We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Faber Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Faber Apart Hotel
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average”
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This hotel/apartment is rated at 4* by themselves, which in English terms I would say 3* at the most. On arrival it cost £30 (In english) for air con, and £10 for the safe.

We decided to go self catering as we thought it would work out cheaper for food through the day, We were provided with only 2 cooking rings and 2 casserole pans (??) which didnt fit on the rings as they were too big. No microwave, No toaster.

The apartment itself was lovely, cleaned every day and very modern,
Staff at the pool bar are very friendly, untill you decide to eat elsewhere.

All round good place to stay, The only down side is eating a chicken salad from the pool bar on the last night, and being off work for a week with what was then diagnosed as camylorbacta (food poisoning) which had come from under cooked chicken. This spoiled a really enjoyable relaxing week

I would definately go back to Icemeler, its a lovely quiet resort with Marmaris on the doorstep if you want the busy clubbing nightlife.
Food and restraunts in Icemeler are good and the Taj Mahal indian is amazing and well worth a trip there

Weather was in the late 30's in September! which was amazing

But I will be booking 5* all inclusive as it works out as cheap if booked at the right time

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aplcjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    103
    39
    18
    29
See reviews for
133
148
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Before me and my boyfriend went on holiday to Icmeler, I used Trip Adviser as my bible! I scanned through every review on here to do with Icmeler to make sure we made the best of it while we were there! We had a limited budget so I also visited MANY low cost holiday sites! In the end we decided to use Lowcostholidays.com, and on there we found the fabulous Faber! We weren’t looking for a 5 star all inclusive resort, we wanted somewhere clean, comfortable and with a good bunch of people and a nice pool for some lazy days....which the Faber was perfect for.

We had a room on the 3rd floor, (3106). It was very spacious and decorated to a high spec..not much to offer in the kitchen appliance wise, but we didn’t need any more than the plates, cutlery, hob and fridge as we found so many amazing restaurants!! We also paid £4 a day for the air con...do it, it is 100% worth it!!
Our balcony was great too, had an outdoor light and looked over the wicked pool! If you like to lay around the pool and sunbathe, get down there early as they get snapped up, get your towel down there, everyone did it...so be cheeky and go for it!!
Don’t pick the loungers that are below the balconies as these get over shadowed by the building around midday.

The music is good round the pool, we read that it was rubbish and loud but for us 20 something’s it was good, RandB is huge over there so it is to be expected!! It was a good volume, not over baring! At night it wasn’t that bad, although we were there at the beginning of Sept so may have been worse in high season?? The Staff were fun, we didn’t get hassled once to stay there and eat, if ever they invited us to come eat there (as that is what they are doing, INVITING you to be friendly, NOT forcing/guilting/pressuring you) a lot of the time they love to have the company and have some fun!! Its no cabaret but nice to have some background noise while you socialise and chat with them, they also have karaoke (watch out for speedy singing hero, priceless), and a Turkish night that we foolishly missed as it sounded very entertaining!! Speedy and Alex were really fun, we found Alex to be a lovely down to earth person that understood that you don’t have to spend every waking minute at the hotel as Icmeler is an amazing place, GO TO VENICE ON THE CANAL (lovely food and good entertainment!!). Also, around the corner from the hotel there is an amazing little Turkish restaurant (no neon signs or loud music, bonus) called the Meyzan (I think) our favourite place to go, very romantic!

We never ate in the Faber restaurant in the evenings, as we liked to go out and explore, but we had lunch there a few times and it was nice.

Note: The hotel is a 10-15 min walk to the beach front/5-10 mins from bars and shops but it is a really good distance to be away from the hustle and bustle for the quiet surroundings!

Would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Faber apartments are reputed to be one of the best in Icmeler. I am afraid our group found it very average to say the least. They are in an excellent location in the old village part of Icmeler but not too far from the main drag. The Apartments were modern and the rooms and balcony adequate. Although for self catering as we were, they are very poorly kitted out. Only two electric hot plates and no oven, toaster, microwave etc. You can hire some things but at a pretty stiff rate. Air conditioning was £56 for two weeks, and a safety box over £20.Both a necessity. The pool was a good size, although you did have to be sharp in order to get a sunbed. The food at the apartments was no more than adequate and was pretty limited, and would not in any way inspire you to eat there in the evening rather than adventure into town. The entertainment was woeful to say the least. Turkish night was squeezed in between two soccer matches shown on two screens. With the acts coming on during half time, and having to wait till the end of the games. I am a soccer fan but one screen in the bar would have been ample surely for one night. We had Michael Jackson turning up twice in our stay, and I have to say he was the worst Jackson impersonator I have ever seen, truly awful. We booked a boat trip after being persuaded by bar manager Speedy to book through him. What a shambles. We paid top price 30TL(£12) Which was dearer than what was offered in Icmeler itself. The pick up was a shambles with the bus picking us up being full before it even got to us. Another one eventually arrived to pick us up. The boat had to be the oldest slowest boat on that coast. Although the captain and his misses were fine. The trip and meal was OK. But the day was totally ruined by there not being any bus to pick us up and bring us back to the apartments as promised. So a long and tiring walk back from the harbour for us. Speedy shrugged his shoulders and fained no knowledge as to why no return trip was laid on. So be warned there are cheaper bargains around for any trips you might want with pick up and returns. The staff do work long hours and Alex ,Speedy's No2 was a good and attentive host. In my opinion Speedy needs to up HIS game and give a bit more without thinking how to make a fast buck. Faber rated 4* but in reality no more than a decent 3*. The makings are there to make these really good apartments not too sure about the commitment.though.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmc228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Arrived at the Faber and after reading the reviews on webites I was really looking forward to my holiday.I had studied the Faber Apartments own website and believed I was going to a fantastic location. Well what a suprise we were in for.To start half of the stuff shown on the website doe's not exsist(Ottoman Street).This is a dark dingy corridor that housed a motor scooter and spare items of furniture.The front of the apartments is closed with shutters down and again was used as a store area for furniture which is all visible to guests and we also had cats using it as shelter during our stay. Anyway when we arrived we were shown to our room,number 4105 which was an attic room. Very small for a family of 4.The balcony was a disgrace and very small as I could stand with my arms out and touch all four sides of it. Even worse than this at 4.30 am we were awoken by an electrical transformer kicking in and then the very loud buzzng noise every morning,great on hoiday for sleep deprivation. Asked for a move but we were told it would be a week as there were no roms available. This was a lie as 3 days later there were still other rooms available.Eventually we were moved after 6 days of sleep deprivation,prison cell of a balcony or sleeping by the pool from 4.30am every morning.Second room was much better with a little more room a balcony you could actually use and no noise in the early hours.At first the pool area looks very good but when you settle in you will realise that it is in fact again deceptive. During our stay the pool did not appear to be cleaned properly and was sometimes milky/cloudy which may explain why there were numerous guests who were suffering with ear infections during our stay.Some of the sunbeds were also broken with the wooden slats missing or clearly still hanging out of or underneath the beds. The place needed a damn good clean as there was litter left around the gardens around the pool and even worse litter and wate was visible underneath the sunbeds, This included napkins,cigarette butts,old newspaper pages and used plasters along with unemptied ashtrays. Some of the staff work hard and enjoy the company of the guests. However there are some who are very false and are not interested if you are not spending money at the bar. I was asked out right by one member of bar staff and i quote" You'll be leaving a good tip when you go home won't you" Not the sort of thing I expect to hear from a member of staff especally after my thoughts on this place.Icmeler itself is O.K if you go on holiday to be hassled constantly over everything from a shave to a sunbed to a trip.On the whole the Faber needs some elbow grease and a lesson in honesty especially with regards to the misleading information on it,s website .Go at your own peril .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

1) Rooms - back to front. You walk in off the corridor into the sitting area and kitchen, you then walk through to the bedroom which has access to a balcony. If you are the unfortunates sleeping in the put you up, you are stuck in a dark square room with no air. The air conditioning is available at an extra charge and is only in the bedroom. Stay away from rooms near the stairwell you will be woken throughout the night by people clattering up and down the stairs.
2) Kitchen -bearing in mind you are self catering, there is no microwave, no toaster and only 2 hotplates. Unlike other self catering apartments we have visited there were no welcome essentials provided.
3) Bathroom - very basic, shower, toilet and sink. Please note you will be provided with one roll of toilet paper thereafter you will need to provide your own.
4) Apartment cleaning - wet mop slopped around the floor leaving a stale smell. The grime around the skirting was thick.
5) Breakfast - if you have paid for breakfast, this will be the Turkish breakfast: a boiled egg, slice of meat and cheese, olives, cucumber and tomatoes, tea or coffee.
6) Pool - pretty area with some nice features, yes sunbeds are reserved, yes the same music is played everyday. I would like to see a quite time in the pool whereby all inflatables are removed for an hour or so.
7) Food/Drink - again despite being self catering you can only consume products bought from the resort around the pool.
After a few days of this we decided to spend our time on the beach, a tip here is to take your time when looking for a spot. The best bits of the beach are taken up by the hotels on the front, but we found they were only too happy to let us rent sunbeds there for the day . The beach is mainly shingle so you will need a sunbed.
8) Evenings - we did not stay around the apartments of an evening as we prefer to stroll around. We were very disappointed to find Icmeler is very touristy and lacks authentic Turkish restaurants, we came across two little traditional restaurants, the rest cater f'or tourists and offer the usual tourist entertainment.
9) Reception - this states it is 24 hrs, that is until until after 2pm when the Manager arrives, thereafter it is rarely mannned. Do not change currency here as they never have any money and do not give the rates advertised. Go across the road to the supermarkets you will get a better rate.
10) Finally, yes the bar staff and the 2nd in line to the Manager on reception do work very hard. This resort needs to have someone with the correct customer care attitiude to run it and on a final note that person is Alex.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajemEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DURHAM
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Just got back from Icmeler staying at the "FABER APART/HOTEL" in the old village. What a fantastic choice of hotel!!!! the room's are excellent, with plenty of space and very comfortable. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the pool area is fantastic with plenty of sunbed's (as long as you get up early!!!) The pool itself is a good size with a fountain at one end and a jacuzzi at the other which is very relaxing. The staff are extremely welcoming and will break their back's to keep you happy. Speedy, alex, micki, eddy, shy boy and koray keep up the good work lads you do a great job!!!! (apart from booking the robocob show) The entertainment in the hotel is also fantastic both during the day and on an evening with all the dancing show's, turkish night, fish night and speedy's special song (don't ever play that again, oh the screeching noise! only joking) As a first visit to Icmeler the verdict is we are looking forward to going back soon, hopefully to the Faber and having just as good a time as we did this time. It's a great place to holiday with plenty of places to eat and drink and nearly every bar has it's own entertainment with loads of variety. Would highly recommend Icmeler and especially the Faber to anyone who's never been to Turkey before. Watch out Speedy, were coming back soon!!!!!!!!!! Stuart, Diane, Brad and Emily (and the rest of the gang!!!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VANDIESEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We booked a 10 night holiday at the Faber from 15th -25th June 2009 with Low cost holidays.We booked and paid in March 2009 but received an e-mail on the 11th jun(4 days before we were due to fly out here)to say the Faber had encountered a "system" error(overbooked more like) and unable to accomodate us for this period .I should've guessed as i'd read a couple of similar stories about this "system error"(translated is overbooked) with the Faber apartments on Holday Watchdog.With only 4 days before we were due to fly out it wasn't easy finding somewhere suitable to our requirements(they wouldn't refund our flights).Prior to booking the Faber in the 1st place we painstakingly sought the right place for us in the right location etc and the Faber did fit the bill with mainly great reviews,good standard of self catering apartments etc.However judging by some of the recent Tripadvisor reviews maybe it was a blessing in disguise there was this so called "system error" and we were spared the experience of the Faber.I certainly don't like the way staff seemingly hassle you to stay in the complex and eat there,bet they wouldn't be so keen if it was all inclusive.
As it goes we did out of curiosity visit the Faber and have to say it did look smart'clean and quite impressive.The pool and pool area also impressed me as did the location.
We learned from the receptionist that they did have a vacancy from 18th-25th june so a big question looms as to why we weren't informed of this.
Sorry to appear such a moaner but this is a prime example of gross ineffiency between Low cost holidays and Faber and could quite easily have resulted in us ending up losing our holiday altogether.
It would be however unfair of me to comment on the Faber itself not actually having stayed there but to summarise:
On visiting Faber it's modern,smart clean with what looked like a good pool scene and according to reviews a good standard of apartment, the location good too,plenty of restaurants n shops etc on the doorstep and only 10min walk to icmeler town.
Be warned though about what appears to be frequent "system errors"
Please don't be put off by my experience or anything i say though,am sure for many this would be a fine place to enjoy a great holiday

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Searsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Babadan Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Yade Hotel
Yade Hotel
#5 of 78 in Icmeler
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#21 of 78 in Icmeler
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miray Hotel
Miray Hotel
#46 of 78 in Icmeler
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ercanhan Hotel
Ercanhan Hotel
#31 of 78 in Icmeler
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faber Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faber Apart Hotel

Property: Faber Apart Hotel
Address: Golenye Mahallesi Inonu Caddesi 29, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#22 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#26 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faber Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Faber Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faber Apart Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing