We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with a view!”
Review of Golmar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golmar Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Hotel with a view!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Golmar beach hotel in June 2013 for a two week stay and we were first impressed with the beautiful views and private beach. The hotel was one of the best for location to the harbour and restaurants too. The hotel was clean and the rooms were cleaned each day by friendly staff who's work was of a good standard. The staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful and also happy to chat to us and make us feel welcome. For a fairly large hotel it was surprisingly quiet at night time and we were not woken once during the night by loud noise or music. The food at breakfast was a good selection of traditional Turkish breakfast but people preferring a fry up would be able to purchase one at a restaurant nearby. I cannot comment on the meals at the hotel as we always ate out in the evenings. One word of warning when booking at this hotel do budget for the air conditioning at £7 per day and the fridge rental is also extra.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Golmar beach hotel and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gray66-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    142
    51
    26
    11
See reviews for
136
154
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We just arrived back from the Golmar beach hotel on Friday the 7th of July 2013.It was a family a
Holiday with a variety of ages from grandchildren to grandparents and all were extremely happy with our selection of hotel!The rooms were slightly dated but the view from the balcony more than made up for it,it was tremendous!One of our families rooms had a side that was entirely glass therefor making it very picturesque!The air conditioning was £7 (English) per day which was quite pricey but in my opinion essential with the heat of an icmeler day to make your stay more comfortable!I would totally recommend a stay at the Golmar beach for your Turkish getaway!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Came back from Golmar Beach on Friday. Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews before booking but we had a great time.

The hotel was very clean. Had maid service everyday, clean towels everyday.

We were on the fourth floor and had amazing seaview and pool view. The food was nice although not much choice of main dishes. Not much food choice for young kids (especially as can be fussy) but plenty of salad, chips, fruit which he enjoyed.

So much to do and private beach on your doorstep.

The only downside for me would be at night the music from the hotel can be a bit loud when trying to sleep and also can be difficult to get a sun lounger beside the pool. On one occasion people were out at 430am 'reserving' the sunbeds with the towel. We found if you left it to later on in the day around 3-4pm then you would be lucky to maybe get a spare one or two.

Overall, location was great, hotel was great, holiday was great and would definately go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiv1975_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We've been to Turkey several times before but this was without doubt the best holiday yet. The location of the hotel is wonderful, so close to the beach and only a short walk from the shops,bars and cafes. Watch out for the little fish that nibble your toes. The local dolmus bus to Marmaris stops just a few hundred yards away - only 2.50 lira There is a small shop on site but also 2 bigger supermarkets within a 5 min walk.
The hotel, although a little dated, is nevertheless clean and tidy and the rooms well serviced on a daily basis - we had clean towels every day. The bed was comfy and the shower really good with ample hot water. The staff are very friendly, particular praise for Deniz in reception [ super command of English and great sense of humour] and Ali and his apprentice who look after the guests for beach service. Also the young girls who clear the tables are always happy and friendly and eager to please. We made an effort to talk to the chefs and they were clearly pleased to have positive feedback and the food at breakfast and dinner was good quality and well presented. Don't expect a fry up breakfast or burgers but who wants that abroad anyway!

Other reviews have commented on the cost of the air con, and yes it is relatively expensive at £7 per day, but because we use the beach most days this was offset by the free sunbeds and parasols.

Most evenings we walked into the more lively area of the town but each Sunday the Folk Dance Show at the Golmar was very good but nothing on other nights. Perhaps it would be good to have entertainment other nights also.
Can't wait for our next visit!

tony241

Room Tip: Rooms above the 3rd floor give better views but the 6th floor is poor for anyone elderly or disabled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This year was my third visit to the resort of Icmeler, the Golmar beach is perfect!

Choosing our hotel –

When booking this years holiday, I wanted to be on the beach front and close to the resort centre, the Golmar was the only hotel on the beach that wasn't all inclusive (I can’t stand all inclusive hotels). I wasn’t expecting much from the hotel as it was on the beach yet reasonably priced I thought it must have been a long walk from the centre, I had also read some bad reviews saying it was dated bla bla bla.

What we thought –

Location .....

The very last hotel on the beach.
Requested a high floor – fantastic view over the sea and the mountains.
Bars and restaurants – start next door and never end! 5min walk to canal street.
Beach – The hotel has a private beach
Domus bus station right at the back of the hotel.

Hotel....

Staff – so friendly, always smile at you and say good morning and night. Pool and beach waiter, very friendly and the bar manager.
Problems – we had a problem with the air con – it was fixed before we got back to the room, we had a problem with the fridge – it was fixed before we got back to the room.
Cleanliness – very clean everywhere – towels changed daily.

Favourite restaurants and bars....

Deniz Kapisi - three doors away from Golmar, sit upstairs over looking the sea listening to live music in the background (perfect)
Cupids – brilliant food, friendly staff – gave us a free coffee and a chat as we was walking past one day.
Canary – top of canal street, good music, the boys can’t do enough for you.

Overall – we had the best holiday while staying at the Golmar, and for positioning, pool, beach and staff we would defiantly return to this hotel and recommend it for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a high floor if u want a sea view - the 1st floor didnt have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just back from 10 days at the Golmar Beach Hotel.
If you want a fried breakfast and/or a three course British evening meal then go to Blackpool.
This hotel is in Turkey, they serve a Turkish or continental style breakfast. I managed to find something suitable every morning, or there are plenty of restaurants/bars in the area selling a 'fry up'.
The evening meal was nothing startling, there wasn't a great choice. We are all individuals and like different things. They cannot cater for every individuals preferences, but again there are plenty of places to eat nearby and the prices are reasonable.
The Golmar is kept immaculate, the cleaners do a brilliant job. The rooms are cleaned every day and towels changed every two days.
As has been pointed out before the views from the hotel of the bay are fantastic.
The hotel staff are brilliant. Dennis the receptionist speaks great English and is always wiling to help.
Unfortunately, as usual, the Germans are very quick to get their towels on the sun beds, but there are plenty of FREE sunbeds and mattresses available, this includes on their part of the private beach as well as around the pool.
We went the last two weeks of June 2013 so maybe there weren't so many people about.
Ali is 'the man' on the beach keeping you supplied with drinks and food so there is no need to get off your sun bed.
There were no sellers on the beach apart from Ali and his team and the newspaper seller that come's round. None of which were pushy and were very helpful.
This is not a 5 star hotel so don't expect it to be.
We loved the area and the hotel and are already plan our next hotel there for later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

returned here for the third time in three years and once again had an excellent holiday.. nothing has changed at this hotel for the last three years we have visited... the staff are all very friendly and the owners are always there mixing with the guests... the only gripe I have this year is the big rise in the cost of the air con... last year we paid £4,00 per night and this year for some reason it has risen to £7.00 per night.. almost every guest that I spoke to were complaining about the price.. been to icmeler on many occasions and stayed in many hotels but the golmar takes some beating for a 3 star hotel... the food is of a good standard and a good variety each night... cant really see why some people eat out when they stay here half board... I shall be returning to this hotel for many years to come as you tend to see the same old faces time after time . if your thinking about booking this hotel then there s no need to worry... book and enjoy...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scotty_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#45 of 77 in Icmeler
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#17 of 77 in Icmeler
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#24 of 77 in Icmeler
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#4 of 77 in Icmeler
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golmar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golmar Beach Hotel

Property: Golmar Beach Hotel
Address: Kayabal Cad 93, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#27 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#28 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golmar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golmar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golmar Beach
Golmar Beach Marmaris
Golmar Beach Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing