We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base for holiday but watch out for the russians!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
galston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good base for holiday but watch out for the russians!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

just arrived back after 10 day holiday at this hotel.hotel in good location just outside marmaris and only about 20min walk to icmeler along the coastal prom.hotel itself was nice and comfy though rooms and corridors in need of major refurbishment.we were allocated a large room with plenty of space to move about.the biggest downside were the russians, very rude and they do not know the meaning of queuing always barging their way to the front and the food and drink they wasted was scandalous, even the waiters looked totally disgusted at what they had to throw in the bin.like the majority of all inclusive, the food was good though repetative by the end of the holiday

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smllfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    406
    232
    113
    85
See reviews for
613
412
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We went at the end of may for a week. overall we had a fantatsic holiday and the position of the hotel is excellent. About an hour walk to Marmaris centre (or 15 minutes and 2.5 lira using the many local dolmesh - great fun). Going the other way it was about 45 minute walk to Icmeler. As you will have read the the Mares is not 5 star. We booked 2 separate rooms as our son and his friend came too. Initially we were offered a family suite which we were shown.This was a little tired and so without any fuss we were given 2 separate rooms. These were clean and tidy and spacious but just showing signs of needing to be renovated. Thats not to say scruffy but just needs updating. My wife chatted away to the cleaners who were great and made an effort to make the room look pretty with flowers petals over the bed. Not having been on an all inclusive before we were a little over whelmed by the volume of people eating in the main hotel and the Russians, of which there are many are very rude.....ze germans are positively friendly as a comparison! Thats said there is a great restaurant right by the beach for snacks which I think not many people realised was part of the hotel as well a pizzeria so you could eat away from the masses if you wanted. You could also book certain restauarant which were a la carte at no cost. These were very good. You can have a pool day or go to an exclusive jetty which was quiet or get a sunbed down by the beach........all were great.
To the beach/sea is literally a minute walk from the main hotel.
Facilities were good and there are a few shops within the hotel which offer a reasonably priced range of goods. Plenty of bars and the free drinks were okay and we never had to wait to be served.
Overall we had a great holiday and as long as you dont expect the Waldorf or Ritz this is a good safe bet. Make sure you explore the hotel and see the ladies at the 'guest relations' to find out whats available. Make friends with the staff......they work hard and so when they get a friendly guest they really try hard.......
Boat trips, water sports, Dolphins are literally a few minutes away and loads to do. Marmaris was superb for shopping and restauarants and not expensive at all.
If you are a hotel dweller and dont move off sight.......there is better out there but maybe more expensive. If you like to spend time in the hotel but also get out and about its perfect. Be sure to say hello to Mehmet who was brilliant in the morning when having breakfast and always had a smile for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purdysburn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here All inclusive for 2 weeks into mid June and wouldn't go there again - more 3* throughout. Aircon in the 'bungalow' allocated was atrocious - sewer smells if turned on, so beware. Sick on the walkways, too. Tired by the transfer which took OVER 3 HOURS [ transfers4u] we stayed in it one night and were moved the next day to an older better block with better beds + good balcony although not too keen on cat poo on the landings/ linkway. Better than rats though!. Sea swimming OK, but pool crowded and noisy. Food was definitely 3* but plentiful + good range of salads. Our biggest gripe was the numbers of uncontrolled children racing about in the restaurant in the evening- and also the heavy handedness of some parents, hitting etc. So much for 7-8pm for dining with children. Our solution was to book the fish restaurant [20 euro extra each] or pizzeria [no charge]. Dolphins seemed cared for and many children with disabilities were, we think, there for the therapy. These were not the rowdy ones, incidentally. Only a few UK clients when we were there. You need to realise this is a BIG complex.with great potential if organised better. EG - one cook doing fried eggs and omelettes and queues of 30+; No separate dining area for couples ie no kids

Room Tip: If you are there to relax go for old block away from main block and bungalows. Brush up your Easte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olduns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

firstly i will start by saying it looks like a 5 star but the service is more like a 2 star! there was 5 of us and on the first night we were put in a family room with no air con and we had paid for 2 rooms. we got there early hours of the morning and was extremely tired so for me this was an issue, especially as i'm pregnant. the next day after little sleep i was exhausted and we did get upgraded rooms after a lot of trying. not a great start to our 5 day holiday.

the food is average, nothing special tbh. you have to pay for ice cream and cakes as they are extra. you also have to put a deposit of 20tl for a beach towel you borrow.

as check out is at 12, i tried to get a late checkout the second day i got there as our flight didn't leave till early hours of the morning and our transfer was picking us up at 10.30pm, so between 12 and 22.30 we had no room/shower or anywhere to rest. they asked us to come to reception on the day to receive a late check out, which i did and they said they had nothing. i don't get how you can accommodate more guest when the ones that are already here are not satisfied. the reason it was a big issue is I wasn't well and needed rest as i had a bit of an episode on the 3rd day there, due to lack of sleep and food i had a small seizure. if it was only me i wouldn't have been too bothered but because i was pregnant it was scary being in a different country. you can imagine how tired i was by the time i got home which was till 9am english time the next day. i needed a good rest before i got the flight home but i didn't which really got to me as i was already scared of something happening to baby. Late checkout was a necessity for me as i needed the rest but they didn't seem to understand this.
i got home drained and saw dr asap, baby was fine just needed a good rest and some decent food.

I feel like you should get what you paid for and we definatley didn't. Gutted to be honest expected a good girly holiday and came back never wanting to go turkey again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sav1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Firstly let me say that the hotel looks amazing on all the web sites, this is really not the case.

We arrived late afternoon, checked in and had our cases brought to us by a jolly chap.
The "villa/bungalow/apartment" was tired and dated, needs modernising. The air conditioning was adaquate. However all air con is switched off from the early hours of the morning until 4pm, so if you want to sleep in, be aware it gets like a suana.

The bathroom was tired, a tiny bin (broken), the sealant around the bath was mouldy.
The television in our room had missing buttons, and the remote did not work( much to our teenage childrens disgust)

The cleaning service was an absolute joke. We were left with no toilet roll for three days, despite a call to housekeeping. we were only given three towels (4 guests). some days the cleaner did even come. at all. On one occassion we returned to a blue plastic bin bag, dumped outside our door, with toilet roll, and bedding and a towel in .Our floor was not mopped once during our two week stay.And the bathroom was not touched, apart from emptying the bin.The bed was very uncomfortable, the pillow was like it was full of matted cotton wool balls.

The main restaurant in the hotel was light and attractive, boasting ouside dining over looking the sea. Buffet service, Find a table if you were lucky not to be run over by a russian.
Food looks fabulous in entrance, nice little entre dishes, salads etc, however, did not match on taste..
Queue up for hot food, russians push straight in front of you, Pile thier plates so high that you have to ruthless and forcefull.
Their is not enough staff to clear and re-lay the tables, so you can be sat at a dirty table for 5 mins before it was cleared and re laid.

The pools are clean but a dreadfull aroma from the drains .Far to many sunbeds , i like space.
The surface is very slippery, The drinks spilt on the floor, remained their all day, so a wasp infestation was upon us daily.The kids loved the slides in the top pool. Daily entertainment around the pool was awfull. The music was so loud, and the commentator was even louder.
i can only liken it to Butlins .You have to put a deposit down for the towels, which were old and tatty, and can only be changes twice a week.


The beach area was lovely, quite serene in comparison to the pool area, plentiful sunbeds and a lovely friendly bar man "Ferdi". Paved area , no sand.

Plus points, plentiful seating areas for drinks and coffee, over looking the sea. The sunsets are beautiful. The waiters at the Sultan bar were friendly and helpfull.

No ice creams for the children were included, despite being advertised on the website as all inclusive. Waffles and icecream were extra at the pool bar, with a funny attentative employee..

Despite tatty external paintwork, the garden areas were kept well maintained and are very pretty.

So to sum up, a very expensive holiday with great expectations of a 5*, to find meager 3* hotel and service. very disapointing , and will not recommend , and definately will not be returning.

We are regular travellers and have stayed in better 4* accomodation. Don't go there!!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are far better than the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Be patient with me as I feel I have a few good points :)

Hotel - Very grand looking and one of the best we've been too. Loads of rooms to enjoy drinks in. Plenty of balcony's to sit out on with a sea view.

Rooms - We seemed to be upgraded for free to a sea view room in one of the separate apartment blocks set aside from the main hotel. Stunning views. Rooms need updating but they do the trick. Smelt a bit foisty. You can also have a sea view from the Hotel. A garden view can be one of the lower apartment blocks or the block that overlooks the car park.

Sun Loungers - There seemed plenty at a first glance but if your not up early enough they'll all be gone! The private 'beach' area (no beach but lovely stoned flooring overlooking the sea) is packed with loungers. The best place to get the sun all day is the Jetti out over the water right by the pool bar. You literally have to get up at 6am if you want these loungers!! if someone see's you going they'll jump in your grave!! Note - if all else fails people dont realise that the other Jetti that the boats are allowed to Moore up too is owned by the hotel and is for your use. Think green wooden loungers are provided.

Bars - There are 5 bars. One pool side. One just below the pool. One inside of the hotel opposite reception. One next to the dinning hall and one beside the sea. Only the bar below the pool area and the 2 bars in the hotel serve 'spirits' alcohol drinks. The pool and sea front bars serve larger and wine only. I found this annoying as I dont drink either so had a bit of a walk if I fancied a drink while sunbathing by the sea.

Dinning - The main dinning hall with indoor and outdoor eating. Your not seated so its first come first served. I apparently seat in someone's seat (a russian women was non too pleased). Food is in the plenty - salad, posh looking individual starters on spoons. Lots of fish, rice, chips, crepes, pizza, chicken/lamb dishes. Loads of the usual puddings. NO special night. 3 other restaurants available at the hotel but you have to book. 1 free booking for 1 weeks stay 2 free bookings for 2 weeks stay. Book early.

Pool - We never stayed around here as it was packed with children and there is a water slide. Plenty of sun loungers but believe me they need them for the size of the hotel. If your not there early enough then you'll not get one.

Dolphin Experience - The dolphin therapy experience is built over the water to the left of the hotel. We couldn't resist and loved it.

Water sports - Plenty available and we paid £50 for 2 single para sailing.

Turkish baths - The hotel has a spa. Its in Euro's and is more expensive but more personal for this experience. We went with the rep and it was like being herded like cattle from one room to the other with 15 other people. Still a unique experience.

24hr Cake shop (most are free for all inclusive)

Downside - The hotel has mostly Russian guests. Unfortunately they can come across as very rude. They don't know how to queue and slap there hands on bars to yell out 'wine!' 'beer!'. You literally have to fight for your food sometimes as its a free for all.

Upside - One of the best looking hotel's in the area. Set aside and private. Looks lovely and grand with lovely well kept gardens.

Room Tip: Garden view can sometimes mean car park which is not the best. Sea view can be the apartment blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Just returned from my first holiday in Turkey, staying at the Mares. We stopped in a family apartment and as others said they are a little tired and could do with some modernising, especially the shower/toilet and upgrading the air conditioning. Maybe enough of an issue for some to complain but the amount of time we spent in the apartment was minimal. The apartment was cleaned daily, towels changed and fridge stocked with 3-4 bottles of water.

The main hotel was clean and modern (can't comment on rooms here though). Hotel staff were very friendly and some seemed to go out of their way to make conversation with you and make you feel welcome. They also work very hard!

We were all inclusive, no complaints about the beer or cocktails. Ask for your regular spirits or fancy cocktails then expect to pay for them, why can't people understand that the all inclusive usually covers local beers & spirits? No problem with the Efes pilsner and wife had no complaints with any of her cocktails. Get to know the staff, especially in the Sultan bar and they will look after you! Disappointed about the ice-cream not being included in the all inclusive.

Breakfast is varied, plenty to choose from including salads, cheeses, cold meats, croissants, omelettes, scrambled eggs, hot meats, baked beans, pancakes and other hot foods. Again people complaining about no pork sausages or bacon, plenty of cafe/bars do full English breakfasts in the town. I was under the impression you go on holiday to sample other cultures and their food.

Little dissapointed that we couldn't eat in the Chamlik restaurant or the pizzeria in the evening due to being fully booked but kids had a decent burger for lunch in the Chamlik restaurant. Evening mealtime is a nightmare if you go up early. We went up one night before the 7pm opening time and people already queuing up to get a table, staff open the doors and it's mayhem. I can only compare it to the opening of a department store at the beginning of the January sales, staff could hardly open the doors before people push past rush into the dining area (yup it's the Russians). Again the food was varied, plenty of salad, meats and a variety of hot food and only time kids can get free ice-cream.

A lot of people are complaining about the Russians, here I must agree with people. Whilst there were the odd one or two who did say thank you or at least acknowledge you when you have held a door open for them, sadly the majority were rude, arrogant, lack any manners and have no idea of the concept of queuing for food or drinks at the bar.

Pools are great, not too busy. Entertainment in the evening is varied, shows, karaoke etc in the main area by the small pool and a band played each evening at the sultan bar.

Not so much of a beach at the hotel, more a paved area, no complaints from our kids here though. Proper beaches are only a short walk away from the hotel.

Overall enjoyed our stay, few minor irritations so to speak but not enough to spoil our holiday and the staff at the sultan bar (Burak, Ahmet etc) soon cheer you up!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Uberlamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.5 mi away
Marmaris Park
Marmaris Park
#14 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#2 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.1 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#4 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Marmaris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labranda Mares Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labranda Mares Marmaris

Property: Labranda Mares Marmaris
Address: Icmeler Mah. Ataturk Cad. No: 64, Icmeler 48700, Turkey (Formerly Grand Yazıcı Club Marmaris Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#32 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Labranda Mares Marmaris 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as Grand Yazici Mares, this 440-room, all-inclusive resort is ideally located on the beach within the pine woods of Içmeler, Pamucak and in close proximity to Marmaris center. With a wide range of recreational facilities including, 4 swimming pools, a tennis club, kids activities, and water sports, LABRANDA Mares Marmaris is an ideal resort for families and couples alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Labranda Mares Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mares Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing