We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Hell”
Review of Selen 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selen 2 Hotel
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome to Hell”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Spent 2 weeks at Selen 2 arriving on the 9th August. Had stayed there previously but was surprised to see how much the Hotel has deteriorated. Problems began when we arrived re Air Con which was £5 per day and safe deposit box which was £2 per day. Reception staff used constructive accountancy when calculated cost. First room which were given was an attic room with a flooded toilet floor and no flushing facilities as the systern was broken. informed staff that I was not happy with room and requested another which was a struggle. Eventually shown a room which was deemed suitable and arranged to move once we had spoken to the Rep(this room had a fridge!!!). After informing Rep she then arranged for us to move only to be told that the room was no longer available but they would have one the following day. Another day without unpacking. When we moved the room had no fridge and our ever helpful reception staff then advised that no rooms had fridges- various reasons given , we could pay £2 per day, people were putting drink in fridge to keep cold- it was about 40 degrees and the best of all was they told the Rep that a change of law had been passed and rooms unless self catering could not have fridge. Should have checked the washing facilities especially the shower with no power, although we did have a bath.Along with the bed which had springs coming through and also the electric sockets which some were offthe wall. Also had switches at one side of the bed which meant if you were reading and needed to turn the lights off you had to get out of bed? Rooms in need of serious upgrading. I would class them as dirty although we may expect too much. Not a 3 Star Hotel more of a Budget Hotel. We booked for B&B but only drank Tea and coffee with bread as choice was limited and food was not covered- sorry only by the flies. Staff were unhelpful and Hotel very noisy - it was like Blind Date Show with the staff whenever they saw pale skin.
Would not recommend Hotel although situated in a good spot. On day of departure they had no facilities for you to change and we needed to book room for a further day which was subsequently only up to 5pm. They also turned off the Air Con.
The most amazing thing which happened was during our last 2 days all rooms were supplied with fridges. No doubt this had something to do with the raft of complaints from other guests.
For some reason the doors did not close and had to be banged shut which helped for a peaceful sleep!!!!!!!!!!
I managed to change a light bulb in room by myself despite informing the reception on numerous occassions to send up Technical Facilites as they are know.

Colin & Moira - Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coling1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    91
    81
    54
    90
See reviews for
129
155
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just back from this hotel and it was the worst place I've ever stayed in my life
The staff very ignorant and not helpful at all.
The rooms are very poor and very dated...we arrived early hours on the Sunday morning and the pool/reception area looks great then you go up to your room and think you've entered another building.Our room was very dark and dingy with no fridge or kettle and the air con that we paid for was very noisy when it was on so had to be turned off when sleeping
We booked a double room so the bed looked ok until we lay on it... It was like sleeping on a piece of ply wood and when we pulled back the sheets to check the solid bed the sheets were covered in BLOOD from the previous customers...the room was not cleaned at all and it was a disgrace to try and put new customers in there on their arrival.
Anyway we complained and was told to see our rep in the morning..so I did
We got moved to another room at the front of the hotel just above the Bar area which was very noisy at night and until early hours of the morning
The new room was much the same as the first room apart from the single beds which we now had instead of the double...My bed had three legs and was under the air con unit which dripped water when was switched on so I also got wet while rolling to one side
If you put air con on then you can't sit on your balcony as the air con fan has been put at the wrong height.It makes your balcony like a sauna
We did complain but they were not interested as this was our second room
We called reception at 3 a.m 4 a.m and even 5 a.m most mornings about the noise from the bar area but nothing happened... We were just glad to get down to the beach to get a comfy bed and some piece and quiet to get a wee sleep
On the way out of the hotel some of the bar staff were sleeping on the couches outside after their late night party's
We didn't even stop to have breakfast as the food was covered in flys and the choice was very poor... So a wee trip to the Florida restaurant for a nice breakfast.The hotel should really be an 18 to 30 place for young ish kids who want to party all night and drink all day...this hotel makes ichmeler look really bad and it's such a great place to go on holiday
Will never ever stay in the selen 11 again but will be back to ichmeler next year
Rab and Karen from Scotland

Room Tip: Level 1 and 2 are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

When we arrived the pool area looked ok, we were booked bed and breakfast, theyre isn't much on the breakfast that doesn't have flies on it!! After the first couple of days found that our towels had been removed from our loungers whilst out getting breakfast. Also more shockingly they come with buckets of chlorine and throw it into the pool whilst everybody is in it. My daughter and husband had very sore red eyes and dry skin. They should not be doing this while people are using the pool especially where the young ones were swimming! Its very dangerous we stopped using the pool after two days and went to another place we have stayed at before.
The rooms are very small you cannot move around you had to stand to the side to let somebody pass the beds! They're was no fridge or slide as described. The bar prices are expensive and food was very average. We paid for lunch one day which cost 30 lira, I gave 40 lira and didn't see the change and couldn't find the person who I paid. The bathroom is very bad the bath/shower unit it, it has a big step down to where you shower very dangerous and it was bouncy like you could fall through!!! My eight year old slipped trying to get out and the shower curtain pole came down and cracked her on the head so she had a nice bruise and cut! The hot tap came off the wall and was flooding the place luckily the water had gone cold on my daughter otherwise she could have been scalded. Do not stay here if you have small children. Another day they had mopped the reception floor but didn't display wet sign and my daughter slipped. She is a sensible 8 year old wasn't running just walking. Luckily she wasn't hurt to badly from all the incidents but was very upset by it all and didn't want to stay theyre! We paid for air conditioning which didn't work properly either, didn't get very cold! The rooms are not cleaned properly either and the balcony was tiny you could not sit outside because of the air conditioning unit getting so hot and the chair was right next to it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill_mcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Booked week before we went so not expecting much, especially as price for summer holidays pretty good. Glad I didn't expect much, got dropped at wrong hotel - Hotel Selen in marmaris then when we arrived full Turkish night in swing only to be told problem with the plumbing in our room and we would be in an apartment somewhere else for the night! Had lovely peaceful night in brand new apartment with air con in quiet out the way part of town before being picked up at 9am to come back for breakfast then to be told our room wouldn't be ready until after lunch! Had already dressed for beach so didn't bother us as when we came back after 7 hours on the beach our bags were in the room. 2nd floor overlooking pool, air con essential but then you can't sit on balcony as roasted by the external fans! Room clean, very dated but bathroom although like a sauna was a good size and again dated but clean. We only slept there and had breakfast, can't understand people who sit around the pool all day when 5 min shady walk is the beautiful bay of Icmeler. Free sun beds, waiter service from the cafés, crystal clear waters, what more could you want. Bar staff ok, not pushy with us but obviously realised we weren't into their kind of hotel. So if you want a cheap good location hotel and prepared to pay for air con and like kids running around slamming donors and screaming it's for you. Would def come back to icmeler but might look into accommodation a bit more next time. Helpful staff when required and sorted out our transfer back. Wish we'd stayed at the first night's apartment in the end!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rachel13sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We decided on the Selen 2 Hotel, because it was so close to the beach and central to the town centre, even though we didn't venture into town that much, because the prices at the bar and restaurant was very reasonable, all the staff was very friendly and made our stay a pleasure and a memorable one, we did read other comments on staying at the hotel and to be honest if you want a five * hotel then go and stay at one, we will definitely be returning again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good size balcony with a table and chairs, depending on where your room is you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel was second choice as the apartments that were mis sold for having a lift was not convenient for my disabled mother. The receptionist who was also managing the staff was very rude, aggressive and pushy. She made us feel very unwelcome and knew we were in a very vulnerable situation as I made all payments beforehand but the product was very faulty. The rooms offered to compensate were filthy and beds undone with last guests leftover mess to clean up after.

Wifi only available by bar which was where uncomfortable activities took place so phones and devices were inactive.

The electrics were dodgy because all appliances including fridge, air con and chargers would stop working as the fob on the keys would inactivate the electric once it was removed. Discovered fridge and kettle few days post arrival so water was warm each time in 46-62 degrees!

Once balcony doors opened up the heat from air con unit would convert the limited space into an oven!

As for the seediness, with family it was very awkward and embarrassing to see middle aged women being groped by teen waiters particularly when it looked orchestrated when the waiters would swan over slimily to groups of women to provide 'entertainment'.

The hygiene was nowhere to be seen as the chambermaids did the bare minimum.

A complete injustice to the beauty of icmeler.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side were fine as good view of the scenery but if you don't mind the rough around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummy-Roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked the Selen Apartments as we prefer self catering. However upon our arrival we were told that there was a problem with the toilets in the apartments and we had therefore been upgraded to B& B in the hotel. We were very disappointed with the room and the balcony was a no go area as the air con unit was right beside us and it was like a cookhouse. When you remove the key from the fob all the power goes off (including the fridge) so most of the time we had warm drinks. Pool was lovely but very rowdy at times. We would not book the Selen Apartments again as we understand that they are always overbooked and we would not want to stay in the hotel again. After 16 visits to Icmeler this is the first time we have been disappointed with the accommodation. Rep was very pushy and aggresive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
3.7 mi away
Hotel Selen
Hotel Selen
#179 of 234 in Marmaris
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Vela Hotel Icmeler
#51 of 77 in Icmeler
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miray Hotel
Miray Hotel
#42 of 77 in Icmeler
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#49 of 77 in Icmeler
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#15 of 77 in Icmeler
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selen 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selen 2 Hotel

Property: Selen 2 Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Menderes Caddesi 16, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selen 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Selen 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selen 2 Icmeler
Hotel Selen 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing