We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Village Apartments
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We changed our apartment this year for a change and our gamble paid off. The apartments have refurbished are clean and fully equipped. It's in the old village but within walking distance to everything. Will be back in October

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Kfussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were the first guests at the refurbished Sun Village this season, and I have to say we were really pleased with the place. It is basic but clean, and as a place to sleep, it fitted the bill for us. One big plus was the hot water at any time of the day or night. So many places only have it for an hour a night, and if the place is busy, you end up with a cold shower. The family who run it are lovely people who couldn't do enough for us. Mehmet was there when we first arrived, but because it was so quiet, he had to do another job so we didn't see him after a few days. Not sure if he will be back later when it gets busy. He told Fatma we liked mercimek corbasi for breakfast and the next morning she called up to say she had made some for us. Jamie was there from late afternoon till the next morning and always had a smile and a chat, no matter what time we got in.
We were out most of the time and only occasionally had a drink or a snack at the bar, but they didn't put any pressure on us to stay there. There is a nice pool with about two dozen sun beds for those who like to laze around the pool, and no boom boom music from 8am till midnight, thank goodness. So if you're looking for basic accommodation in a quiet location on the edge of the old village, Sun Village is ideal. It's about a 15 minute stroll into the centre of town, 20 mins to the beach, but there is a dolmus stop just outside where you can catch a dolmus either into town, or to Marmaris. The fare is 2tl local and 2.5tl to Marmaris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just returned from 2 week holiday well looked after by Mama,Max,Jaimie and Aygul. The accommodation is very tired and dated in need of a major overhaul. Beds were horrific(single beds with no legs felt like sleeping on a futon!). Pillows were like bags of cement. Shower curtain was disgusting covered in mildew. Location is excellent, pool area is spacious with plenty of loungers although they could also be doing with an overhaul.
All in all would return if the apartments were upgraded which I have heard will happen over the winter months.

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments in attic are spacious but very warm, be ready for a mega stair climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shortie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

These small, freindly apartments, are situated near the old town of Icmeler, a short walk to the shops, beach and restuarants. The staff are always helpful and freindly and Fatima the owner is a remarkable lady who, once you know her you are bound to love her.

The pool at the apartments is never overcrowded, always plenty of sun beds and the food is excellent. We have stayed at Sun Village and Club Sun Village apartments for over ten years now and will never tire of going there.

The boat trip and turkish nights are good value an a must for anyone who stays here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in August. Our apartment obviously had not been cleaned before our arrival and to be honest I don't think the toilet or bathroom had been cleaned since the start of the season. The bed linen was stained and the sheets were only changed once during our stay. The only thing the cleaner did was change the bags in the bins every day and that was using my plastic bags which she found in one of the drawers!!!! The cooking facilities were extremely poor, we ended up eating out every day. The fridge was filthy. We only had three chairs and when we asked for another chair as there was four of us the staff created such a fuss that I was sorry we asked. Our teenage children were not allowed play pool after midnight as we were told other guests were asleep which was fair enough until a group of ten arrived during our stay and they were allowed play pool, play loud music and jump in the pool all night which we had to listen to. We got no sleep for the two weeks as the night staff sat watching tv all night which was terribly loud. The pool was never cleaned during our stay and as a result three out of four of us ended up with ear infections. We stopped using the pool at our apartments as other guests did during our stay and spent time at a quieter and cleaner pool at apartments near by. Icmeler is a lovely resort and we went on many trips and even tried scuba diving so I have no problem recommending Icmeler as a holiday resort but would never recommend Sun Village Apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Paid far to much money for this very basic and not the cleanest accomodation. Although the apartments were opened in 1998 they are already very tired with very little out of season work carried out to keep them in top condition.
But the Turkisk owners and staff are very friendly and accomodating. The cleaner could do with a rocket her back side we had to ask for towels and bedding to be changed more than once. Bathroom facilities not the best more like exhausted
Good location very quiet with lots of Dolmus to ferry you about.
Good location for us we enjoyed the walk to the beach, restaurants, bars and endless shops (About 15 minutes to resort center).
A good pool area and bar facilities ok with food shipped in from a local snack bar/restaurant
Overall "Just about OK" would/will not return and wouldnt recommend
Karl-Sue

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room where the shower curtian is not held on by wire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximum-Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at the Sun Village apartments in the old village for 2 week Aug 2012; not to be confused with the Club Sun Village their bigger sister apartments. The apartments were very basic and are looking quite tired with age, but hey hoe so am I. I can’t stress enough, however, what a lovely team run these apartments. Led by Mamma, a lovely lady, Max, a genuine gentleman, Aygul, a happy and jolly soul with a smile for everyone and Jamie, everyone’s friendly barman and a charmer too. The apartments were very, very quiet while we were there. They are small, only 14 rooms and they were less than half full throughout our stay. A lot of the time it felt like you were staying in a private villa with personal staff to attend to your every need!! Which was lovely but it could be a little too quiet. I don’t think it was good for business either. One or two people said they knew of people who had wanted to book these apartments and they were coming up full, so could not book. They were clearly not full so not sure what was going on but I think may be Travel agency politics?? We really like this little place and although basic it is very clean and maintained well. You were made to feel very welcome and the food we ate there, mainly breakfast/brunch was good. Would I stay there again? Definitely; if could get them at a fair price for a basic 2*. They are going to be exclusive to one travel agency from 2013, so we will see.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Faber Apart Hotel
Faber Apart Hotel
#27 of 77 in Icmeler
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Champagne Apartments
Champagne Apartments
#5 of 50 in Icmeler
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarigul Apartments
Sarigul Apartments
#28 of 50 in Icmeler
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ozlem 2 Apart Otel
Ozlem 2 Apart Otel
#17 of 50 in Icmeler
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kleopatra Apartments Icmeler
0.1 mi away
Ekinci Palace
Ekinci Palace
#20 of 50 in Icmeler
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Village Apartments

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Ismet Inonu Cad, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Icmeler
Price Range: £10 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sun Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing