We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I've Ever Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panorama Park Hotel
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Panorama Park Review (for Trip Advisor)

Having just returned from a 2 week stay at this Hotel, I cannot express how utterly dissapointed I have been.
How on earth this establishment can claim 4Stars is beyond me.
It may well have been good at some point in its life, but it's a very sorry excuse for a hotel now.
I booked my holiday through a Travel Agent specialising in providing holidays for Disabled Persons. This Hotel boasts itself to be Europe's No.I Destination for Disabled Travellers so it all should have been perfect.
I am paralyzed from shoulders down, a permanent wheelchair user and requie 24hr assistance which my partner provides. Special equipment and transport is required everywhere and this Hotel provides it at a cost.
Choices of destinations for myself are limited, however I've travelled extensively in recent years and enjoyed some wonderful holidays despite disabilities. This Holiday shattered all my illusions.
For the first few days, the only soft drinks available were water, fruit juice, and diet coke. There were only 3 of us guests present for the first 2 days of my stay so service was extremely poor.

I'd really looked forwards to my 2 weeks stay in the All Inclusive 4 Star hotel. My God, was I dissapointed...
All I can say is, this must be the worst holiday I've ever had. Avoid the Panorama Park like the plague.

The Hotel is actually TWO hours away from the Airport, not one as advertised.

Management's response to my complaints were to admit that they're aware standards aren't up to much but they aren't really prepared to change anything.
The Al a Carte Menu is a joke... this Menu was the only one offered every night for 2 weeks as from 4th July 2009 until 16h July 2009.

MENU

Salatalar / Salads
ye~il Salata / Green Salad
Goban Salata / Shepherd Salad
Ton BalIklI Salata / Tuna SaId
Sef Salatasl / Chefs Salad

i~tah A~lcI1ar / Appetizers
Sosis Tava + Patates Tava / Sausage & Chips
Sigara Boregi / Fried Cheese Rolls

Makarnalar / Pastas
Spagetti Bolonez / Spaghetti Bolognese
Spagetti Napolitan / Spaghetti Napolitan
Krema Soslu Makarna / Pasta with Cream Sauce
ACI Soslu Makarna / Pasta with Chilli Sauce

Sote/ Saute
Et Sote / Meat Saute
Tavuk Sote / Chicken Saute

BalIk & Patates Tava / Fish & Chips
Parmak Tavuk / Finger Chicken
Krema Soslu Mantarh Tavuk / Chicken with Mushroom Sauce
Pilav, ve patates tava ile servis edilir.
Served with Rice and Fries.

Izgaralar / Grills
Kanat Izgara / Chicken Wings
Tavuk Izgara / Chicken Grill
Si~ kebap / Shish Kebab
Kofte / Meatballs
Kan~lk Izgara / Mixed Grill
Pilav,patates tava ve sebze ile servis edilir.
Served with Rice, Fries & Vetfetables

Giiniin Ballgt / Fish of the day
Bahk Izgara / Fish Grill

ic;ecekler / Beverages
Alkollii / Alcoholic
Bira / Beer
K1rmizi ~arap / Red Wine
Beyaz ~arap / White Wine
Rala.
Votka / Vodka
Alkolsiiz / Soft Drinks
Su / Still Water
Cola / Coke
Fanta
Sprite
Soda / Mineral Water
Meyva Sulan / Fruit Juices

SICak i~ecekler / Hot Drinks
Gay / Tea
Nescafe
Turk Kahvesi / Turkish Coffee

TadI1ar / Deserts
Sutlu Tath / Milk Based Desert
Hamurlu Tath / Pastry
Meyvalar / Fruits
Mevsim Meyvalan / Seasonal Fruits

One guest was told that British people eat Chips so Sausage or Fish and Chips should be perfectly acceptable!
Thr rice portion is equivelent to that of an egg poacher full.
Average number of chips 7 unless you order the Sausage & chips starter... plenty of chips but only ONE hot-dog sausage cut into three

I asked if Steak was an option, it isn't because according to the Management Steak isn't really eaten in Turkey...
We tried the Pasta in Cheese Sauce once, it's the same garbage you get in a Microwave ready meal. Awful.

My partner, a trained Chef, asked for Au Poivre sauce to give the mixed grill some flavour. They didn't know what that was (this is a 4Star Al a Carte Resteraunt remember) so she gave them the recipie. I couldn't believe my eyes and ears.

Although Coffee is on the Menu, they don't serve it in the resteraunt, we were told to go down 7 floors, go to the Pool Bar because that's where the vending machine is. Al a Carte? They have no idea.

The one table that DID get really fast and attentive service was the Management's! Charming, the paying guests can wait.

We turned up for breakfast during the first few days of our stay to be met by empty tables...
All that was on offer were a type of Corn Flake and Cocoa Pops...
(My photos are larger than permitted here, if you want to see them, please contact me)

We turned up for Lunch to be greeted by the same empty tables so when we enquired where Lunch was we were asked "Why? You're not hungry are you?"

The only soft drinks available that first week were water or Diet Pepsi. No Ice for 5 days.

The second week did improve slightly. We noticed 3 very official looking gentlemen walkikng around the place with clipboards and being shown around. Miraculously, lunch that day was a revelation! Stuffed Peppers, whole Chicken Breasts cooked in sauces, Spaggheti in Tomato sauce... coincidence or what? Lunches did get offered after that but they never matched the delicious meal available when the inspectors were there.

Fortunately, Iclemer town has a plethora of resteraunts offering beautifully prepared and very tast food to suit all tastes. Steaks are amongst the best I've ever tasted (despite them supposedly not being a Turkish meal)

The Hotel offers a free shuttle service into Iclemer at set times each day. Be sure to insist the driver straps you in if you're a wheelchair user like myself. I had to insist every trip otherwise he leaves you completely loose and with the very bumpy roads it's only a matter of time before the wheelchair starts moving around.
They aren't reliable either. Despite booking a collection time from Iclemer, we were left there late at night. Luckily, staff in a nearby shop found the Hotels' telephone number and called them for us.

Once it became noticed we were going into town to eat, after all the only decent food and entertainment is there, the shuttle became even less reliable. It wouldn't be available to take us in, or we would be asked to return early. Bearing in mind they have 3 drivers and they spend most of the day sitting around in the sun doing nothing, this was disgraceful.
They refused to take my partner and I into Iclemer on our last night there, so we had to go by foot and wheelchair.
One group of fellow British residents had been left stranded at the Airport! The Hotel had forgotten to collect them and lied openly saying their vehicle had been involved in an accident. All the vehicles in use were there on site, not one had accident damage.

Of the 25 or so guests that filtered through the hotel during our fortnight, not one told me they were satisfied. Everybody complained and one able bodied group moved Hotels because the promised facilities for children weren't actually there.

I am a high level tetraplegic and need full assistance to transfer from my wheelchair. One special treat for me is to swim in the pool. There is a pool hoist by the Pool BUT it's only possible to get into it by transferring sideways from the wheelchair. I can't do that so normally I use an Oxford type hoist and sling. My carer transfers me over. It's imposible to do so at the Panorama Park's pool. There's a metal support bar directly underneath the seat so there's no way of pushing the hoist in far enough, plus it's too dangerous to try because the Oxford's leg would slip into the pool.
Even if I'd got in, there's no-way I'd have got out again. Being paralyzed completely, I use a life-jacket to keep me afloat but it means I'm lying on my back. Getting back into the pool hoist requires help to get me into a sitting position. You can't do that in water 1.65mtrs deep unless you're well over 7ft tall.

We were slightly alarmed one morning to find an odd looking scum floating in the pool. (Photos available, please ask and I'll e-mail them to you)

Within a week, my partner started suffering from severe earache which quickly developed into a nasty infection. Despite having a big notice saying there's a Doctor in the hotel, there isn't one. My partner struggled for the remainder of the holiday with immense pain and went to our local hospital as soon as we arrived home. Having explained where we'd been, the Doctor asked if she'd been swimming in pool water. she had been, all through the fortnight... the doctor stated then that the infection was bacterial and furthermore that type of bacteria is found in human faeces. Pools uncleaned or not treated correctly often are infected when young children swim in nappies that leak excrement or are otherwise contaminated by sewage. We're waiting for clinical test results which we'll recieve in writing. I accept the fact I don't have conclusive proof that this pool caused the infection, but the examining doctor was pretty sure of his facts and the written test results should confirm.

Meanwhile, if anyone reading this is planning on going to the Panorama Park, don't go into the pool just in case you end up with the same bacterial infection.

The Oxford type hoist supplied for bedroom use was fine, as was the basic shower chair.
The bed needed raising up on bricks to allow acces for the hoist. That's pretty much standard anywhere and was sorted within minutes of arrival.
Unfortunately though, the Oxford type hoist wouldn't lower far enough to transfer me onto the sun loungers along the poolside. My entire holiday ws spent sat in my wheelchair... not my intention nor expectations at all.
Other hotels I've visited have far better pool hoists, better designed pools, raised sun loungers etc so why can't this one?

Excursions are on offer, but at rip-off prices. Boat trips are offered at 35 or 45 Euros per person. The average price for a boat trip from the harbour is about 9 or 10 Euros per person. One group we met haggled and got tickets for just over 6 Euros each. That price covered collection from the Hotel, 7 hrs on board, and a lunchtime BBQ.

I paid £3000 for this holiday including flights for 2 of us to stay in a 4 Star hotel All Inclusive. I paid LESS than that last February and went to Mexico.
Not only do I feel desperately dissapointed tht his holiday delivered FAR less than promised and expected from a 4 Star establishment claiming to be Europe's No.1 destination for Disabled people, I feel compltely ripped off too.

By watching how the Hotel staff behave when officials are on site, and seeing how standards of cooking miraculously improve, it seems obvious to me the Hotel management pull out all the stops to impress. Once the officials have gone, it's back to rubbish food and poor service for the paying guests.

Leave this shambles of a Hotel well alone, go somewhere else.

Cerwyn Jones

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cerwyn_jones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2008

Spent a lovely week at the end of August at this hotel. The hotel is set up in the hills above Icmeler with beautiful views from most of the rooms. As there are only 76 rooms it has a relaxed atmosphere with the staff very friendly and helpful. the swimming pool is lovely and has a lifting chair for disabled people.
Food was buffet style for all meals and they had plenty of choice(if maybe sometimes basic!!) we never went hungry and they had turkish and english food. The hotel seemed to be popular with Turkish families with teenagers aswell as younger children.
There is a regular shuttle service down to the town centre throughout the day with the last one being at 12 midnight. Although all inclusive we did have to pay for drinks after 11.00pm.
The hotel has new management now and they have promised it is going to be even better next year - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

just got back from this all inclusive hotel and had a really relaxing time. food was enjoyable and the hotel staff are friendly.
the rooms are really big,with clean sheets and bottled water provided every day. its about a 20 minute walk from main town and beach and if we didn't have 2 kids who refuse to walk more than 10 yards with us tthen we would of happily took a stroll through the old village. there is a free bus service from hotel every hour (except 13:00 HRS & 20:00 HRS) to take u to beach and town. some disappointing points about the hotel to report. the entertainment was awful,just 1 man on a keyboard every night singing 'ivory and ebony', although friday nite is good, its turkish nite and there is kebab for dinner outside and turkish dancing. there needs to be some improvment with kids facilities as there was no kids club, the cinema was closed and theres just 1 pool table to play on. they were happy in the pool but very bored in the evening. its states that there is a games room but this is just tables and chairs for playing cards. the upstairs restaurant was also closed.
i would go back to this hotel if they improved the facilities for children and had better nightly entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank clare7378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: jest widok na morze, ale w zależności od lokalizacji pokoju. bo widać też skały
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank momi752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank qlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An eurosun.de Traveller
Reviewed 9 November 2008
Google Translation

Thank An eurosun.de Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
0.2 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Life Apartments
Life Apartments
#53 of 77 in Icmeler
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#49 of 77 in Icmeler
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Angel's Marmaris Hotel
Angel's Marmaris Hotel
#198 of 234 in Marmaris
80 reviews
9.2 mi away
Selimhan Hotel
Selimhan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Selimiye
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Park Hotel

Address: Golenya Mah. Sivritas Cad. No:3, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Panorama Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing