We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really enjoyed our stay here”
Review of Union Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Icmeler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Union Palace Hotel
Ranked #62 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really enjoyed our stay here”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

after reading some reviews I was not looking forward to staying here but it was to expensive to change , I am so glad I didn't it was great for us as a couple . it was mainly Turkish only us and another English family there the first week and about four more the second not a lot for children to do as there wasn't any entertainment being mainly Turkish . there was no safety deposit boxes but was able to leave our things in the hotel safe free . the air con was free , there was no shuttle bus as most guests had their own cars , there was no problem getting a sunbed any time of day , the balconies were private and I didn't mind the hill the views are lovely. I don't think its a place to stay if you like to stop in the hotel all the time or out of season but we would stay there again in july/aug but as a regular to turkey nothings ever the same the next year

Room Tip: better views from 3rd floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
18
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was apprehensive as I had read other reviews on tripadvisor but once we got there we were all really happy. The location was good for us as it is set back from the continuous hustle and bustle of Icmeler but within walking distance of restaurants & shops (Sinbads is just at the bottom of the hill along the road and was yummy) further slong Icmeler has lots to offer for varying tastes. The market on a Wednesday is good to try your bartering skills, we walked from the hotel and it took approx 10 mins and was signposted all the way.

The pool was quiet most days which was a luxury and was clean, there were always plenty of beds and good snack food all day for cheap. The staff were great; very helpful - especially Bilal our friendly waiter for the week!

The hotel itself was clean and the rooms were fine. Not sure whether the photos taken previously were the same hotel tbh! It's a 3* hotel and you get a good deal - its not luxurious but for the price we were happy and would stay again.

I would also recommend the spa - I had the Deluxe package and in comparison to UK spas this is a great deal and well worth it whilst you're there! The Turkish foam scrub was a fun experience!

Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Overall bar, reception and waiting staff very efficient and provided an excellent service. Receptionist arranged our confirmation of airport transfer without charge. Bar staff served drinks to table and were very friendly. Hotel quiet for time of year (July 2013), although had more occupants at weekends. This suited us as a couple as not too noisy and we slept really well for the two week stay. Some entertainment provided at weekends, although mainly for adults. Room was a bit dated and could do with upgrade, although it was very spacious and air conditioning was very good. Spa service was excellent and again staff very professional. Good value for money.

Room Tip: A room on the south side preferable and on a higher floor (4-6) as view excellent from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed at the union palace hotel in july 2013 with my 18 month old and husband...


pros

most staff are quite friendly and try there best
other holiday makers were very friendly and without them would defiantly have left.


cons

carpet filthy.bathroom floor filthy.
decoration...dated!!
only two members of staff spoke a small amount of english..no-one else would understand what you were saying.
the breakfast was the same every day..boiled eggs and bread
there is a very large hill to climb when going to and from hotel( they tell you that they offer a free shutter.. THEY DONT)!!!!
and the hill is very steep at least half a mile ...with no lighiting so very hard to see where your going in the dark.
the receptionist who spoke english was veerrry veerrry rude and unprofessional.. and any complaints we made were answered with...'you speak to your rep and leave if you want.'..or 'this is a 4 star hotel madam'.
the safe in the room didnt work and they wanted us to pay an extra 44 TL to use the shared safe.
payed for half board...but after two days they started to charge us for drinking WATER with our meals!!!! ridiculous.
NO HOT WATER!!!
taps would constantly have no water in them.

Fitness centre has no machines.!!
No entertainment room!!
we had no electricity for a whole night including air con and the temperature was 45degrees.(not ideal for anyone definatly not a 18 month old). this was not fixed till the following day.
all rooms state to have a sea view....u can see the sea which is about 100 miles away in the distance!!!...the real view is all trees and nothing else!!!!
they tried to add additional charges for anything they could.
hotel is really far out ,unless you get the bus.(there are lots of other four star hotels in the centre which looked alot better and offered more!!)


WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT!!! at the end of the week we left without letting the receptionist no because of how rude and unprofessional she was!!!

these are just some of the things i can remember!!

be prepared to be disappointed!!

the only positive were some of the friends we made.!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fnaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

the union palace hotel used to be called the panoramic an hotel built for the disabled the used as a staffing house for bar staff and the likes. i booked this hotel through tomascook for myself and my wife for two weeks and we did stay the two weeks i only wished we had found somewhere else. we arrive early in the morning there was no porter to show us to our room on the third floor . we walked out the lift into darkness so i was trying to find our room with a cigarette lighter then the lights came on. i found our room and went inside to the a shock we were not expecting( look at the photos) the next day i complained to reception about the condition of the bedding and pillows (see pic)so the put some pillow cases on i futher had to complain about mites in the bed . they sprayed the room, the furniture in the room was worn out , no hot water ever during our stay. once no water at all, electric sockets hanging off the wall,bear wires showing from lamp. you got a shock off when you used it ,the decoration of the room was filthy , patched up paint work ,scuffed walls and water staining on the ceilings the balcony was always flooded off the air con unit. windows filthy , the bathroom was also filthy . look at the photos they don t lie. unlike some off the people that leave positive reviews about this hotel . myself and my wife were apart from one other couple the only english there. we did see others arrive but didnt see them again(they left i think) the hotel was full of turkish holiday makers .Bookig this hotel was a mistake , in the discription they boast of a games room, a beauty salon, a terrace bar, a cinema room, and a al a cart resturant . ALL CLOSED, SHUT DOWN .i was under the inpression there was a shuttle service to take people down the hill and back up again. as not good walking up in 45 degree heat . tried that , dicided to use taxis instead.. i cant say much about the food as we only went down for breakfast twice , bioled eggs and bread was the only food i could recognise On leaving the hotel i was asked to leave a positive review of this hotel i said i would leave an honest one ,and here it is, Being fair to the staff. they do there best with what they have which in my opinion aint much

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just returned from Union Palace Hotel. July 2013
The Hotel is way back from the bay, with excellent views over town and sea but the buses run very frequently and so there is no wait. The hotel could do with putting up a schedule for the shuttle bus they are supposed to run as the staff don't speak very good English. Caught Taxi back as there is quite a steep incline to return to hotel . Cost approx. 12 TL.
We loved the fact that there were very few English people at hotel and the food was good.
The rooms were airy, a decent size and very clean and the room maids were very obliging of our needs and had a lovely sense of humour. Thank you ladies. Reception staff were very helpful also as were the pool bar staff. The pool was great and we found a very welcome breeze came through the hills and down to the pool side. There were no shortages of parasols either.
We personally didn't like the poolside music too much, very repetitive and no variety.
All in all a very enjoyable experience and we would certainly stay again if we went back to Icemeler. Thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view side of hotel as the views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina-Morgan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Arrived beginning of june at 5am sunday morning hotel is so out of the way our transfer driver got lost '!! It was clear that this a no star hotel !shown first room "sea view " if you had a girraffes neck the standard of our first we decided not staying in this hotel ! The staff tried another three rooms i made it plain not staying no way .felt hotel ws also deserted .Receptionist and manager who got of her bed extremely rude. I had them ring taxi great guy took me icmeler we found the potofino great little family hotel with a great team. Yes it cost a bit more on my spend got good AI deal very reasona ble far better than staying there and arriving home with regrets.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank v040663j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.9 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#49 of 77 in Icmeler
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#4 of 77 in Icmeler
873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#38 of 77 in Icmeler
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Aquarium
Grand Aquarium
#9 of 77 in Icmeler
770 reviews
1.1 mi away
MARTI La Perla Marmaris
MARTI La Perla Marmaris
#31 of 77 in Icmeler
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Palace Hotel

Property: Union Palace Hotel
Address: Golenye Mah. Sivritas Cad. No:3, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing