We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fandabidosy-loved it loved it loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Julian Forest Suites
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Where do I start - my families 1st time here at Julian Forest, and it won't be the last. I would like to make it clear on this review, that holidays are exactly that, not for whinging about toilet roll, forces of nature i.e the weather(1 day of heavy rain), wasps, an entertainment team trying to entertain their guests, the sun going behind a mountain - hello - Icemeler has beaches, a bus not being quick enough and not frequent enough. Ok, enough whinging about the whingers ha ha-send them back to Blackpool! From start to finish, we had an absolute ball, and were thankful for the decent reviews on this site, doing it justice. The staff, the hotel, the food, the location all exceeded our expectations and more. Icemeler was great, the hotel is situated perfectly, not too close to the biz of the main town. You can go to the main town anytime, as we found, the Dolmus was nearly always waiting, and with 2 young kids and 2 buggies, it helped so much. We never had to wait long, and it is only about a 7 minute journey to town. They will drop you off, all you have to do is ask.
The food was amazing, and the flexi dine was such great value and a great idea, we would thoroughly recommened it. The service was always quick, and always done with professionalism and with a smile. We ate out in several places in town, if you ask reception to book restaurants for you, most will pick you up, and return you back to your hotel for no additional cost. We ate at the Lighthouse, Loveboat, Majestic, Venice, Adana, and Tommys. All were great, for an amazing night, go to the Venice, the yoghurt kebab is too die for, Loveboat for silver service and fresh sea food-a wee bit more classy, and the Adana, it's a small traditional cafe, but great value and food.
We would like to thank all the staff, particularly the manager for his nice gestures, being seen and hands on, and talking to guests certainly makes you feel relaxed and welcomed. Thanks to Hahkan who was always chirpy, and to Mehmet who always served us promptly, effeciently, and never forgot my lime with my Effes! Sorry for forgetting the girl in the childrens clubs name, but wish her all the best when her baby is due. thanks to the cleaners, who always left the apartment spotless, and left flowers in our room. Cheers to the animation team who put in so much time and effort trying to make our holiday memorable, unfortunately it was Nico's dancing that sticks in our heads.
Take advantage off the Turkish massage at the hotel, you will love it so much. I had a full massage, my wife had the works and nearly fell asleep. I was sorry to hear the man who booked this was gone, as he was great, and always had a pleasant word and sweeties for the wee ones.
Our little one had an accident whilst we were on holiday, and all staff, massage man and reception were great, and called a doctor immediately. She was taken to hospital, and still had a smashing time.
The pools were great, but cold, and myself and the kids, David and Frances, loved the slides, they were on when stated - rules are there for a reason.
We met some smashing people at the Julian Forest, as you will see I'm hopeless with names, David and Frances, Paul and his wife and their kids - sorry Pauls wife, I couldn't tell you I didn't know your name.
Do not believe certain reviews, if you want a relaxing and fun holiday, sun, great food, super staff and service and great location. There are worker bee's all over Icemeler, but when your next to Pine tree's, you will get more. This did not make a difference in our holiday, we did get stung, but big deal, it's a bee not a scorpion, snake or spider!
We will book for next year, suggest you give it a try, you won't be sorry.

Chris, Claire, Abi and Orlagh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris251174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,720)
There are newer reviews for Julian Forest Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

our first time in turkey, so we were over the moon on arrival to find a beautifull hotel in a lovely setting after a very tiring day. yes its a little way out of the centre of icmeler but it only takes 7minutes on the local dolmus bus and was only 40pence. the service in the hotel from reception staff, bar and waiter staff, cleaners, reps and management was absolutely fantastic we could not fault a thing! we booked the full package in the health club, which was 25pound each and included, a sauna a scrubbing massage, a full soap massage a face pack whilst relaxing with a cup of apple tea then finished off with a full body massage massage! it was money well spent and would recommend everyone to have it at the begining of thier holiday! the pool was lovely, clean and a good size. flexidine was a very good choice that we made, well worth the money, it worked out at about 13-14 pound a day, and you could have anything from the day menu, breakfasts pizzas, pastas, baguettes, omellettes etc then after 7pm you could have a full 4 course evening meal which was of a very high standard! our rep sophie ricardo was so good at her job she had a very good knowledge of turkey on a whole and what she didn't know she found out asap. the entertainment team were great, keeping everyone happy and if you just wanted to watch that was fine too. dalyan departure trip was very good, we paid 140pound for 3 adults this included transport to a hotel in dalyan, a carpet factory tour, a boat to the mud baths (which was so much fun!) then the boat back to a restaurant for lunch then back on the boat for a trip down the dalyan river to see the lycian tombs (magnificent!) then the boat took us to iztuzu beach (turtle beach) where you have just over an hour to have fun in the waves! then a relaxing sail back up the river, then back on the bus to your chosen hotel (we up-graded which i would reccommend) there we had a meal which was ok, a very good day had by all. we will definatley return to the julian apts!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Where do I start with these terrible apartments,
So I booked after reading all the great reviews but wished i had not, firstly let me tell you some of the good points. the rooms are sapcious we had a 2bed apt the turkish bath was great and the resident photographer was good even if he was a little pricey, and thats it on the good stuff now to the bad points.
the rooms were never cleaned proper my kids left crumbs on the floor which were swept under the sofa, the units were never wiped down, bath never cleaned and in the whole two weeks we were there they never changed the bedding once this was proven to them by my little boys dribble stains that were on the sheet and the poor cleaning was made clear when it came to leaving while doing a search to make sure that we hadn't left anything behind i discovered clothes, underwear and chocolate wrappers from the previous guests. the 2bed apartment had 2 bathrooms but only 1 had hand soap on the wall this really was a pain i mean come on if you put soap in one bathroom why not the other and yes as mentioned before toilet roll is not supplied also there were five of us and only four towels put out each day all in all i dont see how people can rate this service at all.

In the public areas of the apartment complex the pool and surrounding areas were swarming with bees two of my children who are 4 and 8 were both stung twice and me and my wife were both stung and the satff and manager have made no effort to try and control or reduce the number of bees on the premises infact there are severl big hives visible in the eaves of the apartments. the children area was very poor ok yes they did have slides but these were never on there was a sign stating that the slides would be on between 12-1 and 2-4 but this was never followed and my children would ask and be told no it would always be down to me to ask and then the staff would look like it was to much hassle ( the slides are advertised so in my opinion they should be on all the time anyway..)
with the exception of hakan the staff were really pretty grumpy and the restaraunt staff and service were slow at times we had to wait upto ten minutes for them to bring us our drinks even though they were on the counter so in the end my wife got so annoyed she got them herself and the food service was even worse on more than one occassion the food was brought to us cold it was also the month of ramadan when we were there and i asked if the kids could have some ice cream on a plate for dessert they said no has it was not on the flexi dine menu and was told to order the banana split has it had three soops of ice cream with it and just leave the banana now they were encouraging the wastage of food in a muslim country on ramadan??

now to entertainment team put it this way the make thomson entertainers seem like west end stars honestly the team were very poor and all they seemed to do was dress up as girls and touch eachothers privates i mean this is supposed to be a family hotel the magician was mediocre and the only tricks he performed were those out of a kids christmas present also the day entertainment was rubbish and anoying pestering to play darts and bing if i wanted to play those i would go for a pint down my local and when we did have two days of rain low and behold no entertainment at all and in the evening what did they do satisfy us guests who had been stuck in all day watching telly they played a movie yeah thats right more telly.

All in all it is by far the worst place we have ever stayed and if it wasnt for some nice people(guests) we met there and our days at the waterpark and on the boat i think may have ended up going nuts. its is so out of the way and the dolmus may be there waiting but when you get on that is what you have to do wait and wait .. untill it fills up then you go into the town and on return there is only one stop for the old village area where the aprtment is and these services are about every half hour to forty five minutes. now another important thing that no one mentions is the loss of sunlight if you are hopeing for afternoon sun you will be dissappointed because the apartments are so close to the mountanis the sun was going down behind it at 4:30 but in icmeler town or marnmaris the sun was not going down untill about 7:00 so if you want afternoon sunbathing and warmth book somewhere in town . now i know these apartments have got some followers but that is all it has and they are the ones that keep going back and giving the good reviews so dont be fooled it is not good at all and there is no way this should be number 1

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jace_2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We returned home on 26/9 but we will not be going back to these apartments. They weren't bad just not what we want from a holiday. We bkd only 4 weeks before departure to grab a quick week in the sun and we wanted to see what Turkey was like. I'd read the reviews of the JF and so had a good idea what to expect. The rooms are modern, well equipped and kept very clean and tidy. However, toilet roll is only provided on arrival (presumably just what the last guests leave) and you have to buy it yourself from then on in - we both thought this was a bit petty seeing it's a basic rather than luxury item! The staff are polite and as a previous reviewer has said "they do their job but nothing more". The pool area is awash with wasps both dead and alive and every day people/kids were being stung. The pool area is VERY noisy with dance music blasting out all day and don't get me started on the afternoon "entertainment "programme. It starts with being asked to join in water aerobics, then 30 mins later the darts competition, then 30 mins later the pool competition and so on. The "entertainment" team are polite young guys who don't take offence and get the hint after a polite "no thank you" but so help me God I'm on holiday and just want to relax. Having said that if you're the type of people who like Butlins in the sun and want/need to be entertained 24/7 then you'll love the JF. I can see why families would enjoy this accommodation but if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday then I suggest you stay in the next door apartments (Club Green World) as it's an oasis from the noise of the JF - we enjoyed a very nice lunch there and the waiter told us that they have a lot of people coming in to them from the JF and this says it all. The bus service into Icmeler is excellent and operates until 1 am. We found the food in all the restaurants we chose to be of a good standard and Icmeler itself is a good location for a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireeTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Been coming to turkey many years now and this has to be the best hotel ever. This is our 3rd time and have booked for next july cant wait .
All the staff are great and they remember you when you go back .
The hotel manager Ahmet is just great makes you feel VERY welcome talks to all him customers.
My young son loves the kids club with is run by Stephanie she is great with the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74fordka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Well what can we say! Just returned from a fantastic week at these brilliant apartments. We can't praise Julian Forest enough. The apartments themselves are great - modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The pool area is also very clean and the setting is breathtaking, set at the foot of mountains and surrounded by forest. We were self-catering but upgraded to half board for 4 days when we arrived. This was exceptional value, the food was brillaint, lots of choice, 4 courses at dinner and very good portions. Now to the staff - well what can we say apart from they were great. The entertainment team - Nico, Izo, Chover, Ali and Cuma-Lee - do a fantastic job, they kept us in stitches all week - especially Nico, what a crazy boy! They persuaded our 14 year old daughter to play pool, do water aerobics and even play darts! Thanks lads - you made our holiday! The waiters were very polite and attentive and extremely hardworking. We would like to say a particular thanks to Yunus and Mehmet for making our stay a memorable one. Icmeler is a beautiful place and if you are thinking of going there please book Julian Forest. A 5 star experience - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieAndCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

what a great hotel ,staff cant do enogh for guests in every way.kids loved it loads to do all day and night ,i agree little far out from town but 1 lira on bus and 20 mins walk .we went for 2 weeks we had 7 days on flexi dine great value all eleven of us who went agreed food in hotel just as good as eating just about anywere in town ,i did find a lovely quiet place though called the wayside little bit more exspensive than others but well worth it. have a jack daniels t bone steak 29 lira it was great. the only thing i would say is keep an eye on your wrist band they can make mistakes what they put on in the hotel shop also the wasps are a pane but would defo return to this hotel again 1 of the best we have been to .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesKtm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#32 of 77 in Icmeler
752 reviews
1.7 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#26 of 77 in Icmeler
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Labranda Mares Marmaris
#10 of 77 in Icmeler
1,889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Aquarium
Grand Aquarium
#9 of 77 in Icmeler
785 reviews
5.2 mi away
Julian Club Hotel
Julian Club Hotel
#13 of 234 in Marmaris
4,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Forest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Forest Suites

Address: Golenye Mah. Halide Edip Adivar Cad. 182. Sok, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#3 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: £41 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Julian Forest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxing holiday away from the noise of the town or easily reached if desired the Julian Forest Suites is a must. Situated 2,8 km away from the beach at the foot of the surrounding forest, Julian Forest Suites offer fantastic service set in beautiful scenery, ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Julian Forest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Forest Hotel Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing