We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Holiday We've Ever Had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Julian Forest Suites
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
norfolk,uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Family Holiday We've Ever Had!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We visited from 6 - 20 August, with our 2 children, Emma and Lewis who are 10 and 8, and there were so many highs.

Apartments - We were impressed with our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment which was luxury - spacious, modern, and well appointed. Great maid service, sheets and towels changed regularly. No toilet roll shortage here, and no dreaded bin for toilet paper, all flushable.

Out of town location - To any first timers, please note before you book this hotel that you will need to use dolmuses or taxis to reach Icmeler. The costs do mount up over a fortnight for a family of 4. But if this hotel had been at the beach front, we probably couldn’t have afforded to stay in it. By choosing to be at the back of the resort, generally you have gained a larger hotel footprint, i.e. larger pool area, better amenities. The dolmus are plentiful, and they run down through the beautiful Old Village which is a treat for the eyes. Being first timers to Turkey, we wanted the reassurance of 4 star accommodation and facilities. But if you are the type of guests who will want to be on the beach every day, you may find you prefer a more central location.

The weather – We had blue skies every day, never saw a cloud. Temperatures on the digital sign in Icmeler, outside of Azra Jewellers usually showed 42, 43, or 44 degrees. Hot just how I like it. It does make you sweat though. What we liked about returning to Julian Forest in the afternoon was that it was noticeably cooler, with a lovely breeze always there which was very much needed. Some of the other hotels are much more enclosed by shrubbery/fences etc, and seem to trap the heat, making it very hot around the pool.

The wasps – In August, we had a couple of bites, but you can't have this beautiful, unique location in the pine forest, next to the mountains without a few wasps. We only noticed them just after 6 ish p.m., for a little while. Don’t know about other months of the year.

Flexidine - See Hakan in the Restaurant about taking flexi dine, you can fully discuss with him any special dietary requirements, or reservations you might have about taking it. We took 7 days, and ate out the rest. The food is of a high standard, and the breakfast and lunch menus are both available nearly all day, so there is no set meal times, which appealed to us when we returned tired and hungry days out. There was never any pressure to eat in the hotel.

Price of drinks – Yes, they are quite expensive, but then we expected these hotel prices. We also looked forward to the 2 happy hours, from 5.00 p.m. and 10.00 p.m. Being a red wine drinker, I found it cheaper to buy from the bar by the bottle, and always found something on 'special' that I liked for around 20 Lira per bottle. Much cheaper than the same wine in hotel shop.

The hotel shop – We only ever bought water, milk and bread there the first day, as it is expensive. But again that is to be expected really.

Kidsland Sessions – The Kidsland Sessions are now run on more of a casual, drop in basis. There is a morning session, and an afternoon session, all ages in together. This suited my children as they are older. There wasn’t any signing in or out that I could see. My kids adored Servo (Sarah).

Waterslides – Sessions were 12 - 2.00, and 4.00 - 5.00 p.m. Great fun for kids and adults. Probably the highlight of the childrens' holiday. ‘Who can make the biggest splash’ competition was held in between the sessions for kids and adults.

Staff - It is the staff that make this hotel what it is, particularly the waiting and bar staff. Aykut is a very kind, and helpful young man, speaks great English too - his mum must be very proud of him! I have also had nice little chats with Ozy who always has a twinkle in his eye, the lovely Gizem, and fab Ismail. I'd also like to mention Suleyman, Goktug, and Inana who are so professional, sorry if I missed anyone. We love them all, and can only admire the way they keep smiling through 12 hour days in that heat How do they do it? What a great bunch of guys and girls! Whatever little minor problems I had, I would always go to them for advice from anything to wasp stings to tourist information.

Entertainment - We loved the high energy, entertainment team of Shrek, Effe, Servo, and Deniz. It compared very favourably with what we’ve experienced on previous holidays. When we were there, there was lots of fun and games around the pool, and a great mini disco, The evening entertainment was good, often a full house of guests. They brought in entertainers from outside, e.g. acrobats, Elvis, etc. We thought they were as good as you would find in town.

Thomas Cook Rep – Kat May was very helpful. She was around every day, and offered to make phone calls to book restaurants for us, and arrange the courtesy lift back to the hotel. Thanks Kat.

If I had to make some minor criticisms, I would ask if the kitchen could make more Turkish mezze available on the dinner menu. I enjoyed it so much, and only managed to have it once, as the other nights there wasn’t any for some reason.

I hardly dare to suggest adding to their workload, but would love to see a Waiting and Bar staff dance show. That would be fun.

We would also have liked more TV channels available, as the news and weather got very repetitive.

Thank you JF for an unforgettable time. The children sobbed when the plane touched back down in the UK. xx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buntybunnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    314
    82
    35
    22
See reviews for
911
379
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

It was our first time in Turkey. We were a bit aprehensive as we love Cyprus so much, but our opinion has changed. It was a pretty and a beautiful setting where we stayed at the Julian Forest. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Shrek, Effe from the entertainment team and Hakan our waiter. The food was great and had a wide choice of meals and the flexi dine was worth the money. The drinks were on the expensive side both soft and acholic, but that didn't spoil our holiday. If you want to venture into town the dolmas takes you there for 150tl. There are lots of lovely restaurants to visit. A turkish bath is a must!! We have booked to go next year we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After reading all the reviews on tripadvisor the Julian Forest had a lot to live up to and it definately did just that! When we arrived we were checked in by the very friendly reception staff and then taken to our apartment. The 2 bedroom apartment we had was very spacious and spotless and the 2nd bathroom was a real bonus.We decided before we went we would take the 4 day flexidine as we were only there for a week and it was well worth it. We'd been in contact with Onal by email to enquire about the price etc so were able to sort it out when we arrived. ( thanks again Onal for all your help )
The room was cleaned everyday and the maid left us flowers on more than one occasion. The bar staff all deserve a medal, they are the most friendly & polite people even after a 12 hour shift. A big thank you to the lovely Gizem who was our waitress for most of the time we were there and also Hakan, Akyut and the rest. ( by the way you do a lovely iced coffee!!!! )
The entertainment was great and our teenage son had a ball doing the megasplash, waterpolo etc. Efe, Shrek etc put everything they had to keep everyone amused and if you didn't want to join in, it was as much fun watching!!! The highlight of the evening entertainment was the bar-b-que and pool party on Wed nights. It was great fun and certainly enjoyed by everyone.
My wife & mother went for the Turkish bath/massage and they really enjoyed it----thanks Sinan the photos are a lovely reminder of our stay,you're a great guy and made everyone feel special.
All in all we had a brilliant holiday at JF and the dolmus was always outside to take us to Icmeler / Marmaris when we ventured out. The only negative point would be the small supermarket---- yes it is dearer and not a lot of stock but you can always go into the town and stock up.
Thank you to all the staff in Julian Forest for making our first visit to Turkey brilliant and we look forward to seeing you all when we return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyCo_Antrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday here and it feels a bit like we have left behind some real friends. The friendliness of the staff made the holiday for us in particular Ozzy, Hakan, photographer man, Sevo and the almighty Shrek. Nothing was too much for them and they were totally committed to looking after us.

Ozzy and Hakan made mealtimes enjoyable and were able to adapt food to the kids tastes and likes!! Flexi-dine is a really good option and good quality food and plenty of it! Make sure you speak to them about it!

Entertainment was low budget and would have been awful if it had not been for Shrek. His big personality got the whole resort buzzing and it was really noticeable when he had a day off!

My kids fell in love with Sevo who runs the kids club. She is brilliant with the children and built a special relationship with them. It was a small club so felt really comfortable leaving my 3 and 7 yr old. My daughter formed a very special relationship with her and spent morning noon and night there. A really important service particularly with the heat!

The hotel is about 5 minutes by bus from tine and easy to get to. After a week it started to feel claustrophobic so got bus to the town and beach- really easy to do- coming back to the hotel felt like coming home?
Thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenisabelleluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Julian is the definition of a perfect hotel :) amazing location, rooms and staff. The receptionists are truly the best :D The resort also offers a flexi dine option, which is not only affordable but can be sold to you by two truly awesome guys Onal and Hakan :P I think Julian offers something for everyone x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

first time at julian forest good hotel but disapointing. Entertainment was more for adults than kids. Staff friendly if you were on flexi dine. Wasps not the only stingers as the prices at the bar were extortinate.Was the manager the only happy one after happy hour but we wouldnt know as we never saw him. Card system a money spinner for the hotel as it was to easy to lose trace of spending. As the location of the hotel was isolated, the shop seemed to be naming i ts own price. I bought a loaf and it was greenmouldy took it back the shop when i opened it at tea time and the guy in the shop got a fresh one of the shelf. I thought he was going to swap it but no he counted the slices to make sure I had not used any. After a slight arguement he was still reluctant to swap it. He eventually swapped it but very reluctantly. Apart from that met loads of good people. Turkey once again brilliant but would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samual186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Fantastic location, beautiufl mountains, welcoming staff.
The holiday is great for the kids and the adults.
10/10 i would give it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesa2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#3 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#36 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Marmaris Park
Marmaris Park
#14 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Turban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Forest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Forest Suites

Property: Julian Forest Suites
Address: Golenye Mah. Halide Edip Adivar Cad. 182. Sok, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Julian Forest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxing holiday away from the noise of the town or easily reached if desired the Julian Forest Suites is a must. Situated 2,8 km away from the beach at the foot of the surrounding forest, Julian Forest Suites offer fantastic service set in beautiful scenery, ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Julian Forest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Forest Hotel Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing