We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with great service”

Meryem Turkish Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 131 Restaurants in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food with great service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We came across the Meryem by accident and how pleased we were to have found it. The owner gave us a choice of choosing off the menu or letting him decide? We opted for the later and he bought mixed mezes and bread to the table followed by dishes from the oven, bulgur wheat and salad, we then had a variety of grilled meats and kebabs fruit and drinks. There were 6 of us and there was plenty of food left over. The bill came to £10 per head. The food and service was great. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody who enjoys Turkish food and hospitality!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Google Translation
Yazdığınız yorum için, Meryem Yemek Evi çalışanları olarak teşekkür ederiz. Cihan Horoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    41
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing local food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

If you're like us and want to sample proper local Turkish food and not just you're run of the mill bar catering for the Brits abroad this is the place to eat.

The food is amazing, better than anywhere else in icmeler. The staff are always friendly and you will eat cheaper here for far better quality than any where else.

This is a must for people that want to sample amazing Turkish food and people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helimech35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Google Translation
Yazdığınız yorum için, Meryem Yemek Evi çalışanları olarak teşekkür ederiz. Cihan Horoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited this place in August and had a really nice traditional Turkish meal , each course was amazing food very tasty and amazing value for money, it worked out around £28 for all three including starters mains and drinks, the mixed mezes were beautiful I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who fancied traditional Turkish food. The staff were great too really fresh food can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_jenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Google Translation
Yazdığınız yorum için, Meryem Yemek Evi çalışanları olarak teşekkür ederiz. Cihan Horoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Turkish food.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

First time in Meryem and I guarantee it won't be the last. We had the mixed mezes to start and it came with 2 different types of bread and was excellent. The fried liver that the wife had was beautiful and I had the Adana kebab. Asked if I would like it hot and plenty of chillis I said yes... It was the hottest thing I've had in Turkey and was superb! We had to turn down the offer of free drinks after our meal as there was no way we could have made room for any more. We had a few beers as well and the bill was only 65tl (£18) great value. Don't miss out this place when you visit Icmeler.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bravitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Google Translation
Yazdığınız yorum için, Meryem Yemek Evi çalışanları olarak teşekkür ederiz. Cihan Horoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Traditional Turkish Home Cooking”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were in Icmeler in June & had a fabulous meal in Meryem Yemek Evi in the old town.
We were a party of four adults and three children(aged 2, 4 &7). The menu is well presented with a myriad of traditional Turkish dishes.
(Happy Days - No Chips)
At front of house was Ali who explained exactly what was in each dish and how it was cooked for a few of our party who were curious. We had a wonderful family Meze to start, the children tried it and absolutely loved it (we did too).
A few of our children were having an 'off' night so Ali suggested that he could bring the children's meals out first. This was a fantastic idea as he was able to entertain them on his way past and we could really enjoy our fantastic meals. I went for a traditional casserole dish which came in a clay pot, it was sizzling hot and the aromas hit me just before it was set down in front of me - delicious and served with rice which was fabulous too. This was accompanied by ice cold Efes in a chilled glass.
Others had chicken dishes and one had Sac Kavurma all very well presented and so tasty. The food as I have said is absolutely fantastic but the way Ali engaged with the children really made everyone's night. This meal was also terrific value and I look forward to going back in September when my father-in-law will be with us - he will love it.

If you want to try Traditional Turkish Cuisine there is one place you MUST go - Meryem Yemek Evi

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERYEM Y, Sahibi at Meryem Turkish Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Yazdığınız yorum için, Meryem Yemek Evi çalışanları olarak teşekkür ederiz. Cihan Horoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meryem Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meryem Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing