We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is a lasagne not a lasagne”
Review of La Grotta

La Grotta
Ranked #101 of 136 Restaurants in Icmeler
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was always our favourite Italian restaurant for a lasagne, they were amazingly delicious however that was 10 year ago.
We were glad to see it still there this year selling homemade lasagne for 17 lira, and decided in advance to go and have a meal there that night.
It had changed only slightly inside over the last 10 year and the live music is still there and was very loud we thought. the starter of garlic bread was very nice and then came the homemade lasagne.
It was a small bowl of pasta, cheese sauce, with NO Bolognese sauce in it.
This is not lasagne, and not the Italian way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jolius_ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The Italian salad starter was very good.
Not much seafood (only squid and two prawns) in the risotto di mare and far too peppery
The waiters were very amateur Nd need training on how to serve wine, bring olives with drinks and not first course and offer Parmesan with soup and salad
The music started off with what sounded like Zorba the Greek which surprised me in a Turkish resort!
Two female singers and a keyboard player then came on and belted out the numbers - may be ok for a nightclub but completely wrong for a restaurant - far too loud you couldn't talk to each other.
The keyboard player sang " I did it my way" with completely the wrong words.
Marti resort charge a supplement to dine at this restaurant. For a five star resort this was a two star experience. You should expect and get a five star experience if you are paying extra.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We visited La Grotta twice during our trip. Once for food and the next time for a few cocktails while there was a band playing. We ate very nice pizza's here, the variety is perhaps a little limited, but they were nonetheless tasty. Both evenings, the restaurant was quiet, however this could have been the time of year (very end Aug/start Sep). The restaurant is part of a hotel and is located on the main promenade on the beach front, therefore a bit quiter on an evening and a bit more picturesque and chilled out than some of the restaurants more inland. There is an open kitchen at the front of the restaurant, with a pizza oven. Staff are very friendly, the wine and cocktails were lovely and all in all, very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Went to La Grotta in July 2013, in a party of eight. The restaurant was fairly quiet, and was surprised when we were seated right at the back of the room. The lighting was so poor, we could not read the menu and the unfriendly waiter bought two small led torches for us to use. The first three items we tried to order were not available (simple things like mushrooms they had run out of). The portions were tiny, our main courses would have been starters in any other place. It was expensive, the services was very very poor and not of the us would choose to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martiresortdeluxe, Manager at La Grotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Alan W,

First of all, as the guest relations department of Marti Resort Deluxe Hotel we want to thank you for your comment toward our address. Your comments always make us improve our quality to excellence.

In case of any assistance please feel free to connect us through our email: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We've been to this restaurant several times over the years and generally have a great evening. The food and drinks maybe a little pricey but the service has improved over the years and is now very good. The menu is typically Italian and there is generally live music but nothing too loud and makes for a great atmosphere. This year we popped in for an early meal and due to the excellent singers and musician we ended up leaving around midnight after a very enjoyable evening and plenty of wine. Highly recommended for those wanting to get away from thumping music and dancing waiters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martiresortdeluxe, Manager at La Grotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Yidley,

My name is Serkan YAMAN, I am the Operation Manager of the Martı Resort de Luxe at İçmeler

Thank you very much for your kind review and rating through our Restaurant With your permission I would love to share it with the team and specially with the Kitchen employees.

If I ever may be of assistance in the future within Martı Resort de Luxe İçmeler La Grotta Restaurant please let me know, my email address is serkan.yaman@marti.com.tr

I would love to welcome you back one day to İçmeler and the La Grotta.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grotta also viewed

 
Icmeler, Mugla Province
 

Been to La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing