We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE AT A BUDGET HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dora Portofino Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Icmeler B&B and Inns
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE AT A BUDGET HOTEL”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friend and I (two married women) enjoyed our annual "beach" holiday here despite any negative points about our arrival at the hotel. It is a budget hotel hence me giving it an average rating but the value for money was good. There were plus points and minus points and I will try to be fair and cover both.

The staff were excellent, including all waiters and cleaners who worked extremely hard and were all very friendly and keen to please. However beware of Reception staff who speak with forked tongue! You will see in other reviews that there is an - arrivals - problem. We, and three other parties that we know of were told on arrival during the middle of the night that the air conditioning of our intended rooms had broken down and would not be fixed until morning - always the same story. As a result of this we were to be accommodated overnight in a room in an adjoining apartment block. We trudged up 4 flights of stairs to find that the designated room was a dump. The sofa was quite stained and you'd be frightened to sit down on it. The only bed was a double and my friend and I do not share a bed. We point blank refused to accept this accommodation and demanded to speak to the manager. The guy at reception made a call supposedly to the manager - the result of which was that 2 young guys were asked to clean our room (after 2 a.m. by this time) and - hey presto we found the air conditioning was fine. What we reckon they were doing was letting the rooms on a "day hire" basis to people who had checked out at noon and those people would be charged £30 for the room for the day. The cleaners did not work in the evening and so tourists like ourselves who had paid for 7 nights were punted to the Cell Block H next door. We know that 4 parties over 4 nights and maybe even more were treated in this way.

We and the others were FIZZING!! However we decided to put it behind us and enjoy our holiday. The food was ok despite there being a limited choice (budget hotel remember - want better, pay more). There was always loads of different kinds of salads to choose from and 2 kinds of cheeses including Feta cheese. There was always water melon and also apples, oranges and plums (and/or) available. The main course usually consisted of two "meaty" items - chicken, Turkey or stewed steak or pork. They were nice enough.

I don't drink alcohol but there was diet coke on tap for me and standard coke for my friend from 10 a.m. - occasionally she would have a vodka with her coke. The coffee machine was good and available all day as well.

Many Turkish tourists visit the hotel and all of them, without exception, were lovely people. We took the trouble to learn a few greetings in Turkish and the waiters helped us improve our script of "Goo niden" for Good Morning and "ee-aksam-lar" for Good evening. We could just about manage a sentence by the end of the week. It was a pleasure to be in their company and we made a few Turkish friends and exchanged addresses.

We told Reception at the start that we required more coat hangars, an extra pillow and a clean shower curtain and this was seen to immediately so no complaints there. The swimming pool was spotless and well maintained.

This is my second trip to Turkey this year and despite our arrivals upset we both had a lovely week. My husband and I are returning to Marmaris in September (Grand Pasa Hotel) and so we are hanging on in there.

Turkey is a beautiful country and the Marmaris coast is second to none. I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Refuse to be decanted to any "holding" dump. Stick to your guns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wendyhouse20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    21
    17
    22
See reviews for
35
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fortnight's holiday. It was our first time in Turkey and we had read some of the reviews and were a little concerned about the comments regarding the hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday,one our first night we had a room on the front of the hotel and as we live in the countryside we found this quite noisy, the manager moved us to a quieter room once we said that we were struggling to sleep. The waiters were very helpful and practiced their English on us, which was just as well as we speak no Turkish!! We can't speak highly enough of both the hotel and the staff. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leicestersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first time in Iclemer and at Portofino, the hotel is family run and has been refurbished. The room was good, clean, spacious, air conditioned,free. Breakfast was great. Great staff. Erdem was the cheeky barman. Always very polite and friendly,give it a go.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zarda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

portofino hotel , very good staff , good meals, enjoyable for everybody..............................
only 50 meters from the beach, and 8 km to marmaris center......................................
rooms are renovated and comfortable............................
enjoy it..........................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is my fifth time in Icmeler and my first time in the Dora Portifino. If you are a fussy eater and don't plan on eating in the restaurants in Icmeler then forget this Hotel, if you are traveling with the intention of making the most of the all inc drinks and using the beach or pool then this hotel may be one of the best in terms of price and location. This is from far the worst hotel in Icmeler having stayed in the worst rated my self as the rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms need a serious make over but for the purpose of a toilet and shower it did it's job. The hotel offers wifi and a pool bar but be warned the music is awful. I asked of I could put my ipod on to play some relaxing bob Marley or jack Johnson however the bar staff said the boss said no even though we never saw the boss personally! The music around the pool is very loud and contains genres such as rap, hip-hop and the weirdes dance music ever turning chart hit songs into dub step and house music so you have been warned. If you purpose of travel is to get a cheap hotel in Icmeler to use the beach and restaurants then this hotel can be recommended as it's location is superb.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langfordjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

notts uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

arrived 5am, after a two and a half hour transfer,woken several times due to mosque, cockerel,coach drop offs across the road making the window rattle of which there were many all through the night. chairs scrapping from 8 am, we were above the dining room. only one cotton bottom sheet, and a rough cover.bathroom flooded every shower because the curtain was too short.
£30 safe deposit box.eggs and salad breakfast, chicken and more chicken every meal.cake in the afternoon. I was refused drinks because there was too many on the table all belonging to someone,they didn`t have more than one each , I and my husband had none,they came to the table and asked who`s drink was who`s,was told no vodka left, and then straight away served someone with it, told same about carton orange drink,and as someone else said after a few days we were also told tonic water was chargeable.there are not two bars there is only one, which closes at 10.30.The pool we saw cleaned once during our two week stay.all inclusive finishes at lunch time on departure day.depending on who you ask, too many chiefs.£30 late check out room and £15 pp for all inclusive.we ate and drank out several times more than we expected to, so all in all, not a good hotel to go to. Icmeler was fine.

Room Tip: not overlooking the pool too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo7762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 4th June till the 17th for the money we paid it was value for money . The rooms had been renovated with laminate flooring much better than carpet. Only had one cold shower and our bathroom was okay.Liked the location everything on hand, also being a small hotel met some nice people . The two things I had a problem with was the food and drinks . I understand that meat is expensive in Turkey but we had some form of chicken everyday to the extent haven't eaten any since returning home must admit it was cooked well,this wasn't the end of the world as we ate out a few times.The drinks are monitered and as somebody else says they watch your table like hawks.The last day we didn't leave till 5.40 and the barman wouldn't give us anymore drinks after 12.00 I only wanted a sprite have stayed in other AI and always have the same pick ups never encountered that before. So all in all it was okay but the Bar Manager s attitude leaves a lot to be desired .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmad93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.0 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#36 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elite World Marmaris Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#46 of 78 in Icmeler
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mersoy Bellavista Suites
Mersoy Bellavista Suites
#31 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#29 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Portofino Hotel

Property: Dora Portofino Hotel
Address: Kayabal cad. No 82-82A, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dora Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dora Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing