We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“selen otel is what u pay for”
Review of Selen 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selen 2 Hotel
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Our first time in Turkey Icmeler on July 2010 we loved it all the guys were really helpful , the rooms are cramped but my holiday is out all day an just wash and sleep in your room ,cleaners were in everyday leaving ur bed looking really nice with petals over it an Heart shaped Towels .....Me and my wife enjoyed ourselves that much we went back 2 the same hotel on September 2010 it was a lot warmer this time but good and in the hotel there was a tattooist which i payed him a visit and got a few tattoo's which were good and reasonable , we enjoyed eating in the Lighthouse ...we r planning in going bk to the same otel nxt year on May ( do u think they hav given the rooms a lick of paint ? )

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelnLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

The public areas are good, clean and well maintained. The problems are the rooms, very small and cramped and in desperate need of updating, my heart sank upon seeing the room, (actually we were not allowed in to our first room, we were quickly ushered away to a different room)! I would say the location is good and this would be a good hotel if they got their act together and did some decorating and updating. Ignore the lovely brochure pics as these are probably the elite rooms on the fourth floor that us lesser mortals will never see! Had a cold shower nearly every morning, but as it was so hot I didn't really mind, was accosted on the second day by a cleaning lady who wanted a tip but was clear to point out that she wanted sterling and not lira! After that I left a small tip each day on the pillow and was rewarded by a nice note of thanks.
You have to pay for the aircon which is a must, but another expense. The pool appeared clean but parents of small children be aware that there is no shallow end, I am 5"1 and couldn't touch the bottom, also WHY don't they serve the pool drinks in plastic glasses! The amount of times we heard drinks go flying is untrue, so beware of broken glass around the pool as there was never a hurry to clean up. As a base (which is all we required) it was ok but very dissapointing, take your earplugs as it is very loud until 12.30 in fairness they do wind down at that time (parents with young children may prefer somewhere quieter) I found the staff friendly and very hardworking, but it wasn't really for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianesmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Hotel basic but clean,rooms cleaned every day and the staff were brilliant could;nt do enough for you.location was spot on with excellent restaurants nearbye.The Selem on the same street is outstanding, food is out of this world and Sibel & Turagy very freindly , can not say anything bad about the Selen 2 as 3 star turkey goes its more than ok would go back tomorrow if i could

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dowson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We are frequent visitors to Turkey and acknowledge the star ratings are not the same as we would expect at home, however were very disappointed with the hotel. Expected a bigger hotel given the facilities advertised (nail bar, hairdressers, internet cafe etc etc) and some creative photographs on the internet. Rooms cramped, stifling hot, dated, beds hard, pillows even harder. Linen left a lot to be desired and we had to ask for towel change. Bathroom tiny and sink/loo/bath grubby. If you are a few pounds overweight you will struggle to move in the shower! Acoustics in hotel made it difficult to sleep with the noise. Breakfast basic - found nice place to eat on the beach front.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuttyfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

when we arrived after a 2 hour transfer, we were met by several young turkish males who whizzed our suitcases off the bus and into reception. This was a bit of a shock having not been to Turkey before & felt a bit intense. i choose 2 rooms in the hotel as i have 2 teenage boys and they needed space. we had requested pool view and rooms close together and both requests were granted. We paid for air con which was a must for us as it as 27degrees at night and allowed us to close the patio doors, which then reduced the noise from people drinking in the bar (the bar closed when the last person went home around 2/3am). overall the accomodation and rooms were clean (cleaned everyday fresh towels) deco was a little dated and the shower was rubbish just a trickle. fridges were provided in rooms apart from ours (okay cause the other room had one) however when i requested one it was delivered within a couple of days, i also requested the single beds be seperated in the boys room and extra pillows for us, this was done immediately. The pool bar workers were young turkish males (becareful with daughters) and a bit intense trying to encourage the pool users to buy food and drinks. Plenty of sun loungers available no need to get up at the crack of dawn to put towels on. The beach was a short walk away and a nice change from the pool, (use the Love Boat sunbeds) pure luxury & you are served by a waiter not having to move a muscle ( have to pay the price though for drinks/food). The hotel was B&B - breakfast was served till 10am very basic continental scrambled egg nice, toast etc. you could order a cooked breakfast forn a fee of 5 Lira (went to travellers rest up the road, cause Chris from yorkshire owns it, nice food) The only fault was the young pool bar staff also ran the show at breakfast and were much better at front of house than back. Often guests would be requesting bowls/cups/glasses etc & waiting for them. On the whole I did not have big expectations about this hotel after reading the others reviews however was pleasently suprised. We liked icemelar resort as it was quiter than Marmaris, but the contant hasseling from the turkish people trying to get us in bars or to buy things in shops (unable to browse) got on my nerves. Booked our boat trips & aqua park from David stands near the Maramis taxi boat he was a good turkish man who came to our hotel when the bus did not pick us up on time for the aqua park, he sorted it and they arrived within the next 5 mins. We booked a lazy day boat trip with another 25 people it was great value for money the BBQ lunch was great and the kids enjoyed jumping into the sea from the boat. fab weather, okay hotel for the money, good central location nice friendly resort, all in all enjoyed this holiday. turkey not as cheap as i thought it would be meals were about the same as england.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemoon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have just returned from these apartments after staying there for 3 weeks. We last stayed at Selen 2 in May 2009,but during this last visit we feel that the cleanliness of the apartments has deteriorated. We had to ask for the filthy and smelly shower curtain to be replaced numerous times; the wash basin did not get cleaned for 5 days; the shelf in the bathroom was dropping off of the wall; the floors were mopped (occasionally) before being swept and i don't think the mop was cleaned from one apartment to another. The aircon resembled a jet engine and was only in the bedroom not the living area, the walls in the bedroom were very dirty with footprints on them. The curtains were hanging off when we arrived and were still the same when we departed!!!!!! The apartments are spacious but are very sparse with utensils / crockery etc. We were a little disappointed this visit and will not be returning next year to these apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razzle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The staff are fantasic and cannot do enough for you. The children are very safe here. The rooms in the hotel are very basic but you only sleep and shower in thier so they suited us fine. The turkish night entertainment was good but the food was not worth the money. Every where we eat at was good our favourites was the Lemon tree, Florida and the Majastic. If you want to barter and get plenty of cheap stuff take English money this works far better . This was one of my best hols yet and we have been to plenty of nice places. The Turks are so friendly. Just be careful if you go to the market with the jewellery stalls as the put anklets on the children and bracelets so you buy them but be firm and say no.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhian96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.5 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#31 of 77 in Icmeler
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite World Marmaris Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#19 of 77 in Icmeler
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#48 of 77 in Icmeler
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selen 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selen 2 Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Mahallesi Menderes Caddesi 16, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range: £12 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selen 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Selen 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selen 2 Icmeler
Hotel Selen 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing