We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BUT”
Review of Vela Hotel Icmeler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went to the Vela first two weeks in May seen the bad reviews but went with an open mind on arrival 01.30 we were greeted by the night manager very pleasant we also meet Martin the barman who informed us the bar was open but neglected to tell us we had to pay not that i minded this would be a common occurance with Martin anyway the hotel is in acentral location next to the fountains few minutes from the beach shown to our room the room was on the first floor used the lift just to get the bags up the room was very clean of a good size the bathroom was very big clean had a walk in shower sometimes the shower unit can be a bit small this was not the case the room was cleaned daily.Food was no more or less than i expected after reading some of the reviews sometimes i think we expect to much from these hotels for what you pay i found the food good 5 or 6 choices always something for us to eat the pool was of a good size clean did not have a problem with getting a sunbed you can see a lot of work has been put into this hotel the staff were great very helpful can not fault them our waiter Mhemet was very good i realy hope they keep improving this hotel as a new company has taken it over as there are still a few issues i hope they address the main one fer me is a price list for the drinks & what you can & can't have for free in every hotel before i have not had a problem my wife drinks Brandy Martin informed us it was not included as int was not local but branded which i do not have a problem with it was not branded & was free with your meals or in the foyer on my first night i was paying 5 lira for a glass of beer from the pump then went to 7 then 9 i complained about this to Martin but was ignored stoped drinking in the hotel after 11 after this & would not go back to this hotel until this issue has been adressed and a proper pricing policy put into place ,the only other downside to this hotel are it hold over 200 people and only 40 sunbeds ther is a lack of seating in the foyer as one day it was raining and all the guests had to move inside and no where to sit and no entertainment of any sort fittnes center was not open apart from these little inconvenienceis this is a lovely hotel , very clean and tidy very spacious rooms friendly and helpful staff apart from one bar staff member i would have rated this hotel much better but the bar experience spoiled this .

Room Tip: room 106 has the sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    150
    81
    35
    44
See reviews for
110
181
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

just returned from 10 days at vela hotel.some previous comments had us needlessly concerned.to correct previous statements we found the staff brilliant,they could not do enough.Gamze on reception goes out of her way to help.Mehemet,Emir,Yusuf,Emrah, dining room staff great.bar staff seamus,martin,and helpers kept the drinks flowing.The cleaning staff on our floor(first)were excellent and kept our room and corridors spotless. towels are changed every 2 days.bed linen 2/3times weekly, unless obviously dirty and changed immediately.Location hard to beat.Our room overlooked the square and fountains great for people watching.stayed-10th to22ndmay 2014.Distance to beach 4/500 yards my wife and I 69 and 70 would recommend hotel to friends and family.As to previous comments on food we found it and varied and good.the hotel and staff are going the whole 9yards to try and restore the reputation of this hotel.good luck to them. Alan and Cathy Pitchford.

Room Tip: try for first or second floor overlooking the square and fountains(odd numbers) quieter than even nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Just recently returned from the vela hotel. This is our second time at this hotel, the first stay was good but as the vela have made improvements this time was even better... The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was nice, yes it was repetitive but there was always something that everyone liked and it was all edible and cooked well. All staff were polite and helpful that includes new and old staff.. Reception staff especially Gamze was more than helpful and she was always asking us if everything was ok or if there was anything she could help us with.. Martin the outside barman was very friendly and helpful too .. We had a great holiday and will return next year .. There were other guests complaining not happy with the food but I think with all inclusive hotels you always find this ..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank shelldan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday. After reading some bad reviews on this hotel, we as a group of 9 were a bit aprehensive of staying in this hotel...even considerd trying to change are booking to another hotel.
We as a group are happy we never changed our hotel because we had such a fantastic holiday and found the hotel nothing like what we expected.
The hotel itself was extreamly clean and tidy.
The bedrooms were spaceious very clean and was kept clean every day, fresh towels new bedding everyday.
The staff at this hotel were very very friendly and always done there best to help u with anything u needed the lady on reception was lovely very friendly and always greeted us every morning, we had a baby in our group and every day the lady on reception would play with her and give her a little kinder choclate ;)
The food was good wide range of food to choose from on every meal. There were 9 in our family group and we all have diferant choice of foods n we all were very happy with the food. Again one man in particular called (memit) head waiter. Very very friendly always made a efort to greet us, make us all feel very welcome. He is a good man and is very good at hes job. Only fault with this hotel but not a bad one is there is no entertainment. Please if u do read the reviews on this hotel do not let it put u of. It is a very nice hotel n we as a group would all definatly retutn. ;) xxx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D|evon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived in the middle of the night so really unable to make any first impression. Oh boy what a dissapointment after the first day in a very basic hotel and after experiencing all 3 dining options of breakfast, lunch and dinner I can honestly say we have never experienced such awful food. Hotel is in a good location but that is where it begins and ends. Can be said you only get what you pay for but this hotel is a no no.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomtomD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The Vela Hotel is situated right in the center of Icmeler, just a short stroll from the beautiful beach. The hotel boasts a large pool & a seperate childrens splash pool. It also has a lovely garden area at the back of the pool,where you can relax under the palm trees. The Vela has recently undergone a makeover for Summer 2014, enhancing an already superb hotel. To book your holiday for 2014, just head to the Hotels4u website where you will find the hotel under it's post makeover name of Streamline Vela. The hotel is still managed by the same fantastic management team and staff, who consistently ensure that their guests have a pleasurable holiday, resulting in many guests returning year after year. With many enjoying several holidays to the hotel per year. Those of you who have visited the Vela previously, know how amazing it is! For those of you who have not... what are you waiting for? You will love it! See you there in July & October Happy holidays...

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Jimbolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel wasn't half bad just a shame about the staff that worked in it. Rude and arrogant and this includes the Jet2 Rep. You could wait 10 minutes or more for the bar staff to be behind the bar however most of the time you had to go looking for them. The food was cold and pretty much inedible. None of us are fussy eaters by any stretch but have left over cold spinach and carrots for breakfast from dinner the night before really isn't acceptable in an AI accommodation.

The upshot.... never ever again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShesAHustlerBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#22 of 78 in Icmeler
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#20 of 78 in Icmeler
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#45 of 78 in Icmeler
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#35 of 78 in Icmeler
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verde Hotel
Verde Hotel
#73 of 78 in Icmeler
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quadas Hotel
Quadas Hotel
#49 of 78 in Icmeler
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vela Hotel Icmeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vela Hotel Icmeler

Property: Vela Hotel Icmeler
Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Kenan Evren Blv. No:11, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vela Hotel Icmeler 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vela Hotel Icmeler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing