We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julian Forest Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Julian Forest Suites
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have recently returned from a 2 week break at Julian Forest. On the whole we enjoyed our stay but there were a few things that let it down for us.

The hotel itself is really nice. Our room was clean and spacious, although we weren’t one of the lucky ones to receive a poolside view. We had no balcony and being next to reception it could be noisy at times.

The poolside is lovely, sun beds were very comfy and lots of umbrellas if you wanted them. Towards the end of our 2 weeks if you weren’t up at a reasonable time it was harder to get a sun bed. Often people would reserve them and you wouldn’t see them on it all day.

The all inclusive options were amazing. We loved the food, it was really varied over the 2 weeks and we enjoyed trying a lot of the different dishes. The drinks options for all inclusive was very good and better than other all inclusive holidays we have done. The bar staff were great, special mention to Justin for looking after us all holiday.

A lot of people in previous reviews mentioned the wasps. We did not find them to be a problem. The staff did a great job of clearing plates away quickly. All the food was covered and they would use burners near the desserts to keep the wasps away. We also found if you didn’t sit near the buffet during dinner then you weren’t bothered by wasps at all. The only times we were bothered by the odd wasp was when we sat closer to the buffet.

We did the Turkish bath at the start of the week which we really enjoyed. The location itself is nice, close to the mountains. As everyone has said it is easy to get the bus to Icmeler or Marmaris for the equivalent of about 80p and we enjoyed exploring both areas.

The sticking point for us was the entertainment. We are busy and active at home and we go on holiday to chill out and for us it was a bit too much at times. There was always something going on which is fine if you want to take part but the constant announcements over the loud speaker, the 3 different daily poolside dances were a bit too much for us. One of the entertainers shouted the whole time which was unnecessary, but towards the end of our second week it seemed that he had left and been replaced by the lovely Justin from the bar. The other entertainers were really nice Oktay, Richie and Amy but for us it just needs to be toned down a bit. I don’t want to be woken up and asked if I want to play water polo or to join the morning dance!

I would say if you were a family then this hotel would be great as there is always something going on for the kids but as a couple I am not sure we would go back. We found you had to time dinner to avoid listening to the same songs in the kids disco every night for 2 weeks. As the disco was right next to where you eat. Dinner was 7.30 to 9 and the disco was always 8.30 to 9pm.

All that being said it is a nice hotel, in a lovely setting and the staff were fab. It just wasn’t quite the relaxing break we were after!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    311
    81
    35
    21
See reviews for
907
376
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We where at the julian forest suites for ten nights me, my husband and our teenage son my sister, her husband and their teenage son. We had an excellent stay here the staff were great, they couldn't do enough for you rooms were cleaned daily clean towels daily, Gary is brilliant you must book a Turkish bath with him it was amazing they took us all together it was great fun and excellent value for money. The entertainment staff were brilliant especially Richie and Amy, the boys had an amazing holiday because of them Justin and oktay are great too. The food was excellent didn't have a bad meal in the hotel once the choice was good as we'll plenty of fresh salads can't complain about they food it was brand name juice at the bar (Pepsi) not the cheap stuff the lager was a bit flat some times but the staff changed it no problem if you asked them to the only thing that let they hotel down was the wasps there is hundreds of them they hotel could do more to prevent them they were a nightmare and to top it off some of them are bigger than our wood wasps but if you don't leave juice cups round the pool take them back to the bar you won't be bothered with them during the day but at night we waited till after 7pm to go to dinner as they seemed to die down a bit by then there was still lots but not as bad there were lots of kids stung as people with kids were going earlier so they could go to the mini disco it's just a shame about the wasps because this is a fab hotel but it put me off and I wouldn't go back because of this.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as there are bushes round the ground floor rooms and they are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having already stayed at the sister hotel in marmaris twice, we were advised to try the forest suites, so glad we did, while smaller than club julian, this hotel more than made up with better rooms, each having a living area as well as large bedroom, the pool was perfect size, with plenty wooden sun loungers, and not having to get up early to claim one! The relaxed atmosphere with a few pool games and entertainment led by oktay kept things going throughout our stay was good, the food was varied and of a good quality, plus no queuing up which we have had in previous years, there were little touches that made this hotel stand out, with waiters on hand getting drinks, even during the day taking your drinks to your lounger, as well as friendly and hard working bar staff, especially Justin, and was glad to see him move to the entertainment team during our stay, the cleanliness of the pool area, rooms and the hotel in General were of a high standard throughout. The hotel photographer ally, done a fabulous job, never hassling you but taking quality pictures and done a lovely shoot for my son and his girlfriend, as well as a few pictures of my wife and I during our stay, but special mention to Gary (Serhat) for arranging the Turkish bath on our 1st day, but throughout our stay found him great to chat to. The best recommendation I can give is that we will defiantly be back to this hotel, and advised a few friends to go to this hotel. Thanks all for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartMacGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the julian forest for a week middle of June. Lovely weather to go with a nice very run hotel, all staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. Big mention to Gary on advising and sorting us a Turkish bath on are first day of are holiday. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to avoid the hustle of marmaris and enjoy a relaxing stay in the back end of icmeler.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrenjft96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is stunning, set right up in the mountains of icmelar but yet still a really short ride via the dolmus into icmelar town and marmaris from right outside the hotel, not only always available but also really cheap. The food was great and had great quality/variety. The hotel reps really helped make the holiday too, constantly upbeat, really friendly and helpful and organised some amazing nights out for me and my friends. Would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Abi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Where do I start. We arrived in the early hours and were suwon to our room and made to feel instantly welcome by the night portals. The rooms are actually 'suites' with a living room, bathroom and bedroom. Equipped with a TV and a large fridge.We paid for wifi which was something like £15 each..The food was amazing,such a wide variety. For breakfast you could have cereals, fruit,egg and turkish style sausage toast/bread.Lunch and dinner were qually as good with a wide choice. Pasta, chips, veg, fruit, potatoes, lamb, curry, rice you name it. On Sunday they even did a roast dinner! The pool was lovely, cleaned daily with clear water. You could walk the whole length of the pool. The entertainment team was fabulous. Got you all going every morning and there was a range of activities available to take part in daily. A special mention to Sexy Sammy and Oktay we were they're sexy couple. Miss you both! The people who work on the bar are so hard working and friendly especially toga . I don't think they know much English but they know enough to give you a drink with ice and a straw. There was a camera man on sight there at your every move. He was great fun and very friendly. We bought many photos as they were such good quality and nice photos. Definately have a turkish bath! It was so relaxing and well worth the money. They look after you so well and make you feel comfortable. Thanks to Gary! (Serhat ) for making us go for it ! We had one on the first day and one on the last as a 'last day programme'. Overall an amazing hotel with such hard working staff to keep it this way. Reception can't do enough to help you and nothing is to much to ask. Would Defo reccommend this hotel to anyone and would 100% return. Only thing we would request next time is a pool side view as we were on the first floor behind reception looking onto the hedges. It would have been nice to be able to sit out on the balcony and look what people are doing. Overall though, fantastic I want to go back now

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancescaVenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from two week holiday on 19th June and we must say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It is set in the most wonderful setting surrounded by pine clad mountains. Rooms are spacious and cleaned everyday. Staff are very friendly and the entertainment team are brilliant Oktay,Sammy, Richy and Amy whom my daughter loved. They are great fun and bring a smile to your face everyday. Food is excellent and always plentiful...Sunday roasts etc.... Hotel pool area is spotless as is hotel interior. Must also mention manager Deniz who is a very nice man . Gary the Turkish Bath salesman (which is brilliant !!) and Ali the photographer are good guys.

Will Definetly Return
Gordon, Gemma,Jamie and Jessica

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 79 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#3 of 79 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 79 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Aquarium
Grand Aquarium
#5 of 79 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Marmaris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Forest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Forest Suites

Property: Julian Forest Suites
Address: Golenye Mah. Halide Edip Adivar Cad. 182. Sok, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Julian Forest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxing holiday away from the noise of the town or easily reached if desired the Julian Forest Suites is a must. Situated 2,8 km away from the beach at the foot of the surrounding forest, Julian Forest Suites offer fantastic service set in beautiful scenery, ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Julian Forest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Forest Hotel Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing