We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms - shame about food ...”
Review of Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verde Hotel
Ranked #55 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms - shame about food ...”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very much the same as other reviewer :

Arrived at this hotel on Friday after midnight - tired and just wanted to crash - security guard on desk ran to get the receptionist who was resting, got moved to another hotel down the road because there was a 'problem with the water in the room' - (we later found out that this was happening to many guests and it was probably an issue with them booking too many people into the hotel without room availability). We were told that a room would be available the next day - but when we returned were told that no room would be available until the following day. We were put in a room over a very noisy bar so were not well pleased but there was nothing we could do so made the best of it. We eventually got our room on Day 3 - supposedly one of the best rooms but they are all the same! The room itself was clean and spacious and bedding & towels seemed to be changed daily. Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Always plenty of hot water for a shower - although there could be more shelf space and a grab rail in the shower as it does get very slippery (little things like this would help towards the supposedly 4 star rating this hotel has!). The manager offered us a free safe for the duration of our stay and free "beach passes" which proved to be useless.

Food wise - the salads were great but cooked food was boring. Repetitive food with not much taste, ended eating out several times. The waiters were very good - always smiling and helpful. However staff few and far between and think this hotel must be working with minimal staff who seem to work from dawn till dusk.

The facilities shown on the hotel website and in their book of information in the room are not correct - we asked about laundry service - only to be told - no laundry - go into the street and ask! In the end a very helpful receptionist in the afternoon arranged for some of our clothes to be cleaned - he was very helpful. No spa and indoor pool downstairs was dank, dark and musty.

On the plus side - the outside pool was great - cleaned daily and there were always plenty of sunbeds. There was no music at all in the morning which was great if you wanted to read or chat, then light music at lunchtime & louder in afternoon. No pool games, kids club etc. which is exactly what we were looking for.

There is only one very small pool bar outside (no indoor bar) ..... the white and rose wines are left out in the sun and bar staff think it is ok just to add an ice cube to cool it down! When we insisted that we have cold wine they said that they weren't allowed to open another bottle - this did change after a few days complaining but not good practice. When we asked for a gin & tonic we were told "no tonic" so just gave up.

This hotel was taken over a couple of years ago and I feel is still in its infancy with regard to getting things sorted - there were lovely flower troughs on the balconies but just dead weeds in - it could look such a lot better - and maybe it will in another few years, as the position of the hotel is ideal for both beach and town (although some of the bars nearby are a little noisy at night.)

Overall the hotel proved fairly good value for money but this hotel won't be getting return business in a hurry unless it ups its game a bit. Icmeler itself is beautiful and we will be returning - there are many hotels to choose from, some of which we visited so are better informed for future years.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanricred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    51
    29
    37
See reviews for
53
84
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hey everyone,i just came back from turkey,while i was in marmaris city which is located southwest was nice holiday resort.and hotel i have stayed was 4 star,it was nice,clean,cozy,modest,nice rich food.i had no problem at all.i would highly recommend that otel in icmeler part of marmaris.just a few minutes from the beach. Its open from april until november.by the way;Staff was very helpful and kind.i thank them all for making my stay in Verde Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Arrived at this hotel on Wednesday around midnight, got moved to another hotel down the road because there was a 'technical issue' with the room (we later found out off our rep that it was just an issue with them booking too many people into the hotel without room availability). We got told to return the next day with our suitcases for a room but then were sent away again till the following day. We finally got a room which the manager said would be 'one of the best rooms' but in fact was just a standard room with two single beds. I'm not complaining about the room at all because it was clean and spacious, cleaned everyday by the maid, although the sheets were never changed in a week. The manager, when speaking to my partner, was very rude and told him that if he didn't talk to her the way she wanted him to basically, then she was not going to help us, even though they had messed us about. In the end to make up for the inconvenience they provided us with a free all inclusive boat trip, which we very much enjoyed. The food was.. dull. Repetitive food with not much taste, however the waiters and bar staff are lovely. We asked the chef one day if we could have some bread and she simply replied 'no'. The hotel website also lies about the facilities. It does not have an A La Carte restaurant, it has an indoor pool which is under construction, we asked about the massages downstairs and they gave us a brochure for a full day spa, & there is only one bar when it specifies there are two.

Overall, although the waiters and bar staff were lovely, and Icmeler itself is gorgeous, I will not be staying at this hotel again in a hurry, but it did not ruin our holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chopper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here September 2012 and it was awful! Still trying to get our money back from the travel company. This hotel is 2 star at best and the facilities advertised such as a Spa were truly terrible. The food was really bad and the dining room like a transport café. The staff were unfriendly and completely ignored us at the bar. We did not even get our beds made for us; they just threw a folded sheet on our bed each day. The 3 star sister hotel round the corner is much better and better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriggerWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I was very impressed with the Verde Hotel from the moment i arrived.It had a clean,fresh and pleasing appearance combined with a warm and friendly atmosphere.
It was obvious that renovation and refurbishment had been completed in the close season.
My room (107) on the first floor was well appointed and i was not disturbed at any time during my stay, whilst all aspects of housekeeping were first class .
The AI menue was more than i expected ( considering the cost ) with many dishes to choose from in the buffet style restaurant which catered for both inside and outside dining.
The garden and trees were kept very tidy and well maintained everyday.All staff without exception worked hard,yet had time to treat me with kindness whilst Cef,Oz and Haci were always busy at the Pool Bar.
The Hotel is near the beach and all facilities ( shops ,bars and restaurants ) and without doubt Icmeler is a beautiful resort.
I am pleased so many people have had a positive holiday experience at the hotel this season.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevieSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

hotel was clean and tidy food was average for all inclusive down side was it was more Russian people than english not alot of sun beds pool was very clean staff very help full and polite nice clean room walk in shower great towels chanted daily

Room Tip: higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nightspeed1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

i have recently returned from turkey today 20/05/13 and i would like to say i found this hotel very clean and tidy food not bad staff really friendly and the bar staff geoff and oz were very good we had a very good time and enjoyed ourselves so much that we would like to go ack again this year i have been to turkey three times twice in icmeler and once in marmaris an this one had to be the best met some very nice people there and had a great time

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
0.2 mi away
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Vela Hotel Icmeler
#51 of 77 in Icmeler
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#16 of 77 in Icmeler
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#49 of 77 in Icmeler
248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Almena Hotel
Almena Hotel
#179 of 234 in Marmaris
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verde Hotel

Property: Verde Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Sahil Sok. No:23, Icmeler 48700, Turkey (Formerly S Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#19 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Verde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing