We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerfull”
Review of Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Verde Hotel
Ranked #54 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerfull”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 2 weeks in June.

The hotel is ideally placed very close to the beach and town centre where there are numerous pubs and restaurants.

The hotel itself was clean enough but most of the guests were Russian, Bulgarian etc with very few English speaking visitors.

The food was of a poor quality and choice and we tended to eat out quite a lot.

The local drink was passible but verl limited in choice.

Once we got to know the staff, they were friendly enough, but again not many could speak good English. Ok I know I can't speak Turkish but when you go on holiday you expect to be catered for.

All in all not the worst holiday I have ever been on but wouldnt reccomend it or go back to this hotel again.

Icmeler itself is beautiful and we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    51
    28
    37
See reviews for
53
83
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This hotel is shown as 4 star. I would say it is a 2 star. It says in all the brochures that it has air con. This is just blown hot air. The air con is switched on 3 times a day but this makes no difference to the temps in the sweat boxes that they call rooms. To keep cool during the hot nights we had to open the sliding patio door which lets in a lot of noise all night long. Food is ok if you like chicken, cold rice and lots of salad. Drinks at the bar were ok but staff are under orders to ration the drinks and the ice. I wouldnt put my mother in law in this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I shall warn you now, this will be a very long and honest/detailed review!
Ok, lets start with a bit of an intro. Me and my partner looked for a holiday to relax but with things to do (bars/shops etc). I am 22 and my boyfriend is 25. Stayed in S Hotel for 2 weeks.
Now the negatives. Firstly we were introduced with the two hour long transfer from the Dalaman Airport (after a four hour journey on a plane!) this seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. We then arrived at the hotel around 9pm, their time, and had just missed dinner. Our rep asked if they could throw something together for us to eat due to long journey etc, they flatly refused and then produced cold rice and brown salad...stating that this was all that was left. We took it lightly and was then shown to the room....
This was the best suprise. The rooms looked completely different to the picture in the brochure. The room was extreamly dated, worn carpet, scuffed beds, a very old and dirty fridge. The bathroom was hideous. The toilet smelt like a urinal, even when we complained of the smell, it wasn't seen to. The shower ran hot and cold no matter what setting. The sink was set in to a unit with a rim of black mould around the seal. The lighting consisted of two very dim strip light either side of the mirror and when you were in the shower with the curtain drawn you couldn't see a thing! There was also a very random telephone fixed to the wall which rang on and off through the day and night!
The beds were very hard and the sheets were rarely changed, when they were, they were stained with what looked like either make-up or just dirt. The pillows were very lumpy and could visibly see yellow sweat stains on the fabric. I ended up with a very stiff neck by the second week. The base of the beds were dirty and scuffed, even the covering fabric was ripped.
The carpets in the room were worn and rough. They were peeling back in the corners and never hoovered by the cleaners.
The hotel states that it as air-con in all rooms. This is not as it seems. There is no air-con unit outside (apart from in the dining areas). The rooms however are supplied with air blown in from the corridor out side your room door. There is a box with temperature settings which didn't seem to make a difference.
You are supplied with a card on your room key which slots in to a box on the wall to supply electricity to your room. The air-con didn't seem to cool the room unless this electric fob was left in the room all day, which wasn't possible as we were only supplied with one key. We ended up removing the key from the keyring and leaving the electric card in the room constantly and leaving with just the room key in a pocket. This was the only way we could keep the room just under boiling point.
The food was a joke. There was plenty of chips, but the main dishes were terrible. Meat was fatty and full of bones. Pasta over cooked and sticky. Flavour was bland. There was more choice of salad than actual dishes. Stale bread. There was plenty of russians and bulgarians staying at this hotel who of which has no respect for any other holiday makers. They pushed in the que and demanded huge quantities of everything on offer. They even attempted to start "ordering" certain foods for the day after. There were things appearing on thier dining tables that weren't shown at the buffet.
The dining area consisted of indoor and out door tables, or should I say wooden chairs and tables. The tables were covered with a cloth, but the chairs were left with bare wooden slats which were extreamly uncomfortable to sit on. Funnily enough, the other more demanding customers had cushions on their chairs. Breakfast consisted of boiled eggs and "mini meats" and again, stale bread. Alot of the time we ate out, costing just under an extra £400 for the two week stay.
The choice of drinks were poor. They had chilled juice in dispenser machines, which we later discovered were filled up with a hose pipe that they also used to clean the floor. Even though we were warned not to consume the tap water, they still filled the juicers and boilers with the hose. The bottled water was kept in a cupboard and wasn't refridgerated, the water dispenser wasn't swiched on so this was also warm. The pop bottles were kept out on the side so unless you added ice to your drink every ten minutes, these were also a warm refreshment. There were alot of alcoholic drinks on offer such as local beer, vodka, gin, red/white wine, and "raki" (turkish spirit alot like ouzo). Alot of the russian and bulgarian customers drank alcohol from 10am when the bar opened and spent the days being loud and roudy. Not a nice atmosphere for people there to relax and enjoy the day time.
The reception area didn't seem to be very friendly and none of the staff spoke good english. Mostly communicated through actions. The "free high speed internet" was actually an old computer that could never get connection.
We never saw the pool getting cleaned and the sunbeds were dangerous! The pool area itself was clean and the mattresses for the sunbeds were decent. The sunbeds were plastic and looked pretty durable but most of them were broken down the centre and could not be used. Your towel would get moved if you left your sunbed for longer than 30 mins. There were even people laying on towels on the tiles. There are around 25 sunbeds for a hotel that keeps up to 160 holiday makers. These broken sunbeds were not taken away but just stored on the grass.

Now to the positives.
The towels were changed everyday.... the lager was tasty.... thats just about it for the hotel.
The town Icmeler was incredible. There were plenty of things to do, marvelous bars and resturaunts. Plenty of little shops selling little trinkets and jewellry etc. All the turkish people were lovely and friendly. There are rumours that the turkish men were "overfriendly" with foriegn women but I didn't see anything like that towards me. All the staff in the bars ect weren't very fussy and were just there to make sure you were enjoying yourself. Plenty of entertainment!
If it wasn't for the location I would have probably requested to move hotels. There were plenty of other hotels that were in the same area. We will definately go back to Icmeler but will look to stay in a different hotel. The area was surrounded with incredible views. The boat trips were lovely and the further out you go, the clearer the water gets. On the beach the water was pretty murky due to the taxi boats to Marmaris polluting the water, but once out of the bay, the sea is so clear you can see right to the bottom.
Alot of the local residents made negative comments when we told them where we were staying. Alot of comments with regards to Russian's and food. One man told us that S Hotel had not changed for 5 years and "guessed" that the hotel would be taken over in a few years time if it didn't improve.
This hotel is very much designed around Russian nationals. The food, decor, manners, and drink is suited to everyone but the English visitors. While we were there we were noticing alot of other hotels and ALL looked alot better then the S.
Before we booked this hotel we checked the reviews over the internet and all seemed to be positive unaware these were years old. There was also mention of entertainment at this hotel, however this no longer stands. There were no entertainment during our stay.
I would recommend that anyone looking to stay in this hotel looks elsewhere.
I hope this helps for any future couples/families/groups heading to Icmeler.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bolliestboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The S Hotel is not suitable for British people and is no where near the standards of a 4* Hotel. The Balconey was very small, only two chairs side by side and no table. Air con and fridge not working. The bed linen and towels only changed three times in 10 days and were very stained. All food brought in and based on Russian style meals. There was only 4-6 British couples there at 1 time. The rest were Russian or Bulgarian who took great quanties of food. Sun loungers were mostly broken and dangerous. The toilets in the reception area were disgusting and broken. Everything we asked to be replaced was ignored. Overall this hotel was a bad experience not the type of hotel for English people or families with children. Icmeler its self is a really nice place and the people are very friendly and made the holiday worth while. I just wish we had picked a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I've been on MANY holidays and this was by far the best one I've ever been on. The staff were so friendly and always stopped to chat to everyone and make sure they were all having a good time. They had entertainment most nights like belly dancers and kareoke, but the best part of that, is that it wasn't at all cheesy. I went with my Mum, two younger brothers, my aunt and her husband (Who are quite young) and there 4 young boys. I'll admit that there wasn't much choice with the food, but we ate out most of the time anyway and they always gave an afternoon meal and tea and buiscuts! The staff were great fun, always jumping in the pool for laughs. Although they were more like friends than professionals (Even with the language barrier). The manager also told me that every year they change staff, so I doubt the same people are there now. This was one of the cheapest holidays I have been on and I loved everything about it. I might actually go again this year!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadeinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

If you are russian this is the hotel for you,you will get table service but unfortunatly if british its self service.
Rooms are basic & need a makeover but are very clean,extractor in bathroom didnt work & the air con was only working at set times.
The location was excellant for all amenities with an irish bar next door.
plus side,good location & clean.
negative side,staff not very friendly & couldnt speak english or smile,food was awfull with only two choices per sitting.
would i recommend this hotel to my enemys NO.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2008

First let's finish with the negative stuff: I believe the hotel used to be perfect around 5-10 years ago but now rooms need repairs. Furniture, bathroom and carpet are worn-out and therefore look dirty, even if they have been cleaned. Breakfast was too scarce in terms of variety.
Now the good stuff. Very tasty food, very nice pool area and in the first place - wonderful personnel! People were so friendly and cooperative, they made our stay really nice. The hotel manager passed through every table at dinner, every evening to say "hello" and "bon appetit". All waiters were cheerful and talkative and polite.
It is true that sunbeds at the beach were not enough for all the guests, but if you are going to Ichmeler, you wouldn't want to use the beach anyway. Water is too salty to swim. It is far better to go to boat trip everyday - it is 100% worth the money!
And if you are wondering whether to choose a hotel in Ichmeler or in Marmaris: always choose Ichmeler - it is far more peaceful and beautiful and flowering than Marmaris. And if Ichmeler's bars and discos are not enough for you, you can always go to Marmaris and back by bus - day or night.

  • Liked — Personnel, food
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani_A_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
0.2 mi away
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Vela Hotel Icmeler
#51 of 77 in Icmeler
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#17 of 77 in Icmeler
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#24 of 77 in Icmeler
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#48 of 77 in Icmeler
248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Almena Hotel
Almena Hotel
#183 of 234 in Marmaris
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verde Hotel

Property: Verde Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Sahil Sok. No:23, Icmeler 48700, Turkey (Formerly S Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#18 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Verde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing