We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Golmar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golmar Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Took a long time poring over reviews and choosing a hotel, but when we came home, was very glad we chose to stay at Golmar. We arrived very late after a rubbish coach transfer (not aided by moaning British tourists I might add!!) but cheered up immediately when we were told our room had been upgraded free to a family room. We were on the fourth floor right at the end of the "corridor", and had amazing views over the bay - breathtaking.

We stayed b and b, and to be fair, it was pretty average, but I expected that before we left so wasnt to disappointed - if you want a good breakfast, pop round the corner to the Pig and Whistle, or up to Buffalo bar, full English at very silly prices! We ate out every night so coant comment on the dinner, but heard it was very good. Theres a beachfront bar with a pool table, we only used the bar a few times as we soon had our favourite places in town, and found it very hard to drag ourselves away from Huseyn and Kumru in the Pig and Whistle - lovely people and very welcoming.

The cleaning staff were beyond compare - the room was spotless every time we returned, and the towels folded into some impressive creations on the bed. On our last but one day, we left a tip, and returned to beautiful hearts made from towels, and covered with assorted flowers, petals and leaves, Fantastic, and goes to show how much difference a few English pounds makes to hard working cleaning staff - dig deep before you come home ;)

We had some issues sorting out transfer on the last day, but the hotel staff were very helpful and let me use their phone to call the transfer company - top tip, get a private transfer, its well worth the extra to get there at a sensible time with no stops and no dropping people at other hotels - I was amazed at how many people didnt know which hotel they were staying at, and took ages to get off the coach!!

The location is superb, and close to the boats for trips, and it has a good pool with plenty of loungers, both poolside and on a sun terrace. They have theor own Turkish bath and gym but we didnt use either so cant comment.
All in all a clean, basic and cheap hotel, and if I wasnt going self catering apartments next year, I would happily return

Room Tip: Fourth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

this is the second time we have spent at this hotel and its A1 clean and very tidy,the staff are very very helpful, food was good, bar staff very good, rooms nice and clean and towels changed daily staff on reception were very helpful couldn't do a enough for you the boat trip from the hotel was very good the captain and his helper were very helpful loved it, to have your breakfast looking out to sea each morning was to die for, best shave in turkey at this hotel, all in all excellent,all-ready booked up for next year,

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stanley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just returned today. As its the back end of the season and we only booked 2 weeks before we got a very good deal but still expected to find a nice clean & friendley The Golmar is in a fantastic position for great views, and near to everything. Arrived at 4.30pm we were the only ones checking in so it was very quick, no explanation to we're pool, bar, dinning room ect ect were just given keys and taken to room. Room was fine, Pleanty of storage space, comfy bed, bathroom was fully tield. Baloney had table and 2 chairs and was Pleanty of room to sit and take in the fantastic views (4th floor room 423) with sun all afternoon.
The towels & sheets were changed everyday, we did not need fridge or aircon but it was expensive compared to other hotels/apartments. Walls were very thin and we could here the people in the next room clearly, as it's October there were only 31 of the 170 rooms in use so I can imagine its very noisy in the summer months.
Breakfast was very basic Turkish breakfast, the bread was not always fresh, the tables were dirty inside & out, out of 14 days we ate there only 3 days! The staff were ignorant & rude except Alli who brought drinks round the pool & beach he was always very pleasant.
The pool area was nice with sun-beds ( & side tables which were dirty and never got wiped with a cloth) I carnt see there been nearly enough when the hotel is full, the 2 slides looked to be in poor condition and were not even working during our stay ,we spent our time on the beach as the pool didn't get very much sun.
The bar area was dark and glumey, staff looked like they didn't want to be there and didn't acknowledge anyone.. Again tables were dirty.
The smell from the small holding was very of putting, even the rep on the transfer coach made a comment of " oh my god what is that smell"
We met some lovely people who had the same views as us.... Great spot , fab views, would we stay again no

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliechestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed at the Golmar for 10 days in Sept 2012, This hotel has the most perfect location in Icemeler but hotel rooms are very basic with very grubby carpet and furniture, the bathroom only contains an out of date shower and the tiling was just dreadful, you have to pay for air con £11.00 per day which was useless and noisy, you also have to pay £1.00 a day for a dingy little fridge. We found the staff quite rude with no concept of customer care, no greeting/welcome on arrival not even an hello, just your key thrown at you, we asked for air con and were told to come back and pay later despite being the only ones at reception, it was all a bother to the very lazy male receptionist [tall male with hair tied back].The pool is dominated by a huge slide, after a while the kids get you down screaming which spoils any kind of relaxation/reading, the tables were dirty with stains and dead wasps, they wern't cleaning in the 10 days we were there.Breakfast was basic, help your self, limited choice with one very slow out of date toaster which caused queues. Again, tables were sticky and dirty, they were cleared of dishes but were never cleaned, guests actually were cleaning them, bread and milk were constantly running out and you had to tell the waiters to replenish - they were too busy doing nothing or looking at their mobile phones, they were the laziest waiters we have ever come across and nobody seemed to care or be in charge of them, the chef was seen to grab a handful of cornflakes out of the serving bowl and walk away eating them, this is a hygiene issue and did put guest off their breakfast, god knows what he was doing behind the scenes. On our departure, waiting for the coach to arrive we were seated in reception, seated next to us was 3 male receptionists along with one of the hotels owners who were watching football, our courier arrived and called out our surname and we got up and left the hotel, neither the owner or reception staff acknowledged our departure, our courier noticed and just shook her head. The Golmar hotel is in serious need of a total refurb, a change of staff and a new owner.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhesketh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Fantasic Hotel with wonderful panoramic views over icmeler. Rooms basic but clean, with maid service every day... Thank you Suna!
Food was okay, but although we were half board, we ate out most evenings as the restraunts were fantastic and great value for money.
I would most certainly recommend this hotel and I will be sure to return.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the views were fantastic... lower floors views were spoilt by the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just back from the Golmar Beach,and what a nice place it is,best views from rooms third floor up,but the views from the private beach is lovely.The food was as good as any three star I have been to in Turkey.Rooms nice and kept clean by nice staff.Position was perfect,out of the main night life but close enough to have a stroll along the prom to a lively town,plenty of places to eat and drink,we went to Richards Place most nights and were made very welcome by a hard working and entertaining staff,all together a great holiday in Icmeler,met some lovely people and would like to think we will meet up again next year for some more great times.
Well done Golmar Beach and Icmeler

Room Tip: If possible higher floors the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been comming to Icmeler for the past 10 years, it was our first visit to the Golmar hotel. I choose this hotel because of its location on the beach. We stayed in room 309 and had a great view of the bay which is what we wanted, it was great waking up to those views, what more can you ask for. The rooms do need updating however it did the job and i paid for a 3 star hotel so that's what i expected. Only problem i would say is paying for air con and fridge, which we paid for and this can be pricey. The fridge worked fine and did provide ice which was great. I agree with some of the previous comments about people putting towels on the sunbeds at crack of dawn although it clearly states around the pool no towels before 8, people still do so you do need to wake early to get a bed. We spent most days on the beach there are free sun loungers and its easier to get a sunbed there and you get a breeze and all day sun.
The food was good, although could be a bit repetitive but there is plenty to choose from, we were half board, I am vegetarian but again always a vegi option plenty of salads deserts etc. My husband and son enjoyed the meat though!.
Entertainment is limited but there is plenty to do and see in Icmeler so you wont be bored.
The water slides appealed to the kids however they big purple one does not look very safe.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return, the staff are very helpful and if you take the time to chat to them they are very friendly and will do what they can to help.

Room Tip: Request higher rooms and avoid rooms on the first floor as not much of a view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 459Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#32 of 77 in Icmeler
785 reviews
1.8 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#6 of 77 in Icmeler
1,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#24 of 77 in Icmeler
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yade Hotel
Yade Hotel
#8 of 77 in Icmeler
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#19 of 77 in Icmeler
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golmar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golmar Beach Hotel

Address: Kayabal Cad 93, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#21 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#28 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: £21 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golmar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golmar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golmar Beach
Golmar Beach Marmaris
Golmar Beach Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing