We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've booked to go back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We've booked to go back again!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was a lovely holiday. We arrived around 3.30 am and staff were straight out to help us with baggage etc. We were shown to one of the villas, there were 5 of staying in the villa but unfortunately there was no bedding for the 5th member (bed settee!). and rang reception x2 but took about an hour for them to come. I have to admit I was a bit dsiappointed with the standard of the villa for 4 star, it was very basic and was considering asking to be moved in the morning. However, on waking and looking out of the window I would not have moved for anything - the view was lovely, overlooking the sea and mountains, this more than made up for the accommodation. It was very clean, maids in every day, great air conditionng etc. The pools were good, the entertainment team amusing and trying to get everyone involved but not being too pushy. I even won a game of bingo by the pool! Foodwise there was a vast selection, from salads, meats, soups, bread, pastries, pasta, noodles (very popular),vegetables, fruit, desserts, all of a very good quality considering the numbers they were catering for. If you missed lunch you could go for snacks to the Italian or Turkish restaurant and were also able to book a la carte for the evenings. Everyone we spoke to really enjoyed this hotel, even though some had problems with their accommodation -broken air conditioning, mattress on floor as mentioned by other reviewees but were all rectified immediately and didn't spoil anyones holiday. A negative is the already mentioned ice-creams only served for one hour/day but then again I don't want my children eating ice-cream all day either so it wasn't really an issue. There were great trips available, turkish spa, boat trips etc and the area is a lovely scenic place, ideally placed within walking distance from Icemeler along the beach side or by taxi or bus to Marmaris. Would definitely recommend this area and hotel and we are definitely going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    394
    230
    112
    85
See reviews for
583
390
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This a fair value hotel, but not 5* by EU standards - probably more like a 4*. It's well away from the brashness of Marmaris but an enjoyable 30 mins walk along the promenade to the smaller and quieter Icmeler.

Food was varied and excellent. Well presented and well cooked and plenty of it, even if you don't go as soon as the resturant opens. Room was simple and clean and very effective air conditioning for a good night's sleep out of the humidity. We found all the staff friendly - be polite and naturally they will be polite back to you.

We stayed in one of the garden rooms. Enormous balcony with the four bedded room, cleaned daily. Gardens beautifully maintained and regularly tidied. You have the choice to sunbathe at the pool complex at the hotel or the man-made seafront area. The latter is attractively laid out with crazy rock paving with cafe areas and pontoons/ piers to sunbathe on and swim to. Water was very clear and clean.

If I have any criticisms, they would be 1. that the pool area is quite intense with music constantly being played and the activities organised by the animation team (the seafront area is not like this) and 2. EVERYONE reserves sunbeds early despite signs about not doing this, if you don't do this you will miss out - the staff don't police it.

Don't buy anything of value through the hotel shop 'Nevski'. Although this is independent from the hotel, we were cheated into buying some branded jewellery (we knew/ he told us it was fake), but the allegedly silver plating immediately wore off - hassle to replace it and the separate beads do not fit the bracelets now we are home. Watch out!

Don't book any trips through your hotel rep - you will pay through the nose for them. There are plenty of booking desks along the promenade and in the towns MUCH cheaper than at your hotel. We especially enjoyed the great fun jeep safari and lazy days boat cruise around the bays.

All in, a great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mijawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We arrived late Sunday night, could believe the room we were put in. Smelly, dirty, broken floor tiles, unfinished grouting, rotten interior door frames, insects, fridge corroded, fag butts and paper cups on the patio.

We went to reception and complained, but they said they could do nothing till the morning. Eventually though, after more complaining and the porter telling the receptionist that the room was smelly, we were moved to a room of the same standard that didn't smell. The following morning we complained again and were eventually moved into a single room in the hotel, not ideal when you've two older teenage girls who'd been looking forward to a 5 star room. On the Tuesday they moved us to a two room suite, which was better but still not 5 star even by Turkish standards.

Food was good, if you go in the restaurant early when it opens at 7pm, the salads and sweets are set out like a work of art. The staff in the restaurant are friendly, we had many a laugh with 'Ridvan'.

Sunbeds, get up early and set your gear out, we've never had to do this before on other holidays we've had, but if you don't there's nothing left by 8.30am.

The hotel has a lot of Russians visitor, who are pushy and rude. I made a point of being very polite to the staff, this pays off when returning to the bar/restaurant later.

Would return to Turkey again, and even though it worked out for us in the end, we wouldn't return to this hotel. There are real 5 Star hotels out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here as a family of five with three teenagers. (16,15,13)
Rooms-
We had 2 rooms in the main hotel right above the lobby entrance. They were fairly standard rooms, one being a double room and the other an originally double room with a sofa/camp bed added in. Both rooms were kept very clean and fresh by an excellent house keeping team. However one of the rooms had a leaking shower, which as soon as you turned on flooded the hallway. The handheld part of the shower was coming off the wall, the lamp next to the bed was coming off the wall to the point that if you even so much as touched it, it would tip to one side which soon became very annoying as it was falling on top of my daughters head constantly. The light in the walk in wardrobe was faulty and when you turned it on it flashed, this soon happened to the shower light aswell.
Food-
Well, there was definitely plenty of it! There were many choices for eating including a pizzeria, a seafood restaurant, a fish restaurant and my daughter's favourite, the pasta bar on the beach. Having said that, the food really wasn't of good quality and we were all very quickly absolutely fed up with the choice. (However, my daughter did find the chips very tasty!!) Towards the end of the holiday we ate out every night, we found going to the main restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner seemed to wear on us quite quickly! A few days into the holiday, we found that the staff in the main restaurant 'recycled' the fruit that people had left on the plates. We discovered a secret cupboard with plates of watermelon and various other fruits and apples and peaches that had been touched, but not eaten. We wondered why they were so bruised and we didn't eat the fruit salad after that!
ICE CREAM AND SLUSH PUPPIES ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE PRICE! It costs 5TL per ice cream or slushie, and although they were very tasty it was very annoying to have paid for an all inclusive holiday and for the children to have to be finding us and asking for money twice a day!
Staff-
Honestly, if you are nice to them, they will be nice to you. The boys at the beach bar and the sultan bar were very friendly and courteous.
Location-
The views across the sea and the bay of Marmaris were absolutely stunning. We really enjoyed the sea and our daughters found the 3 blue floating decks on the sea a great place to hang out with friends! However, you have to get up really early to secure those sunbeds and I mean about 7:30 in the morning! Don't just leave your towels there, leave some personal belongings otherwise people will come along and throw your towels off the bed so that they can use them!
Other guests-
Without wishing to start an international incident, we have to say that some of the other nationalities that also stayed in the hotel had absolutely no manners and were some of the rudest people we have encountered!! They would barge to the front of queues, they even grabbed the chips scoop out of my daughters hand whilst she was serving herself! If the Brits get put to the bottom of the pile by the staff, it's only in their own self preservation as many of the other nationalities just shouted at them!
Water Sports-
Good fun and affordable! My son and two daughters all went on 'the great big mable' which is a large seat pulled along by a speed boat going at tremendous speeds! Occasionally, the drivers would go so fast around corners that people would fall off, after all, you're only holding on to a strap, so be warned about falling off in the middle of the sea! Banana boating was also alot of fun!
Activities-
We didn't spend any time with the entertainment team but they were certainly very noisy and from what I saw it looked very enjoyable for younger kids! We enjoyed the pool table and the slides very much! (The red slide being one of the fastest my kids have been on! Going down the slide on a ring was great fun, my daughter says!) However, both of my daughters got ear infections, probably from the pool. The Doctor was excellent but they don't mess about and believe in getting your treatment started quickly with an injection in your bum!

Overall we enjoyed our holiday but we think we had some of the better bedrooms which is important to us. Would we go back; for the stunning views, absolutely, but we would have to be guaranteed a good room and would eat out every night.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the main hotel above the reception lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Hotel:

The hotel has the potential to be a good 4* plus but only if they had a different clientele and different staff. Our room was a nice size and had a modern bathroom and walk in wardrobe. The maid service (I use this term loosely as there is no maid service) was appalling! We never had our towels changed and we had to ring down for towels and toilet paper. If the maid did clean the room she didn’t come until late afternoon and left our balcony door open!

Location:

I can’t fault the location, very scenic and great views.

Sun loungers:

We chose to sunbath by the beach everyday as you were packed in like sardines by the pool! We had a problem with ‘space invaders’ by the loungers. After being in the sea we would often come back to the lounger and find someone had moved under our umbrella and put their loungers on top of ours so we were practically touching (it was so close that I told my boyfriend if he laid next to them I would consider it cheating!)

Food:

Worst food I have had in a hotel. Nothing fresh and completely catered towards the Russians and Germans. Even the croissants had German sausage in them (Just what I want in the morning when I’m nursing a hangover) Russians and Germans have no concept of queuing and would push in front of you and go as far as removing the serving spoon from your hand. My partner and I found if you linked arms it was harder for them to climb on your back to take the serving spoon!

Bars:

We enjoyed the bars and drank at the Sultan bar most evenings. The alcohol was ok but not the best I have had in an all inclusive. Only negative about the Sultan bar is the lack of seating, however it was entertaining to watch a Russian women try and reserve a table at 7 with a cream scarf and not return to the table until 10 to find her scarf had been moved or being used as a table mat for red wine.

Staff:

The rudest staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. They discriminate against the British and they will only serve you if you are Russian. The cake portions are also completely different depending on whether you are Russian or British. If you ask the staff for anything, if you are lucky you get a rude reply otherwise you just get ignored! Only friendly member of staff was the shisha man.

Lovely location, shame about the hotel, staff and the space invaders.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chloer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Villa room unclean smells of toilets, with unwelcome inhabitants. The room we moved to in the main Hotel was of a better cleaner standard. The food became very monotonous and our children would only eat chips and bread after day two. Ice cream and lollies for the kids are for sale at a marked up price, add 3 or 4 of them a day and you see that it isn't all inclusive and choice of drinks is very small. All in all I think standards at this Hotel are falling well below 4/5 star rating but it is in a really good position and the staff are friendly

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Obejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here....however, I really don't know what's wrong with some people ?? It was FANTASTIC!
POOL
2 pools, 1 with 2 slides, the other just a pool for swimming/playing games etc...
We didn't experience any problems with getting sunbeds, however, my partner did put out towels by 8.30am every morning. Didn't witness any others having problems, there did seem to be beds available throughout the day ??
ROOMS
We were put in the villa bungalows as there were 7 of us in our party, they were clean, very spacious but VERY dated (the only slight let-down of the holiday)
Our friends joined us part-way through holiday and they were in the main hotel, the rooms were nice but rather small.
FOOD
WOW - absolutely amazing! The main restaurant did get a little like a canteen throughout the holiday, although the food was GORGEOUS and FRESH and LOADS of it.
The other 3 restaurants were lovely, although you are told on arrival that you have to book these 24 hours ahead - we had to book 48 hours in advance, so my tip would be to organise your meals so you make the most of theses other restaurants (fish restaurant you are required to pay extra for) the Camalik Turkish Restaurant was lovely.
BEACH
Well not really a beach as such, no sand, just concrete path with pebbles into sea. Large jetty out with lots of sunbeds and ladders into sea - GORGEOUS!!
Lovely walks - turn left into Marmaris (approx 45 mins) turn right to Icmeler (approx 20 mins) both worth doing - Icmeler is lovely with pleanty of shops, restaurants and bars and very picturesque.
STAFF
All very pleasant and friendly - the Animation Team are absolutely BRILLIANT! they work so hard and are so lovely - especially Izo and Niko - they made our holiday so enjoyable...
We were a party of 4 adults, 4 teenagers, 2 4 year olds and an infant.
This hotel is in a fantastic location with beautiful views. Would definitely go back again...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBBALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.5 mi away
Marmaris Park
Marmaris Park
#14 of 78 in Icmeler
991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
2,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 78 in Icmeler
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#3 of 78 in Icmeler
693 reviews
3.1 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#4 of 78 in Icmeler
1,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Marmaris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labranda Mares Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labranda Mares Marmaris

Property: Labranda Mares Marmaris
Address: Icmeler Mah. Ataturk Cad. No: 64, Icmeler 48700, Turkey (Formerly Grand Yazıcı Club Marmaris Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#10 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#11 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#32 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Labranda Mares Marmaris 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as Grand Yazici Mares, this 440-room, all-inclusive resort is ideally located on the beach within the pine woods of Içmeler, Pamucak and in close proximity to Marmaris center. With a wide range of recreational facilities including, 4 swimming pools, a tennis club, kids activities, and water sports, LABRANDA Mares Marmaris is an ideal resort for families and couples alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Labranda Mares Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mares Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing