We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Yazici Club Turban
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Booked this all inclusive hotel through 'First Choice'
The room that my family and I had was clean & spacious, however the beds where to hard to get a comfortable nights sleep, also the air con didn't seem to work on an evening.
House keeping timings for our room was inappropriate, on average cleaners came between 3 and 5 o'clock in the afternoon. Not what you wanted after being out the best part of the morning/afternoon and returning to a room which hadn't been made up then to be disturbed again.
Walls in the hotel rooms are very thin and we constantly heard next door plus the sound of running water from toilets/showers.
Overall the appearance of the hotel was becoming tired & dated, the carpets in the hotel lobby's desperately need changing
Food, there was a variety however in my opinion the food quality was poor, cheapest ingredients and mostly overcooked. The salads where good though apart from the sweet corn.
Staff in the restaurant mostly walked around with gloomy faces, some even stood in corners on there mobiles, a smile or a hello when entering the dining area might of made the dining experience bearable.
Local beverages where not to our liking, lattes/cappuccino from the machines where DISGUSTING.
As for the evening entertainment, I didn't see any but from what I heard from my balcony told me that I wasn't missing anything special.
Overall, for an alleged 4/5 star hotel (Thomson rating) I expected a lot more.
Will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brocky218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    348
    116
    43
    20
See reviews for
620
305
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a fantastic week at club turban. We had a family room - 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - very comfortable. It was in one of the villas up the hill but not a difficult walk and wonderful views of pool and sea. The food was fantastic - something for everyone and all the beer we could drink (didn't try the local wine). 4 or 5 pools, free water slides and free turkish bath. Idyllic bay with swimming/diving platforms. Pebbly beach. Marmaris was fun too - my first time to Turkey and we loved it. Went with Thomsons - very easy, great kids club and lovely reps.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

this was our first trip to turkey,although we have traveled extensively elsewhere,and not usually choosing all inclusive,this was a great find,very friendly and helpful staff on arrival,always nice after a 4 hr flight and 2 hr transfer,the complex itself consists of hillside villas and the main hotel,we were allocated a villa,which was very clean and well equipped,meals can be eaten in the main dining area in the hotel,although there is a snack bar near the beach if you prefer at lunchtimes,the nice thing is everything is informal and you feel equally at home in shorts or if you prefer to dress up,the beach area and pontoon offer good snorkeling,and you can also hire all sorts of watersports equipment,great place for families or couples and very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is our first time in Turkey and we were dubious... how wrong we were ! We have just come back from here and cannot wait to book to go back next year. The hotel is lovely and is the best hotel in the area. We arrived at 4.30 in the morning and just me and the hubby - he is wheelchair bound some of the time and we were given a room on the first floor not near enough to the lift as we'd like but all the same a great huge room. Only critism of the check in was we had no help taking our bags to the room. We didn't make a fuss as we were very tired from the journey.

The food here is superb. Always hot and fresh and a good variety - the only thing we didn't like was the scrambled egg and the german themed night - other than that it was fantastic - we had choice every day. There is a burger snack bar by the pool and coffee, cake and biscuits late afternoon - tip - get there early at 16.30 as it is VERY popular ! The waiters are very efficient and helped us get a table if my husband was in his chair. We also had a night at the a la carte restaurant - there is meant to be four but as it is was near the end of the season they only had the italian. The menu at first appeared very limited and not that exciting but having had the food it was again fresh - hot and lovely ! Book in advance as this is again very popular.

The actual complex here is disabled friendly bar two inclines down the to beach. Do not bother with the bungalows if you have mobility issues as there are lots of steps - request a room in the main building BEFORE you go. The corridors are very wide. The only gripe I had with them is that they need updating and the carpets are creased so do cause a substantial tripping hazard - otherwise ok. We had we a family room and was HUGE - it had two bathrooms! The rooms are nicely decorated and cleaned everyday. The whole hotel is constantly cleaned - you cannot fault this.

We didn't take our children BUT are planning to next year. This a very family friendly hotel with lots to do for the kids. There are pools, slides, rock climbing wall, adventure playground, assault course and kids clubs every day - the rock climbing wasn't on due to season but all other stuff on. I did not see one child unhappy here. For the adults there are water sports, jetskis parasailing etc on the beach. The evening entertainment is good. They had things like the chinese acrobats and african tribal etc etc. Normally after this people went to the beach bar and they had a live band or a disco - tip this is repeatitive after a while as they sing the same songs and play the same music so do take a stroll out the hotel to explore the promenade.There is the opportunity to swim with dolphins and there were a lot of disabled children as they do 'therapy' for disabled. It is not cheap and I was not overly impressed with the size of the pen they seemed to be in. I never went in there but could not bring myself to see these animals in such a small space... you can only judge for yourself. It is only a 150m walk to them from the hotel down by the beach.

To conclude... this hotel is fab. All the gripes we had are listed.. the beds are too hard but apart from that we could not fault it. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak reasonable english. Try and get yourself in the spa or have a pedicure - all reasonably priced. We can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawz6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Arriving at reception and seeing a long queue was the last thing we wanted after the flight and transfer. However it went down quite quickly and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There are 2 types of room, hotel and villa. Unless you are reasonably fit I would recommend a hotel room as the villas are on the side of a steep hill. We had a hotel room and were very happy with the layout. A large bedroom, 2 bathrooms, a sitting room area, a balcony, plenty of storage space, 2 tv's and a fridge. The air con was very poor and the subject of 3 complaints and only then was adequate for a few hours.(I think this is a cost cutting exercise) The hotel sits in substantial wooded grounds giving plenty of shady areas. There is a large swimming pool and a smaller adult only one up the hill by the villas. There are 2 children's play areas one with a pool both very well shaded and very safe. There is also a small childs pool next to the main pool.This is the only hotel I have ever been to that you dont have to fight over the sun beds, no matter what time of day there was always beds available. The hotel is right on the front and has the beach and two jetties to sunbathe on. As said in other reviews the food was ok but breakfast was not made with the uk customers in mind. You are able to eat either indoors or outside. There are 3 al a carte restaurants which carry a surcharge. I found the staff to be most helpful and polite. There is an esplanade just outside the hotel and you can walk to Icmeler or Marmaris We only spent a week here and wished it was longer. This is one place we would like to return to.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allenandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Unless you manage to stay in the main hotel, the others are up a steep hill. The staff are very friendly especially the pool man Siam, every day he made sure guests had sunbeds and went to great lengths to make sure they were okay. Food was excellent, only bugbear for me was that it was only chips or wedges, owing to my waistline it was a good idea. The pool restaurant did lovely "kentucky" style chicken, not to be missed. The hotel was situated between Marmaris and Ichmeler with an easy walk to Ichmeler. Entertainment was okay but everything was translated into 4 languages as there were a lot of eastern Europeans using the hotel. There was music in the Beach Bar and that was very popular. I drank mostly cocktails which were excellent. I stayed there from 1st Oct 12 for 2 weeks and the weather was very hot. Yes, I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcrazydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The resort was good the enteriment was excellent but the restaurants and overall dinning experince was very poor , we only had chips and rice and no potatoes of any sort, when we asked if they had a shortage we were told that there are other things to eat. No dress code for dinner shorts and swim suits was worn. After finding a place to sit, and then return with our meal only to find someone else had taken our pplace. All drinks had to be collected by ourself no waiter service, yet more time away form the table, and were also served in incorrect glasses as shortages ofton occuerd. For the of the week we decided to dine out inorder to have a pleasent dinning experience. No air -co this was turned off at nigth. This was not a 5* resort and should not be sold as one. Would definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers21156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
2,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Labranda Mares Marmaris
#26 of 78 in Icmeler
1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#11 of 234 in Marmaris
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Marmaris Park
Marmaris Park
#14 of 78 in Icmeler
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Yazici Club Turban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Yazici Club Turban

Property: Grand Yazici Club Turban
Address: Sirinler Mah. Siteler Mevki, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#9 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#10 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Yazici Club Turban 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, IATI Turizm Ticaret A.S, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Yazici Club Turban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Yazici Club Turban Hotel Icmeler
Grand Yazici Hotel Turban
Grand Yazici Resort Turban
Turban Palace Marmaris
Marmaris Turban Palace
Turban Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing