We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Aquarium
Nearby Hotels
US$412
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ida Hotel(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Navy Hotel(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Aquarium(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
US$29
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
579
170
34
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
579
170
34
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkish bathentertainment teammr alinext yearair congreat holidaynight managerturkeykiller pooltommy's barclub danceon site shopwater polobed apartmentrestaurant staffself cateringcant wait
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Aquarium for two weeks at the start of July. We arrived around 1am and were taken to out ground floor apartment (731?) at the back of the complex. We were a bit disappointed when we got in, but thought we were maybe being critical after a long day of travelling. The living area was very small, and once the sofa chair was put out for our son, there was hardly room to move.

In the morning we decided to ask for a move, the apartment was really tight and our balcony was tucked away and never saw the sun. Sally at reception was great, and said she'd have a new room for us by the afternoon as people were due to be leaving. True to her word, we were moved to room 332 by mid-day. This room was a lot bigger and had a balcony over looking the pool. All the livingrooms appear to have sofa chairs for beds. These are pretty small and even our 10 year old son found them quite tight. The rooms are basic, but very clean. Our towels were changed every day of our stay, and they even provided toilet roll ;-)

We tended to have a breakfast or snack at the restaurant and always found the food to be very good, plentiful and a very reasonable price. The drinks were well priced too.

The entertainment team have darts, aqua gym, killer pool and water polo on to keep people amused and there's no pressure to take part if it's not for you. The pool's really good and the slide comes on for a couple of hours every day. There's also a games room with pool, xbox/PS, pinball, air hockey and a few other games for younger kids.

The main negatives for us were the noise and sunbeds. The noise seems to echo around the apartments and people seem to be unable to close doors without slamming them. The music from the bar was often on until around 2am and was really loud. Our bedroom was to the rear, but you could still hear it blaring away. Our son really struggled to get to sleep the nights the music was on late.

People started claiming sunbeds from 6am! If we wanted to get 3 beds together, we had to go down before 7-7.30 to have any chance. If you get beds by the shop, they don't get the sun until around 10.30. If you get ones at the back of the pool they get the sun from early, but are in the shade by around 4. I don't think there's any sunbeds that get the sun past 4.30.

The hotels at the rear of the old village, but still only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town or 20 minutes to the beach. There's always a taxi in the car park offering to take you into town for 10 TL (under £3) if you don't fancy the walk.

Even with the negatives, we had a really good holiday at GA and our son loved it. All the staff are great and will do anything to make sure enjoy your time there. I just think we'd give another hotel a try if we're heading back to Icmeler.

Room Tip: Avoid room 731 and ask for one on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dirkster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent 2 weeks here in July and for the most we had a fabulous time. Our room was a two bedrommed room 212 with a fantastic view over the pool, restaurant and the mountains but the rooms did show some really poor signs of its age. I had read reviews about the chair/beds so opted for the two rooms and was so glad we did as the chair/beds would never of been good enough for my 6ft 17 year old son. The beds where nice and the wardrobe space was plentiful. However thats the end of the good news. The so called kitchen area was adjacent to the bathroom inbetween the living room and main bedroom so was far to small. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was small and never cleaned in the two weeks we were there. Hair in the shower drainage and wee stains on the wc system. The maids made no attempt to clean the bathroom sink or the floor either so anything put on the floor was covered in very old dust. Our room was rented out again with no time of us booking out at 12 noon, not enough time to give it the clean it really needed and to sweep the dust etc away
The air con is free for two sessions a day 7-10 a.m which seemed pointless as most people had left their rooms by then and again free at random times 6-9 p.m. Again when most people where out. If you wanted it at other times a very heavy price of £30 english pounds a week was the charge. Too rich for my blood and a safe at £10 english pounds a week.
The food in the Restaurant was excellent and very very reasonably priced. Great choice and well ran by robbie and Hasan.
Exchange rate was a little low at reception but as the prices for food and beer where reasonable it was a fair deal. Soft drinks were expensive more than the beer. Little supermarket on site was helpful if a little pricey, better supermarket 300yds away.
Pool was excellent, large enough for all the guests.
Entertainment a little repetative and didn't start until 9.30 but as it was part of the restautrant it did mean eating early to avoid the shows been on while you ate. Not ideal. The hotel itsself was 5 mins by Taxi (10 tlr) to Icmeler, just a little to far to be ideal.
The on site Turkish Bath was very nice. Myself and my wife did this with a sauna, mud covering, foam rub down and then a terrific massage. Little pricey , sorry Aydin, but got some great photographs both of this and then we had a family photograph shoot arond the pool area which very well priced. Worth doing.

Posistives
1. Food quality and price
2. Quiet on an evening (no loud discso's nearby)
3. Plenty of sun beds.(get up early)
4. Quality fo service in restuarant
5. Taxi outside hotel door
6. Good for families with young children. water slide, small pool area and evening disc etc.
7. Good area with pool table, video games etc for younger kids.


Negatives.
1. Very small poorly equipped kitchen
2. Very small bathroom
3. Very poor maid service.
4. Expensive Air Con
5. Too far from Icmeler Town
6. Towel rules about putting out early ignored.
7. No Air Con in reception area. not enough seats for 30 people waiting for coach's to go home.
8. Show stage part of restaurant.
9. Chair/beds awful and not for anyone tall or big.
10.Expensive site supermarket.
11. Expensive BINGO 10 Tl a ticket with small prices when you consider how much they take.

Not for families with teenagers, nothing enoughfor them to do and too far to Icmeler to go on their own. Ideal for young families and those happy to sit around the pool every day. Only one bar near enough to walk to. On the whole reasonably priced holiday, great food very poor room service.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have problems walking as for a ground floor room. Get 2 bedrooms if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leeboyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arrived here last sat evening and was greeted by pleasant staff who took our cases to our room. Rooms are fairly small to what we had been used to before and the bed for our son was a chair that pulled out....not really adequate, however we went to bed and I saw Sally on reception the next day to request something better. Sure enough before teatime there was a put up bed with a proper mattress in our room and our son was happy. The pool area is fantastic for kids, waterslide comes on twice a day and there are activities throughout the day...water polo, water gym, killer pool, darts etc if you want to join in but with no pressure to do so. Also night entertainment but we didnt stay in for this. The pool area is very clean as is the rest of the complex. The restaurant is lovely and the food is very well priced with lots of choice and large portions... :)
Robbie works in the restaurant and speaks good English as does Sally on reception, although not many of the other staff do. Found some of the staff pleasant and happy although others just looked miserable in their work... The maid is in everyday with clean towels etc, so no complaints there. have to pay for air-con and safe (same everywhere), air con a must end of july!!
The only criticism we had of this place was the distance from Icmeler itself, only 20 mins but in 40degree heat, its a long way...however the bus stops 5 mins away outside Tommy's bar which is a great place to sit and have a drink before going into Icmeler and when coming back - there is also a supermarket next door - taxi is 10lira which is less than £3...cant go wrong and the bus is 2 lira each...stay on it if you are going to Marmaris 2.5 lira. We have been to Icmeler 4 times now but not to these apartments, just a little far out for us...
Good restaurants are Champage, Titanic, Richards, Waterfall and Cupids which we have been regular visitors to for the last 6yr.

Over all - would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the main block opp the restaurant - room 322 - great view of the pool area but woken by the "good morning" song that is played every day at 10am....!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went on this holiday to turkey for the first time with a lot of apprehension about it!! ie heard a lot of bad story's BUT this hotel was absolute Great would go back a hundred times over!! The staff couldn't do enough for us Robbie in the restaurant was epic an absolute gem of a bloke, Sally the hotel customer manager is also very very helpful my wee girl had an accident and Sally helped us get medical help for her and couldn't thank her enough. If you want a hotel that is cheap great for kids with staff that want to help you in every way then go here please I promise you will not be disappointed and your kids will also love it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly_f_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just back from a weekend stay at these apartments. Cleanest place I've stayed. Staff were fantastic, always had a hello and a smile for you, especially Robbie. Food was amazing, you'll never go hungry here. Thoroughly enjoyed my weekend and hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews