We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service and cleaners with no idea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Yazici Club Turban
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

First impressions were not great. It took us five hours to check in - that's five hours of being told that our room would be ready "in ten minutes". The reception staff seemed to be going out of their way to be unhelpful, and kept asking us to fill in the same check in forms over and over, despite us telling them it had already been done. This continued for a number of hours until a new receptionist came on duty, who managed to resolve everything in a matter of seconds. Well, nearly everything as we were then told that despite booking before Christmas we wouldn't be able to get rooms together - which we later found out meant having rooms as far away from each other as possible. This could be solved if they allocated the rooms on booking rather than dishing them out randomly when you arrive at the desk.
So when we finally got to our room, not in a particularly happy mood by this point, we found that despite the delay parts of the room were filthy. Most of it was fine, but the drains in the bathroom (especially the one in the shower) were disgusting. The seals on the shower door had all come off and were just lying on the floor, so the whole room flooded each time you had a shower and despite reporting it to another moody member of reception nothing was done. I don't think they had been cleaned in years. It also took us a long time to get any of the lights turned on, as the wiring was just bizarre. The switch for the light above the dressing table was in the cupboard, and the switch for the light in the cupboard was on the other side of the room next to the bathroom light! Also, the blanket provided for the (small) double bed was tiny - we had to go and ask for another as the blanket didn't cover the whole bed when it was empty, let alone when there were two people in it. I know these aren't major issues, but on top of a four hour wait just to check in it didn't make us very happy.
We were in one of the village rooms, which was fine - a view of the villa infront, and the pool if you craned your neck a bit but we understand that not everyone can have a beach view. Walking down to the main complex wasn't too bad, but for the member of our party who has walking difficulties (which the hotel knew about before) it was very hard going.
There are lots of complaints about the food - my tip would be to go to the restaurant next to the North Pool for breakfast and dinner. It was always quiet, the food was lovely, and much less in the way of elbowing and shoving. It is an adults only dining area, however, so not great if you have kids under 14.
Everything else was fine, though more on the 3 star level. The only problem is that if you want a sunbed you need to either get up at the crack of dawn (the cleaning staff will help you there - coming to clean the room at 8:30am!) or trek to one of the adult pools, which to be fair are lovely. I saw towels on beds from 8am, with no-one actually coming to sit on the bed until gone lunchtime - this sort of thing shouldn't really be allowed.
The entertainment was fine, the only problem being there are great gaps where there isn't much to do - starting the beach party at 9pm seemed a bit early to me, but there wasn't much to do between dinner and a more party-like time of, say, 11pm.
One last complaint - the room we were given to store our baggage etc. when we checked out (check out was at mid-day, our flight at 2am) stank of smoke, and equally didn't look like much had been done in the way of cleaning.
A bit more in the way of customer service and an investment in some bleach and bedsheets that fit the beds would really have made this a much nicer trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieCavendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Family of 4 with teenagers and grandma spent 1 week in Club Turban Marmaris ,in July 2013.
We had a beautiful sea view from our rooms.The rooms were clean and spacious with flat screen TVs and bathrooms with amenities like hairdryers,shampoos.The main restaurant was spacious and had a variety of dishes at the buffet. The staff was very courteous and attentive to the customers. The other buffet had good choices as well and was conveniently close to the beach.The beach was clean and beautiful with bars close to get a drink anytime during the day.
The relax pool was beautiful. We had no problems finding beach chairs and an umbrella. The evening shows were fun. The animation team was very professional. The white night show was our favorite.Water park slides were fun. No long lines to wait. Kids liked the ping pong and the giant chess game. Gozlemes and ayrans were great snacks during the day.The market was convenient to buy little souvenirs. The best part was the long strolls we took from the hotel towards Icmeler along the sea.,we could see the dolphins from the dolphin park.Overall we can not wait to go back .We really liked this location, and enjoyed our stay.We will recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elif v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great place, great people, great experience! Only tiny issue would be that a slightly more English breakfast would've been preferable for the kids. Was a bit worried that the pebbley beach wouldn't quite measure up but the fact the kids could jump into the sea off the jetty more than made up for it. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faye2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from. 6 night stay at the Club Turban having spent time beforehand at a different resort. I wouldn't class this hotel any more than a 3/4 star hotel at best. The pools are small and crowded and there is a severe lack of umbrellas. Given the heat mid afternoon and with two young children this is essential. I had to set my alarm for 8am everyday to secure beds and an umbrella. That is not my idea of a holiday!

The quality of the food in the main buffet restaurant is poor and there is no variation. The ice cream selection was very poor offering the choice of only one flavour per evening. The tables are set out in rows, like a canteen and there are queues everywhere, also like a canteen. I also witnessed first hand the 'chef' open the chest freezer which was located behind him, pull out a bag of frozen potato wedges and pop them in the deep fat fryer! All in front of paying guests. The daytime food available, is all self service which wasn't great. The nicest meals we had were in the a la carte steak house and Italian which we booked several days in advance and paid a supplement for.

The rooms were adequate. Bed comfy but basic furniture. Walls paper thin and no luxurious complementary toiletries to use. Supplements required for children's milkshake and icecream only available during the day for the children at certain times. Complementary cocktails poor and serviced in plastic cups. So much so I told the bartender I could manage a glass.

Free wifi available which was useful and some lovely staff. Majority quite rude at times and unhelpful but a couple of the girls in the main restaurant were very helpful with my elderly Grandma who was also on the trip.

Thanks for the memories but won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We travelled as parents with our three “young adult” children. This is our fifth “all-inclusive” holiday in Turkey, and while they have all been good, we think Hotel Club Turban was probably overall the best. At the risk of repeating things already said:

Location: set delightfully on Marmaris Bay, roughly half way between the centre of Marmaris and Icmeler. Sea front walk/promenade links the two, and is great for an early morning jog in either direction, although the direction of Icmeler is more attractive and largely shaded, so good for a walk even later in day. In the direction of Marmaris there are shops, bars, clubs and restaurants if required.

Site: beautiful site shaded by many mature trees. Good range of alternatives for spending day: relax-pool, main-pool, beach, jetties. Although could get crowded at times, only occasionally did we see people struggling to find loungers - by the main pool the attendant(s) always did their level best to set people up as well as they could. Several nicely laid out bars, provide some variety in places to sit during day or evening. There was a slight issue of the main pool being “closed” three times (for a couple of hours) during our stay for hygiene reasons – although it is reassuring that they are clearly monitoring the water regularly, and don’t hesitate to immediately shut the pool if necessary. In fact hygiene standards seemed very high – certainly from the staff, if not always the other guests!

Drink: really excellent variety of drinks in the all-inclusive package, available in restaurants and bars: normal range of fizzy drinks, plus large variety of fruit juices, decent coffee and hot chocolate from machines, good lager, very drinkable house wines, a range of cocktails (nice alternative to the traditional spirit-mixer drinks), natural drinking yoghurt; bottled water always available from fridges by the bars. Only improvement I could imagine (apart from some real ale!) would be if the fruit juices at the bars could be kept chilled (perhaps they should be machine dispensed rather than from cartons?).

Food: good food and good variety, although perhaps not the very best we’ve had in Turkey - maybe needed a bit more change night to night, and some more adventurous preparation. A strict vegetarian would have very limited choice of mains.

Restaurants: we didn’t try the a la Carte’s. The main restaurant was ok (actually, very comfortable seating, as it happens), although large and spread out, meaning that meals tended to be rather scattered affairs, with lots of walking about from one food station to another, and rarely everyone in our group sitting down at the same time. The dining experience was greatly enhanced by the newly opened “adult-only” (ie. 14+) eating area by block B, which we used from when it first opened, part way through our stay. Although we have no problems with children, it was just more relaxed and pleasant to eat in a quieter and more compact setting.

Entertainment: great, friendly team of entertainers on-site. Several daily activities, including pool game and beach volley ball. Evening entertainment always included visiting performers, both in amphitheatre, and sometimes musical acts either during dinner or later on jetty (great idea to have the large scatter cushions there as alternative to chairs).

Staff: nearly all the staff we dealt with were pleasant, competent and eager to help (with just a couple of exceptions).

Kids-club: although of no interest to our group, the “kids town” area seemed exceptionally good – including its own playground, pool, etc. etc. all enclosed in a shady area.

Other guests and language issues: primary nationalities during our stay were Turkish, Russian, British, Dutch and Lebanese, but many others too – in other words, a great mix! Unlike many other hotels and parts of Turkey, the first language for announcements etc. seems to be English (rather than German), so this does make life a little easier if you are uncomfortable with German. Many of the staff at least spoke a smattering of English, and some (particularly guest relations) were perfect.

Activities: good range of things to do on site, some free (volley-ball, table tennis, pool, water slides), some at extra cost (tennis, “go-ape” style course through the trees, diving). There are also other water sport activities nearby, and a “meet the dolphins” place, which seemed popular, although we didn’t go.

WiFi: really struggles with the number of people trying to access internet on smart phones and tablets.

Rooms: the hotel clearly has a “problem” in having a wide range of different rooms: for example some with beautiful ocean views, and others with dreadful views over a busy road and hotel delivery yard. Our childrens’ room was unfortunately in the latter category, which would have been really disappointing for many people, although since they just used it as a place to crash, and because it was nice and spacious, they tolerated it. The room my wife and I initially got must have been one of the worst in the hotel; small, poorly located, and (ultimately the deal breaker) very badly sound-proofed so that we heard a continuous buzzing noise from somewhere, various activities happening in delivery yard, and were woken very early by a sprinkler outside which sounded more like a waterfall. Fortunately, with quick help from Thompson rep., Michelle, we were able to get a change to a much better room in the main building – still without much view, but at least a well appointed, spacious room, with no noise issues. There are clearly many people switching rooms in this hotel, which obviously makes for difficult management. Final comment on rooms, the air-conditioning in ours did not work well, and we found it was often better to turn it off and just open the door to balcony at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpaceMan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned with my parents, husband and boys aged 8 & 11.
I didn't want to come home, I shall miss the fabulous view from our brilliant family room, (two bathrooms what a treat, I didn't sit on a wet loo seat for a week!).
So location fab, room fab, entertainment team, no.1 & no.7 (our host & Tatyanna excellent). Very professional shows, good beach bar, with bands and DJ's (who do bring scantily clad dancers for extra entertainment for the males within the party! But I did manage to distract my boys with a game of cards)
Beach and water sports we were there everyday, swimming to the pontoons with the family and diving off, great fun!
The barmen at the beach who happily chatted to my 8 year old drinking his coke like an old man with his beer!
The weather amazing, not a cloud in the sky.
Lastly the food, having stayed at Delphin Diva last year there are some improvements I think can be made.
Breakfast we had sugar pancake on the beach which were delicious, we would have gone to the restaurant but it slowed at 10 and shut at 10.30. My children like a lie in!
I recommend lunch in the food court that doesn't feel like a school canteen.
Make the most of the A La Carte with the waiter service and food is a treat.
The main restaurant the evening meals are quite similar, I do feel that the outside kitchen could be to a higher standard and more could be made of this, and I do recommend sitting outside if you can to give that holiday atmosphere rather than a canteen.
But to finish all the staff we meet were the most helpful and positive we have come across and I would return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As my 5 year old said this hotel was lovely. Great food, great 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom/ 2 TV accommodation, lots and lots of facilities, very clean and lovely staff. The restaurant staff were particularly friendly and the kids club girls were so nice that my son cried with them when he had to say good bye. The only problem was that it was too hot for little ones in August. But this wasn't the fault of the hotel!
We couldn't do much except stay in the hotel most of the time, which was lucky as the hotel had so many facilities. Plenty of relaxing adult only areas and great shaded paddling pool for the little ones.

The a la carte restaurants were impressive especially the fish restaurant by the sea.
In other all inclusive holidays we have been disappointed by the all included drinks but not here. There were plenty of alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails and soft drinks and the wine and beer were decent.

The other thing which is often not well done are the shows. Club turban had impressive shows! We loved the acrobatic and the turkish ones in particular. They were classy and amazing. The tourists were mainly Turkish and Lebanese so the atmosphere was calm and serene except at the main pool during lunchtime but the place is so vast you can avoid this.

I have never seen my 1 and 5 year old eat so much! There is a separate little buffet for the children with proper meat and veg and ice cream on tap and delicious snacks at 430pm. Our favourite were the chocolate cakes. There is also a separate fridge with milk for the baby and baby biscuits and a blender/ microwave available 24/7.

It has a great spa, indoor pool and games room to get away from the heat. The beach was so safe and easy to swim although sometimes we had to save our spot early.

I cannot fault the hotel. The decor is tasteful and its set in a wooded area so theres plenty of welcome shade. We had a late night flight and couldn't keep our hotel but they gave us a room to keep all our things, change and let the kiddies sleep too.
It was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Well done club turban!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bickers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
0.3 mi away
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Labranda Mares Marmaris
#10 of 77 in Icmeler
1,978 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quadas Hotel
Quadas Hotel
#67 of 77 in Icmeler
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Marmaris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Yazici Club Turban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Yazici Club Turban

Address: Sirinler Mah. Siteler Mevki, Icmeler, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#9 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#10 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: £46 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Yazici Club Turban 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Yazici Club Turban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Yazici Club Turban Hotel Icmeler
Grand Yazici Hotel Turban
Grand Yazici Resort Turban
Turban Palace Marmaris
Marmaris Turban Palace
Turban Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing