We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews - this Holiday was AMAZING !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews - this Holiday was AMAZING !!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here....however, I really don't know what's wrong with some people ?? It was FANTASTIC!
POOL
2 pools, 1 with 2 slides, the other just a pool for swimming/playing games etc...
We didn't experience any problems with getting sunbeds, however, my partner did put out towels by 8.30am every morning. Didn't witness any others having problems, there did seem to be beds available throughout the day ??
ROOMS
We were put in the villa bungalows as there were 7 of us in our party, they were clean, very spacious but VERY dated (the only slight let-down of the holiday)
Our friends joined us part-way through holiday and they were in the main hotel, the rooms were nice but rather small.
FOOD
WOW - absolutely amazing! The main restaurant did get a little like a canteen throughout the holiday, although the food was GORGEOUS and FRESH and LOADS of it.
The other 3 restaurants were lovely, although you are told on arrival that you have to book these 24 hours ahead - we had to book 48 hours in advance, so my tip would be to organise your meals so you make the most of theses other restaurants (fish restaurant you are required to pay extra for) the Camalik Turkish Restaurant was lovely.
BEACH
Well not really a beach as such, no sand, just concrete path with pebbles into sea. Large jetty out with lots of sunbeds and ladders into sea - GORGEOUS!!
Lovely walks - turn left into Marmaris (approx 45 mins) turn right to Icmeler (approx 20 mins) both worth doing - Icmeler is lovely with pleanty of shops, restaurants and bars and very picturesque.
STAFF
All very pleasant and friendly - the Animation Team are absolutely BRILLIANT! they work so hard and are so lovely - especially Izo and Niko - they made our holiday so enjoyable...
We were a party of 4 adults, 4 teenagers, 2 4 year olds and an infant.
This hotel is in a fantastic location with beautiful views. Would definitely go back again...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBBALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    434
    248
    123
    93
See reviews for
743
487
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We went to this hotel for our honeymoon and were quite worried after reading some of the reviews,i think the best tip is remember a turkish 5* is not the same as an english 5* ...had a wonderful time,we were in a villa which was good,could of done with a lick of paint but it was clean and kept clean,(towels,floors,beds ect)a good size 2 and huge balcony,arrived in the early hrs and seen to and settled in very quickly and a lovely fruit bowl,bottle of wine, water and pop in the fridge for us,staff were great,very friendly and helpfull and seemed shocked to get a please and thankyou!!!!!the food...the food halls were huge,one was mainly cold foods the other hot,had no complaints here either most of the hot is cooked fresh in front of you and a large choice and the cold food is just as good,found a table every time no problem an if it needed a clean it was done very quickly for you,after a couple of days our table for two was being saved for us,we also went to the italian and turkish restaurants for the included meal,prefered the italian but thats just our personal choice and "jimmy" really went all out to look after us he was a star..pool/beach area..pool was busy and lively,very clean 2,sunbeds are taken quickly but this happens in any hotel, we went to the beach area for a couple of hrs most days,bit more relaxed which is just what we wanted,staff were constantly cleaning the pathways an shower areas,great little pasta food bar an bar..we spent most evenings at the sultan bar with a cocktail or two,had entertainment on (duo/band)again a nice chilled out evening...there was always plenty goin on around the hotel but you also had plenty of places to escape if you wanted a quieter time. we really dont get what all the complaints on here are about,but we didn,t see any other rooms and other guests behaviour is not the hotels fault,we had a lovely holiday and defo would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just returned from this hotel which we stayed at for 10 nights. The location is beautiful and it is within easy access to Icmeler and Marmaris. On arrival we were given a room in the annexe building next to the main hotel block, the room was very grubby with stains on the carpet and generally below standard. After complaining and getting nowhere we spoke to our rep who managed to get us changed to a room in the main block which was lovely, such a difference from the annexe, although we did have to pay extra.

The food was not too bad but very much the same each day and just didnt vary much.
It was good to be able to eat in the italian and turkish restaurants for a change and the food was very nice. The staff in the main restaurant are lovely and very helpful.

There are several bars, the service is not great, many of the staff are not impressed if you disturb them while they are texting on their phones behind the bar! Sometimes you felt a bit of a pest asking for a drink.

We found the russian guests do not queue and it gets very frustrating when you queue and they jump in.

It was very difficult to get sunbeds by the pool unless you got up early, most beds are reserved with towels and nobody arrves until late afternoon, this seems to be an ongoing problem in most hotels though.

We did enjoy our stay as the views around the hotel are unbelievable but there are some areas that management really need to look at as this hotel has great potential with some changes!

Room Tip: Main building rooms only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011



Best Regards,
Rashid Mustafa



Begin forwarded message:

From: Rashid <world7867@gmail.com>
Date: 25 July 2011 04:59:21 AM GMT+01:00
To: world7867@gmail.com

We have just returned from hotel mares. We have 2 children (6 & 2).  I have to say the hotel is not 5 star. The hotel is a good hotel, considering what paid. The service, activities, food, location are all excellent.  I have stayed in many hotels and have to say this was a very good place to stay.

The hotel is about to go ISO 9002 therefore any feedback given is taken seriously. The hotel has 4 pools 2 of which are for children with 2 watersides only one water-slide is good as it is slow.

Food was great, great choices of salads and meats. Obviously when you see it everyday it does become boring but I suppose us humans are not happy even if we have everything.  

The wether was fantastic. 34 degrees. (June 20th to 27th)

One let down was the time it took to get to the hotel from the airport 2 hours approx, not easy with the kids.

The hotel had Brits but mostly the people were Russians, polish and italians. We kept ourselves to our selves.  The kids club was great with a disco every night.

Overall I would give the hotel 6.5 out of 10

Would we come again........... Yes

Hope the review helped because the other reviews didn't help me decide.

Mehmet in coffee shop was very nice and helpful all the time even when checking in at 3am in the morning. Recommendation he gets a promotion if your the general manager reading this.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rashid7867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hi! I really do not understand all those positive reviews... Really! It couldn't be worse. I stayed in the Hotel with my family and I can surely say, that I recalled my visits to Egipt (strange as it may be!)! It's NOT a 5 star hotel in fact. The service, cleaning, furniture, beach etc. are not too good to remember. Our linen has never been changed, as an example. Maybe we were the lucky ones. I don't know. I will never reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RMargo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Beautifully situated, hotel, - took about 30-40 minutes to walk through to Icmeler. Food was really good - from freshly cooked pancakes/omelettes for breakfast to freshly cooked meat, filled turkish flatbreads to lovely salads. They were quick to replenish and the waiters all really friendly and helpful. Cutlery was highly sought after in main restaurant! Pizzeria and Turkish restaurants nice for lunch and you get served (no need to book at lunchtime), a la carte in the evening was quite nice too. Main pool was a bit deep for me, but OK for the rest of the family. You could usually find some free sunbeds around the pool during the day, but if you wanted a block together you would need to get up by about 7.30 - the chairs/tables around the pool bar are a good substitute if you can't find loungers. Internet access in the hotel lobby was great but often intermittent or unavailable. Cash - you can just take English 10's or 20's - all the shops/markets/watersports etc take either pounds or lira - when we paid in pounds we got change in pounds - money easily exchanged over there if required. There is a free safe in the room, you just programme in your pin code. When we arrived at 4.30am we were put into one of the 2 bedroom bungalows which was about the furthest away from the hotel - I'm not going to go into detail but it was absolutely disgusting!! We immediately phoned reception and said it was not acceptable and they said to come up at 12 noon and we would be moved (no argument). We were offered another 2 bedroom bungalow which was much nicer and had obviously been refurbished, not recently, but much better - so not all bungalows are of the same standard. Maid service in the bungalows was very minimal and the towels I think were only changed once without us asking for clean ones. A scam which we encountered the day before leaving - maid came into clean bungalow, chose a few items of clothing of mine which she fancied and hid them under the beds (2 items under bed in one bedroom and 1 item under each of the single beds in the other bedroom). I guess she thought as we would be in the middle of packing we wouldn't notice, however I was going to wear one of the items on the plane so went on a hunt and found the 4 items stashed away ready to pick up the next day once we had checked out!! I was not surprised when I didn't receive a reply to the mail I sent to the manager to make him aware of this, so be warned!! All in all a good holiday though.

Room Tip: Complain quickly if you get put in one of the horrible bungalow's and watch out for the thieving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

After initially being a bit apprehensive about booking a sunsaver deal (allocation on arrival) and seeing some of the other hotels that people were being allocated in, we were VERY pleased with where we were placed.

The hotel is just outside of Marmaris - in some brochures I think it's actually classed as Icmeler - so was quieter than expected. The room was amazing - very clean and a decent size, with lovely views over the Dolphin park.

The food was lovely - we couldn't get enough - good variety and plenty of it! Staff were extremely friendly and really made us welcome.

We've recommended it to all our friends/family and wouldn't hesitate returning to the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikkineal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marmaris Park Hotel
Marmaris Park Hotel
#12 of 77 in Icmeler
1,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
656 reviews
1.0 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Marmaris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labranda Mares Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labranda Mares Marmaris

Property: Labranda Mares Marmaris
Address: Icmeler Mah. Ataturk Cad. No: 64, Icmeler 48700, Turkey (Formerly Grand Yazıcı Club Marmaris Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#32 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Labranda Mares Marmaris 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as Grand Yazici Mares, this 440-room, all-inclusive resort is ideally located on the beach within the pine woods of Içmeler, Pamucak and in close proximity to Marmaris center. With a wide range of recreational facilities including, 4 swimming pools, a tennis club, kids activities, and water sports, LABRANDA Mares Marmaris is an ideal resort for families and couples alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Labranda Mares Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mares Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing