We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Aquarium, Icemeler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Aquarium
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Aquarium, Icemeler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a great two weeks at the Grand Aquarium, staying with a family group with ages ranging from 18 months to 70 years old.
The hotel was last drop from the airport and was a 2 hour transfer. We arrived early hours but had a very friendly and informative welcome. The basics were explained to us and we were helped to our rooms with our bags and then shown around the room by very helpful staff.
The rooms are fairly basic but fine. However, the 1 bedroom apartment is rather small for more than 2 adults and there is limited storage.
Air con was good but only operates in bedroom. We left the bedroom door open at night and my son was ok in the living area on his sofa bed as the air con cooled the apartment. We paid to have air con available whenever we were in the room and this was good value compared to other places (£30 per week).
All staff were great. The restaurant manger was particularly helpful and friendly and Aidyn who runs the Turkish Bath was very friendly and good company. Sally, who I think was the general manager was also very good and our Thomas Cook rep Megan was great.
The Turkish bath experience is a must. 13 of us went at the same time. Although we were waiting towards the end for our massages, we had a nice area to relax and eat Aidyns Turkish Delights.
Pool was nice and sun beds were fine as long as the towels were down before 0900 hrs.
Food at the hotel was great and very good value. You need to be hungry as the portions are huge.
Part of our group booked later than us and stayed at the Club Aquarium. This is also a lovely place and a bit quieter. We spent a few days around the pool there. It is a 5 minute walk or a 5 minute free shuttle bus journey. The club has lovely views.
Entertainment at the hotel was not for us. There was the kids dancing and fun hour, then an act or quiz then bingo. All fine, but not our thing. We went out most evenings.
Food in town is great too and reasonably priced. Town is a 20 minute walk, a 50 pence bus or a £3 taxi. Easy. Also if you book in, there are a lot of restaurants that will pick you up and take you back at the end of the evening. There is a big choice of places to eat, some very busy (followed by the waiters dancing and showing their pecs) and some lower key and more traditional. We tried quite a few and had great food and service at them all. I must mention Ali Baba at the chill out bar. They really spoilt us one evening, dining out on their upper terrace and we are most grateful.
A couple of our party needed the doc during the stay. One of the kids had an ear infection and one of the adults needed medication for a previous complaint. The service and treatment was first class. They were picked up, transported to the doctors, treated and dropped off. No worries.
Trip to do is the Cleopatra Island boat trip with jeep safari. Awesome. Trip to avoid is the water park. Health and safety issues with chipped tiles around pool and a disgraceful policy of not being allowed to take your own drinking water in. This policy is aggressively enforced. The slides are ok but nothing special.
The only reason I have not rated the hotel excellent is the size of the rooms which are advertised as suitable for 4 adults. The rooms are clean and basically comfortable but are only really suitable for 2 in my opinion.
However, thank you to all at the hotel, we had a great holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from bar area as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    164
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
433
133
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kettering
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

just returned yesterday from 2 weeks at the grand aquarium. There was just myself and my husband but we soon made many friends.............thank you Mark Gaynor and Robyn for your company which we thoroughly enjoyed, also lots of people from Liverpool including Frank and his family. The apartments are small but there was plenty of room for the two of us, ( we had a studio room). The complex is very clean and all the staff are friendly. We only had breakfast or lunch at the restaurant which was good value for money. There are many bars and restaurants within walking distance (15 mins by foot) or catch the dolmus for 1.50lira. My husband and most of the men and young lads enjoyed killer pool everyday at 4pm with Nani and Karim. I had a turkish bath and after suffering from prickly heat rash Aidens special potion thankfully soon made it better. The pool is plenty big enough and the slide is a must!!!! There is plenty of sun beds all around the pool area. Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. The one negative if I had to find one was that there was no tv in the room, although there is a tv point. Nice to relax in your room with a cuppa and a biscuit early evening before getting ready to go out and catch the uk news on the tv.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmaandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Grand Aquarium, where we had a really enjoyable holiday. Much is exactly as previous reviews. The rooms are small, especially if you are travelling as a family of four as we did, with two teenagers, although adequate enough as a base. The food is of a very good standard, with the large portions on the evening meals. The pool is a good size, with a fairly big water slide which keeps the kids entertained (although this only opens for two half hour slots per day). Sunbeds which remain in the sun all day are hard to come by, probably only 6 to 8 of them, as most are shaded by mid afternoon, so if you worship sunbathing you'll have to be up early to avoid disappointment. The hotel is located about 20-25 minutes walk out of Icemelar which became a little tiresome after two weeks, but if you don't fancy the hike then it's also easily accessible by the Dolmus which run every 5-10 mins. (Also note,that if you fancy eating in town of an evening, then a lot of the restaurants were offering a free taxi service).

Icemelar itself is a nice lively small town, with plenty of restaurants, shops and bars. Places we would recommend to eat include are The Magestic, with it's brilliant atmosphere, Turkish Delight (next door to Titanic), and Vinces (opposite the Waterfall restaurant), although i can't really say that we had a bad meal anywhere. The beach is shingle, and sunbeds are free if you buy a drink at most places, Coco beach being our favourite.

We ventured on a few excursions whist in Turkey, and was pleasantly surprised by how cheap they were!! (Do not book through you're tour operator). We did the Dalyan boat trip, the Jeep Safari and the Waterpark all for £36 for four of us. We also visited Marmaris and Torunc by water taxi, the latter being a small pleasant resort, whilst Marmaris is a little too busy for our liking, although the harbour and castle area is worth a visit.

All in all a delightful holiday, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We travelled as a family of three including a 16 year old girl in July. Let's get the not so good bits out of the way first as they won't take long at all. Firstly, the sofa beds, they are single and far too small for adults, like being in a coffin without the lid on. If we went again would try and get a two bedroom apartment. Next up, the Air Con. Only one unit in the apartment and that was in the bedroom so whilst those in the bedroom were ok anyone in the living room/sofa beds had to suffer the heat at night which as you can imagine was often uncomfortable, especially whilst sleeping in the 'coffin'. We stayed in Room 521 which in itself was fine as all the rooms are small but more than adequate. The problem was that it was situated at the base of a stairwell and suffered a lot of noise late at night due to kids running up and down on their way to and from the upstairs room. That's it really for the not so good points. Can't fault anything else. No problem getting sunbeds, no matter what time of day. Staff very friendly, the food spot on and the hotel clean. Had a Turkish bath at the hotel and although you probably could get cheaper out and about was very enjoyable and certainly good value for money. Would definitely go back but only if we could get a 2 bed apartment away from the ground floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WT191513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ok, i will start with only a couple of negatives as i feel they are relevant but thankfully not many.
The hotel has a tendency to overbook people therefore meaning that you could end up in the sister hotel, which is nice, but not what you booked and is considerably quieter (they are happy to shuttle you 24hrs between the two), if that is what you like then it could be a good thing, otherwise you have to complain and sometimes fight to get back into the Grand. That said Sally and our rep were extremely helpful and got us back into the Grand the next day....thank you Sally

They do not deal with cards or travellers cheques, they only deal with cash or bracelets loaded with your cash. Personally i found this annoying, as i wished to pay for the air conditioning in the room and was told that they would only accept cash for it. I wanted to pay for certain other items but was informed again by the receptionist that he would only take cash.........very annoying.

Now the good (ish)

The Rooms - Note they do not have TV as advertised (not a problem for us, not away to watch TV) The rooms are very small and well maintained, but if you have more than three of you i would imagine that it would be a considerable squeeze to fit your family in without falling over each other constantly, that said they are minimally equipped (with a very expensive breakage list) with a toaster a two ring desk top cooker a kettle and a fridge, all you need really. The rooms are cleaned daily and the towels are changed every day.

The restaurant - the food is of a decent quality definitely not great and the the amounts are plentiful, i have a healthy appetite and even i struggled to clean my plate at many of the sittings. unfortunately everything comes with chips (not too creative), the evening menu is slightly better in quality, but just as voluminous.

At no point did we struggle to find sunbeds, there are of course those who still chose to get up at silly o'clock to reserve their beds, but that was for the premium beds around the pool. otherwise plenty left at 9am when we came down.

The pool is ok and a decent size, the slide was always a highlight for the kids and good fun, although it was only opened twice daily for 30 minutes each time.

The shop within the hotel grounds is not expensive and sell the very basics
The staff work exceptionally hard in all areas of the hotel, the housekeeping team, the entertainment team who whilst not professionals in any way do a splendid job in keeping the fun going, although rather cheesy, but that's what holidays are about......apparently!

Aydin and Adem and his guys are a special bunch and work very hard to interact with the guests. We had the turkish bath as a family on arrival and loved every single second of it, at £30 per head more than worth the money. Again cash only....uurrgghh!!

I found the walk into town was easy and quick enough, even at my familys pace (they meander along at a snails pace) and was only 15 - 20 minutes, you can catch the bus which is an absolute experience and can either scare you to death or have you rolling around laughing, with no real certainty as to your arrival at your destination????

This was our first trip to Turkey and I must say it is a beautiful country with breathtaking scenery and lovely people (even if they insisted on calling me Bob all the time...got boring and was never funny)
This little hotel/appt is a good and very high 3 stars, with a little more imagination it could so easily be four.
We will go again to Turkey and we will book soon, not sure if we will go the Grand Aquarium, but will consider it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, it doesn't really matter where you are in the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnathonMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Im new to Trip Advisor so let me start by telling everyone its a window to tell the world about the Grand Aquarium.We had been told about the GA by friends so decided to give it a go.What a result !!!!! Everything and I mean Everything was first class,From check-in to Check-out. Aydin and Adem ( & the lads) Turkish Bath was top notch cheers lads,Waiting/Bar staff especially Ali and TC Romeo,Meltum in the shop,Sally customer srvices and the cleaning staff must also get a special mention.Finally the Entertainments team who kept everything moving along smoothly thank you. Food very tasty....Pool clean and spacious....Rooms although small well kept/cleaned every day....Bus transfer to sister hotel whenever you want it. In one word Fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Returned to the Grand Aquarium for the second time and yet again could not fault the holiday. There were 27 of us and the hotel catered for that very well. The food was delicious, the service was amazing and the cleanliness of the entire hotel (Kitchen included) was outstanding. All members of staff made the holiday as amazing as it was. The entertainment team, restaurant staff, barmen, chefs, receptionists, night managers and all staff were lovely always willing to help, especially Aydin who traveled into Marmaris to pick me up some tablets. Cant wait to come back again next year, dont think I could ever go anywhere else again as the Grand Aquarium is the best place ever!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaDavies236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
2.0 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 79 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#4 of 79 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
2.9 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 79 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.7 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#3 of 79 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aquarium

Property: Grand Aquarium
Address: 245. Sokak No: 2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#13 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Aquarium 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE YOU FEEL HOME ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aquarium Hotel Icmeler
Grand Aquarium Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing