We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints whatsoever”
Review of Golmar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golmar Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Have just returned this week from a week away at the Golmar Hotel I must say it was a brilliant time, room was dated but there was new furniture and bathroom facilities and the room was kept spotless by the maid, you could not have faulted the view of the sea from our balcony and it was definitely the best spot on the beach at the quieter end, we had absolutely no problems with any of the staff, they were all very friendly although one of them had a very dry sense of humour that we got used to,we visited the turkish baths and that was also an excellent experience especially the oil massage, it was the best massage I have ever had. Breakfast was a little limited but caused no major problems. All in all we had a perfectly relaxing week and would definitely recommend it. I normally stay in 4 star accommodation so was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Golmar Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

I booked this hotel after throughly researching it online and was encouraged by the excellent reviews. Basic but good seemed to be the general view so I wasn't expecting luxury but wasn't quite prepared for what I found. The location of the hotel couldn't be better; by the beach with great views from most rooms.However, the hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment, both inside and out. When we arrived in the early hours of the morning, we were faced with the most awful smell; this seemed to cling to the bed linen and it smelt like stale urine. The carpet and curtains in the room were stained beyond belief; the air conditioning unit and fridge had seen better days and were plugged with paper. The next morning, I discovered the smell was coming from a farm across the road. We were woken in the middle of the night on the last 2 nights by awful commotions - the first a loud crashing sound and the second by a man attacking his partner by the poolside. The reception staff were miserable. There didn't appear to be any entertainment in the hotel whatsoever, (however we would highly recommend The Stella Show, a couple of units along the road - he is hilarious!) The manager of the spa kept trying to persuade us to take a turkish bath, massage etc. A tour of the spa area confirmed this area was in as poor a state as the rest of the hotel; needless to say we gave that a miss! Icmeler is a great resort however we have been put off going back by the dishonesty of the traders in the shops. We were tempted by a Seiko watch - very best price quoted was £380 at Art Aquamarine Jewellers. We checked it out online and discovered Seiko RRP was £315 with watchhut selling the same watch for £265 and when having trouble finding the right size of t-shirts in another outlet, they popped out the back and changed the label on the garment so as not to loose a sale!! Luckily we noticed. This has really put us off returning to Turkey generally; no doubt there are honest traders but how do you know who to trust. Outside one of the restaurants it says ' con a tourist and loose a thousand tourists' - how true!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at the Golmar Beach from 21st - 28th September.
The hotel was in a good position if you like a quiet place to rest your head.Thank goodness we were away from all the Boom boom music that seemed to be played everywhere - all competing against each other. We usually go to Chalis Beach which is a much quieter resort and much more laid back than Icmeler. Each to their own but Icmeler really wasn't our cup of tea.
It was far too commercialised for our liking - everything geared towards the English. English breakfasts, Sunday roasts and Yorkshire Puddings etc.
Back to the hotel - we had no complaints at all. The staff were polite ,there were plenty of sunbeds either round the pool, on the upper area or on the beach. The pool was absolutely freezing no matter what time of day you dared to take the plunge. It didn't get a lot of sun on it and the sea wasn't much warmer.But it served its purpose to cool off in!
The rooms were ok nothing fancy but we don't spend much time in there other than to shower and change and sleep. They were clean and the bed linen was changed most days and we always had clean towels.
Breakfast was the usual Turkish stuff - breads, meats,cheeses , cereal, yogurt, fruit. We were only B&B so don't know anything about the evening meals.
We found some nice places to eat - The Lighthouse being our favourite.
Lots of people go back to this hotel so that speaks for itself.
We had a nice time and the weather was brilliant . we only had about 10 mins of rain one night as we were going out so had to dash into the nearest bar to get out of it.
We wouldn't rush back to icmeler ourselves but spoke to lots who would. Good job we don't all like the same things in life.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We don't normally write reviews but having read a couple that were a little unfair and over the top we thought we should. First things first, the Golmar is a 3* hotel, not a 4* and not a 5* so you have to a little realistic in your expectations and to that end yes the rooms could probably do with a bit of a makeover and I agree that the breakfasts are really nothing special. Having said that we really don't spend that much time in our room and the breakfast itself is more than adequate for our needs. However, the thing you do get from this hotel is great value for your money. The hotel itself is right on the beach with its own private section where the staff will bring you drinks and meals all day. All the rooms are clean with fresh linen every day and have a sea view. As for the staff, well this was our second visit there and when we arrived at 4 am, karim the manager was even there to greet us. A few of the staff were there from last year and not only do they rermember you but they are genuinlly pleased to see you and talk to you again (although i do believe that is more of a Turkish thing). The rest of the staff who we got to know were warm, pleasant, cheerful and polite, even more so if you are polite with them. I even enjoyed some banter with them when I had a go at speaking Turkish. Regarding noise around the hotel I will say this. At the back of the hotel is what I would describe as a small holding (not a farm) that has goats and some chickens and we never really noticed any noise from it.... didn't hear or see any dog there? The other thing i would point out is this, the Golmar is at the end of the beach so there is no noise at all from the town...... something you would have to put up with at a lot of the other hotels. To sum it up, lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midscplbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We travelled during Aug 09 with teenage boys (13 & 16). Hotel great, we went half board with having ever hungry boys with us. Rooms were very clean, food lovely. Buffet style and lots of it. Pool great for both adults and kids. Hotels right on the beach and lots of sun loungers. If you go make sure you book a trip on the hotels own boat. £10 each for the whole day out including a gorgeous bbq lunch. Very relaxing, lots of stops to swim. Kids loved diving off the boat. My parents have gone today for their second visit to the hotel, we will definetly be going back sometime, kids want to go next year they enjoyed it so much. We booked through Sunshine Hotels (web only) excellent service and much cheaper that going through a high street travel agent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Golmar Beach, will be honest, and say it was not our first choice of hotel, the other 2 we wanted were full when we wanted to go. Having stayed here about 5 years ago we thought that the location was good, and decided to book it again. Mistake....having stayed here before we were aware there was a small farm across the road, but as the noise wasn't that bad the first time we stayed we assumed it wouldn't be any different. How wrong we were. The rooster crowed from the early hours onward and 2 dogs never seemed to stop barking. We were on the first floor, so we were very close, and this possibly made the noise worse.
Must be mentioned we were only on the first floor because our original room on the fifth floor was leaking, it was raining when we arrived, and returning to the hotel that evening we had to be moved because the rain was coming in the ceiling, and onto the bed. They wanted to move us to another room on the fifth floor, but my husband refused, because we weren't sure it would be any better.
We also found a distinct lack of hot water, we were never that late taking a shower in the evening after being at the beach, but by about 6 o'clock, it was pretty much cold showers most nights. Not impressed.
Music in the bars in Icmeler is supposed to go off at 12o'clock, while this is pretty much the case in the main streets, down by the beach the bars there can be closer to 1am. As the police don't pass there, they seem to take advantage of the fact, and it can be quite disturbing when you are trying to sleep. We were also pleased to here that there was no smoking allowed in enclosed areas, ie restuarants, and while most do display the no smoking signs, they still seem to let people smoke, which seems a bit daft.
Must give a mention to Chef resturant in Icmeler, food is great. If you are looking for other good places to eat , try going to Marmaris, Fellinis has some of the best food, try traditional Turkish dishes such as kavurma, or et sote, fabulous. Bella Vita and Golden River are also good. Would go back to Icmeler but would never stay at the Golmar again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellaAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

just come back from a great holiday, 2 families with teenagers.The hotel is in a fantastic position on the edge of town but close enough to all the bars and restaurants.The beach is just outside the hotel and is on the harbour so a very short walk to go on a boat trip.Talking of boat trips the hotel has its own boat so for a lazy trip out swimming and bbq its well worth the money, around £10 each and the food is lovely.The rooms are of good standard and are kept really clean we couldnt fault the cleaning staff they changed the towels everyday and bedding every other day.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We had a tukish bath at the hotel and it was very good well worth the money but haggle the price with seahvash who comes round as soon as he sees new white bodies.We ate round the pool most lunchtimes and the food is very good and reasonably priced, try the chicken kebab off the spit ..lovely..The pool boy Guntash is very polite and helpful.We also had our nails done and our husbands had turkish shaves which were very good but again haggle the price. We all had a fabulous time on the slides and in the pool and the food is excellent in the many restaurants.The only downside is the hassle you get from the bars and restaurants you cant actually browse the shops they expect you to buy, but if you can ignore that you will get used to it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers-o-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#16 of 77 in Icmeler
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#26 of 77 in Icmeler
792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quadas Hotel
Quadas Hotel
#65 of 77 in Icmeler
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#44 of 77 in Icmeler
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#33 of 77 in Icmeler
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golmar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golmar Beach Hotel

Address: Kayabal Cad 93, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#27 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#28 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: £24 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golmar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golmar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golmar Beach
Golmar Beach Marmaris
Golmar Beach Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing