that the only other room available was in the attic. In the meantime we were expected to leave our personal belongings in an unsecured room.
The communal areas were also filthy and there was rubbished, including dirty nappies stacked by the side of the staircase. The manager advised that one of his cleaners had left that week and that there was only one cleaner for the whole complex, this showed!!
The general hygiene and standard of this complex is appalling and Cosmos need to urgently review their rating, as this accomodation does not warrant their 4 star rating and would struggle to warrant 3 stars.
Our complaint was taken up by Cosmos and we were relocated the same day, at our own expense. But be warned this had to be paid for in cash or subjected to an 18% surcharge for using a debit card, which was explained as company policy!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanC090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We are 2 friends aged 22. We arrived at the Faber around 11pm and were greeted with a not so friendly welcome from a young girl with blonde hair who we assumed was the reception manager. We stayed in the attic room and our and our suitcases were taken up for us.
We were staying Bed and Breakfast and the girl explained that breakfast was between 8 and 10 but failed to mention that it was only selected items from the breakfast menu that were included in our package. You have to pay extra for Bacon and Full English Breakfasts. Air Con is NOT included. £35 per week.
The room itself was basic but comfortable with a fridge, kettle and T.v (not many English channels.) Although stated 'sleeps 4' it is not suitable for more than 2 people.the balcony could barely fit the two of us and even then was like an oven because of the perspex surround. The shower leaked a lot! We had to use our hotel towels to mop up the floor and when the cleaner took them away they weren't replaced. We had to ask for more towels.
Cleaners ignored 'Do Not Disturb' sign.
Beds were not changed once in ten days. Only one toilet roll provided, after that you must buy more yourself, so take a spare!
There are 2 entrances to the Hotel, the one which leads directly into reception is always chained shut so you will walk past the pool/.bar which is ran by a separate company from the hotel. Alex who works at the pool bar is a lovely guy!!!
overall not worth what you pay. met some lovely staff, except the blonde girl who seemed entirely uninterested. cant comment on the turkish night as we didnt go although it seemed busy that night.
when we settled our bar tab upon leaving we were charged for breakfast, after explaining it was already paid for there was abit of a hoo-hah before they finally deducted it from the whole bill.
probably much nicer places to stay in icmeler for what you'd pay to stay here.
bit of a mission to the beach but dolmus buses run regular straight to the beach or to marmaris from the Tansas supermarket which is just a 2 min walk from hotel.

wednesday market - 5 min walk from the hotel - must go (haggle like mad - if 2 young girls can get them to half price each time anyone can)
deja vu restaurant 2 mins from the hotel - BEST chicken fajitas anywhere!!!
Annes Cafe on the beachfront - fantastic food and no hassle
beach - beware hasslers at the beach you'll pay 2.50lira (£1) each for a sunbed NO MORE!!!
Dont bother doing cleopatras island boat trip - cant walk along the actual beach, sand is too stony,sheer desert heat - not worth £20.
quad biking is a must usually pay aprox £10-13 - do haggle
jet ski-ing at the beach although expensive is well worth it - best laughs ever!!!
Eat at the Venice restaurant - Josef is a top entertainer and food is unbelievable- located just off the canal.
marmaris is best for the shopping as lots of undercover shops. dont bother with taxi boats at £4 each - dolmus is much cheaper at aprox 50p- £1 per trip.

Overall, wouldn't go back to the Faber.
No hangers!
No bog roll!
No towels!
No bacon!
Leaky shower!
Male cleaner who bounces in whenever he feels like it!
Found an ant in my cocktail!
Not cheap enough for what you get!

Room Tip: Take spare bum wipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeymouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

booked the Faber for 1 week. When booked this was a 4* hotel - as time was getting closer and closer more reviews were becoming more worrying. We arrived in the dead of the night and was disappointed from start. Not only do you have to pay £35.00 - and it was sterling which is better for them, but makes this more expensive than others. for 1 weeks aircon which still is not efficient the rooms are far from clean. We were in the attic which feels like a sauna. The entrance to the hotel sorry apartment hotel is awkward - walking through the bar then pool area, Cleaners and staff ignore all signs that state do not disturb, and on several occasions come in the room anyway! You cant use the balcony because the perspex surrounding makes it more like being in the oven. Shower constantly leaked. Beds were the most uncomfortable - sun loungers are far softer. The internet wifi was constantly slow / not working. We had power cut in the middle of the night. The hotel ratting dropped to 3* which I still think is generous. Too far from the main beach / stretch. No seating area in the reception. Value for Money NO far better deals on the front. Olu Deniz is a much nicer resort. All in All Marmaris would make much nicer resort - and has far more to offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at Faber for 2 weeks and had the most fantastic time not only was the hotel situated in a beautiful area just round the corner from some fantastic restaraunts and shops but the hotel itself was exceptional.

The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was ever a problem and they all love kids and will do anything they can to make sure they have the best time possible. The pool area was always very clean and there were always plenty of sunbeds.

A quick note on the pool its very big and excellent for swimming however its a metre and a half deep throught the pool which wasn't a problem for our party as the youngest of us is actually a very strong swimmer but could be a problem for young children. there is a childrens pool but it's very small and wasn't really used.

The rooms were cleaned every day and there were nice facilities and a very large
balcony in the room. however the air conditioning and safe boxes had to be rented eventhough they were installed in every room.

It's quite far to the beach about a 2 mile walk and best attempted at night when its cooler the same when looking round the town overall though it was fantastic

Room Tip: try to get a pool facing room as they are all technically pool facing but are on the top floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Arrived at the faber late afternoon to be greeted by a very rude receptionist.The manager is no better she's not that easy to approach and does not come across to be that interested,it took quite a few attemps to get things done.The card to get in to the room didn't always work it took quite a few goes another guest opened our room with their card! The room was nice but it was not that clean the balcony was very dirty,the shower leaked and we had no hot water for most of the holiday.The room didn't have a microwave ,toaster which was advertised,Satalite tv was one English news channel which you could not hear. Its a shame because the apartments are in an ideal position for the shops, beach ect.We went for a bit more comfort this holiday now the kids no longer come with us thinking the Faber being a four star would be ok.Unfortunately the Faber is not worthy a four star.
The bar and pool staff which is run separate from the apartments are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

First of all i would like to say all you people moaning and complaining about the hotel and staff need to get a grip..... me and my other half went on 2nd July for a week and to be honest after reading all the reviews we were a little worried but we hadn't needed to be ... from the moment we got there the staff were friendly and helpful took my suit case for me asked if we had a good flight all in all a very good welcome. we were showed to our room which was the attic room and i don't know what people were complaining about it was clean tidy yes the balcony wasn't very big but so what the room was clean n tidy that's all that counts NO?... our room was cleaned every day new towels new bed sheets so no complains there at all in fact no complains all round... The staff are fun helpful and very friendly and would do anything for you no matter how big or small speedy and the gang are great and you go here your going to have a fun time n a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Babadan Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#18 of 78 in Icmeler
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murat Apart Hotel
Murat Apart Hotel
#38 of 78 in Icmeler
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Miray Hotel
Miray Hotel
#44 of 78 in Icmeler
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yade Hotel
Yade Hotel
#10 of 78 in Icmeler
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faber Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faber Apart Hotel

Property: Faber Apart Hotel
Address: Golenye Mahallesi Inonu Caddesi 29, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#22 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#26 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faber Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Faber Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faber Apart Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing